We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manitoba Museum

Manitoba Museum
Ranked #6 of 183 things to do in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum provides ­a unique journey through the province of Manitoba, the world and the universe. Explore diverse ecological environments and blast off on an interactive tour of the current night sky.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I really enjoyed this museum.

Comprehensive and something for everyone - including the kids.

You have a choice of three attractions, including the planetarium. I only chose the museum part and it was plenty. Would have to come back for the rest, and would be happy to do so.

Great exhibits, engaging, well priced.

I much preferred this to the Winnipeg Art Gallery, which was more expensive, significantly smaller and far less exhibits.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richardd2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    152
    37
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

There are parts to this museum that are amazing, the replica ship was a highlight as well as the Modern Winnipeg and the Hudson Bay Company. However the natural history part of the museum is in real need of a face lift. Worth it if you're interested in history with some renovations it would get 5 stars easy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Corbin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manitoba's Fascinating History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Manitoba Museum is a highly interactive museum showcasing the long history of this region and it's inhabitants. There are displays about the animals and plants native to Manitoba and its settlers and historic achievements. A highlight of any visit is boarding the Nonsuch (a real sailing vessel whose gallery was built around it).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tons to see; Make the time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Loved the Nonsuch ship and the gentleman on board who had so much interesting info to tell us; loved the old-fashioned village and you can't go wrong with getting to sit down and watch a Charlie Chaplin silent film in an old theatre; and we loved the new parklands/mixed woods gallery. This museum is chock full and you need a lot of time to see it if you want to take your time to read and look at everything. I would recommend a minimum of 4 hours, and that is just for the museum galleries (not the planetarium or science gallery, which we didn't visit this time). Only negatives would be we would prefer if more than one view would be represented as to evolution, creation, etc, and it would be nice if the layout of the museum provided more "shortcuts" (like Ikea) so that one could move from gallery to gallery quicker if pressed for time. Overall excellent place and we'll be back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Museum to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

everything. It is one of the best I have seen. It takes a few hour to see all the exhibits. It is handicap friendly and there are strollers.
I also volunteered there with school programs and the kids really liked it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manitoba Museum also viewed

 

Been to Manitoba Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing