We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Apologies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a lot for several years. It is very conveniently located (across from Polo Park Mall). Over the years I have witnessed the slow decline of this once very good hotel. It is badly in need of upgrading. I have mentioned this to staff several times and they always offer apologies and say the hotel is going to be upgraded. On my most recent trip I did not see any evidence of it. The carpets look worn, the door frames are chipped and scratched (painting them should be easy, shouldn't it?) and to top it off there was a sign by the elevator apologizing for an issue in the parking lot, and another sign on the elevator door explaining that one elevator was not working.

Turned out that both elevators were having problems. No one bothered to put a sign on the other elevator. I was checking out, had my bags in tow and pressed the down button, and waited.... and waited.... and waited.... finally dragged the bags down the stairs (good thing I was only on the 2nd floor. I told the person at the desk that the second elevator might not be working either -- she apologized and said she knew that but the elevator service people were working on it. REALLY?

So if you can live with a lot of these shortcomings and you want to be near Polo Park this hotel will work. For me, I will wait until they actually complete the upgrades.

Room Tip: Try to get a room off Portage (a very busy street) if you are a light sleeper. I was awakened by lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Randy, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. Please note that we are currently in the process of making numerous upgrades to the hotel. In fact, the experiences that you encountered during your recent stay were due to this renovation process.
Winnipeg has experienced an unusually cold winter and due to this fact we had to delay pouring the concrete in the stairwell. We understand that this has been an inconvenience to our guests and for that we sincerely apologize. However, it was beyond our control. We do hope that you noticed the other upgrades that have taken place in the parkade such as new signage, lighting, fencing and the installment of a security door....as our guests piece of mind is of the utmost of importance!
The elevator situation that you experienced was, again, due to the fact that they were in need of upgrades and repairs. We apologize for the inconvenience but please note that these upgrades were neccesary in order to improve the guest experience.
We are currently in the process of deep cleaning and repairing each and every one of our guest rooms. Carpets and wallpaper are being replaced....guest rooms are receiving a fresh coat of paint. Door frames and furniture are being repaired. Beds and bedding have been replaced. We have completed the third and fourth floors of the hotel at this point and we are about to start on the second. In addition, we have upgraded our Internet and television services in order to better serve you...the guest!
We understand that the hotel is in need of renovations and we are about to begin a full renovation this fall....all in order to improve the guest experience. We do hope that you will come back once these renovations are complete! It is an exciting time for us here at the Clarion! Once again, Thank You for the feedback and please accept our apologies for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 490 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Clarion Hotel surpassed our expectations! We travelled with our pet and the hotel was very accomodating and very clean. Great location next to Polo Park mall so my wife had ample shopping while I was attending meetings. They are in the process of repairs to teh parking structure and updated the hallway to the parkade flooring while we were there but there was no hassle as the contractor worked at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. We take great pride in our attention to detail and friendly/courteous service and we are so happy that you noticed! We sincerely look forward to Welcoming you back to the Clarion one day very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Clarion is a good choice in Winnipeg. The rooms are clean and well appointed. There is a restaurant on the site and a nice waterpark style pool for the family. The front desk is very friendly and able to make quick decisions to keep guests happy (I needed a room on a higher floor). As an added bonus, the hotel is right accross the street from a shopping mall.

My only concern was with noise. I was on a floor with a family that was not supervising their children. The kids were out in the hall long past any bedtime and any noise they made did flow into the room (they were not being inappropriate, just walking and talking). The individual I was traveling with also had a room next door with people yelling until early in the morning hours. So I think that the soundproofing in this hotel may not be up to modern standards.

Overall, a fine stay with some small problems that were not entirely in the control of the hotel.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms. So if you are a non-smoker you will need to request a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcs0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015

Thank you for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion for a couple of nights during our kids spring break. It was an amazing stay! The rooms were clean, the hotel was quiet, it is in a great location. ALL of the staff were friendly and helpful. The water-park in the hotel is incredible and our kids had a load of fun! The room was spacious and very comfortable. My only regret was that we did not use the Spa! Next time for sure. If you are looking for a great place to stay the Clarion is a fantastic hotel. We will absolutely stay there again! Our kids are already asking to go back! The value for the price paid was absolutely on track.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015

Thank you for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked for a Girl's Night Out including an afternoon at the spa. Our room keys didn't work, after returning to the clerk she stated that it was very odd and asked if I'd kept the keys near my cell phone all afternoon. I reminded her my bags were waiting in the hallway upstairs as I just checked in 5 minutes ago. The room was nice, clean and offered a great place for our gathering. We wished we could have worn our robes from the spa up to our room, dressing damaged our nails. I asking at the time of booking if a shuttle would be available to take us to the MTS Centre, I was told no. While waiting for our cabs we spoke with other guests who proved this to be untrue. We did awake to a vacuum at 8:15 am, no other noises disrupted us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meluvblueH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015

Thank you for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in the Clarion numerous times there was never any issues at all. Very polite staff, very lovely rooms and a great location.The room selections vary on size however always suitable to your taste. Comfortable beds, warm blankets make it a great nights stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015

Thank you for your review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently spent a week-end at The Clarion Hotel in Winnipeg with my husband and so enjoyed our stay. Everyone was very friendly. The room was larger than we expected, clean and quiet. The pool area with a waterslide is quite nice. Next time we will use the Spa. The Pancake House attached and the Mall so close was a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayD191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Ray,
We sincerely appreciate the fact that you took time out of your busy day to post a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Our employees are a huge factor in the success of our hotel and we are so very proud of the exceptional service that they provide. We work hard everyday to ensure that our guests receive the best service possible and we are delighted to hear that it does not go unnoticed. We look forward to seeing you back at the Clarion one day soon....and YES...do take advantage of the spa next time...it is well worth it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
554 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Address: 1445 Portage Ave | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $116 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Winnipeg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get together….reconnect….relax and explore at the Clarion!The Clarion Hotel & Suites is nestled in the hub of Winnipeg’s business, shopping and entertainment district. The Clarion features 139 world class, spacious accommodations, ranging from business suites to family guestrooms, including accessible and pet friendly rooms. Our business suites are considered some of the largest in the city and range from 500 to 800 square feet and feature French glass double sliding doors, a family room, a King size bed, a pull out sofa bed, and a granite wet bar. We also offer family guestrooms which contain two queen size beds, as well as adjoining guestrooms to accommodate every need. Stay with us in any room type and enjoy complimentary parking, local calls, wireless high speed internet, airport shuttle, mini fridge and microwave, iron, ironing board, in room coffee and tea, hair dryer and full length mirror. We also offer complimentary access to our 24 hour state of the art fitness centre, 24 hour business centre and family water park, which is complete with a 2 story waterslide, hot tub, kiddie pool and rock wall with cascading waterfall, which is yours to enjoy from 9AM to 10PM daily. We are located minutes just away from the James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and the downtown centre, and steps away from Winnipeg’s largest shopping mall, Polo Park, SilverCity Cinema’s and numerous restaurants such as the Original Pancake House, Joey, Earls, Moxie’s Classic Grill, Red Lobster Seafood, Olive Garden Italian, Montana’s Cookhouse, Tony Roma’s Steakhouse, Ray and Jerry’s and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winnipeg
Winnipeg Clarion
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing