We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep deprived”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winnipeg Thriftlodge
Ranked #60 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Portugal Cove, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleep deprived”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We found this hotel on-line and based on its description and location, it seemed like a good spot for our last night on vacation. We had a 6:00 am flight and therefore tried to get to sleep at 10:00 pm. Shortly after our lights went out, another guest was heard down the corridor banging on a door and yelling a person's name. This went on for hours. We suspected that she was intoxicated and thus, were reluctant to call and complain. We then heard a man yelling at high volume in the parking lot outside our window. Overall, I estimate that I might have gotten 3 hours of sleep. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone who hopes to get some sleep at night. The only positive aspect of the stay was the nice waterpark with 4 slides and 2 hot tubs. At least our kids have something good to remember about that night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Covite2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    24
    26
    42
See reviews for
46
17
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you want to stay here make sure you bring some kind of protection! The rooms were filthy along with the bathrooms! Someone pissed in our tub!! The pool was gross and not very clean!! Don't even go in the hot tub, yuck bandages floating in it! eewwwwww. I will never stay in another thrift lodge again! We got the hell out of the as soon as the sun came up and there is alot of activity all night so I didn't feel sage at all!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Moose Jaw, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

I can't even believe they are allowed to operate a hotel like this. I read the other reviews on here but decided to try it anyway because of the price. Bad idea!
Tried to take a shower to refresh myself after a long day on the road and the lighting was so poor I could barely see in the bathroom. Next thing I noticed was the cold tap was loose, took a lot of playing to get the temp right. After my shower I noticed the exhaust fan was not working thus the mirror was fogged up for a good half hour after my shower. Tried to turn up the air cond. to cool the room and the unit looks like a 1967 model that they found in the dump. It makes a continual "ticking" sound which would later annoy me to the point of not being able to sleep all properly all night! So after waking in the morning I'm writing this review while staring at a coffee pot that is empty because I can't find any coffee anywhere!!! Oh yeah, don't bother with the tv because the remote doesn't work. I can't stress enough. Don't stay here no matter what the price!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I wanted a weekend out and decided to check out the Thriftlodge here in Winnipeg. Driving by the hotel you see advertisements for an "Awesome Waterpark" (and it really is) and a nightclub featuring live entertainment daily as well as a VLT lounge and more. I was impressed with the price per night as well as the service we'd received. The rooms were clean & smelled nice. The onsite security was also quite effective in keeping the noise down after hours. We had stayed only the one night but are already planning our next night out there. If you're looking for something close to home and of great value this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Arrived and made the mistake of handing over money before checking the room out first. Upon entering our room the smell of urine and chlorine was overwhelming and there was a huge stain on the floor next to our bed. The bed looked like it had been made by a toddler and the toilet seat was left up as if someone had just used it! We stayed literally 30 seconds in the room before deciding to get the hell out of there as we both felt nauseous from the crappy air quality and smell of urine. We explained that the smell was likely to set off my partner's asthma and they seemed totally uncaring, told us 'well there's a hospital down the road'. Before promising us a refund they did a room check and went completely off at us for touching the bed (pulling back a corner of the covers to check for any stains such as on the floor!!) and accused us of using the bathroom even though the seat was up when we came in. The little blond gremlin of a manager turned into an absolute b**** and said we would get no refund because we touched the bed. After a huge argument and over an HOUR later we managed to get our money back minus some ridiculous reservation fee despite only being in the room for 30 seconds and we did not reserve in advance. The management are absolute morons - when refunding us seemed unable cope with even the most basic mathematics, in fact we calculated our own refund after they tried to charge tax for our non-existent stay. Then, to top it off, they accused us of stealing money they had left on the counter. We told them to check the security cameras, which they eventually did but not before stating they we were 'con artists' and didn't even apologize when the security cameras showed THEY had simply misplaced the money on the desk below. Amoebas are more intelligent than the management at this hotel and far less rude! NEVER EVER GO THERE!!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room - just leave before you catch some awful disease. After our nightmare we we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinNZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

"Thrift" is in the name of the hotel for a reason. The room was clean and older. There seemed to be a lot of shady people hanging around the hotel (people yelling profanity, etc.) however, by 10 or 11 at night it quieted down. The pool at the hotel is great with some fun slides. Staff at the hotel has to let you into the pool, which is weird, but other than that it's nice.

Don't expect amazing customer service or pristine rooms and this hotel won't let you down. I saved 15% off the online price by booking through the travelodge website. I saved about 100 buck compared to other hotels in Winnipeg, so the downfalls of the hotel were definitely easy to swallow considering the reduced price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The service is very poor. The front desk is very rude especially the Asian guy who is assign to work. The place is messy. Rooms smells like [--] . If you wanna go in Winnipeg, don't ever try to put this Hotel in your mind cause you would be disappointed that this kind of hotel still exist in Canada. Some lights are not working at all. Even if you first get inside the hotel, you could smell like pee in the entrance area. No shampoo in the washroom.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxanneJ_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Health Sciences Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#28 of 63 in Winnipeg
689 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Polo Park
Canad Inns Polo Park
#51 of 63 in Winnipeg
182 reviews
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#39 of 63 in Winnipeg
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winnipeg Thriftlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winnipeg Thriftlodge

Property: Winnipeg Thriftlodge
Address: 1400 Notre Dame Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Winnipeg Thriftlodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great people. Nice rooms. Affordable rates. We offer rooms with 1 queen size bed or 2 double size beds. Close to many attractions and shopping centers. Our indoor water park is a family favorite, also available for birthday parties, with water slides, and hot tubs, and sauna. Our cafe/restaurant is great for coffee, or a completely delicious dinner. Also, the bar and lounge offer great entertainment. We look forward to seeing you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winnipeg Thriftlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thriftlodge Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Thrift Lodge
Thrift Lodge Winnipeg
Winnipeg Thriftlodge Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing