We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good stopover location...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good stopover location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Clarion is a good choice in Winnipeg. The rooms are clean and well appointed. There is a restaurant on the site and a nice waterpark style pool for the family. The front desk is very friendly and able to make quick decisions to keep guests happy (I needed a room on a higher floor). As an added bonus, the hotel is right accross the street from a shopping mall.

My only concern was with noise. I was on a floor with a family that was not supervising their children. The kids were out in the hall long past any bedtime and any noise they made did flow into the room (they were not being inappropriate, just walking and talking). The individual I was traveling with also had a room next door with people yelling until early in the morning hours. So I think that the soundproofing in this hotel may not be up to modern standards.

Overall, a fine stay with some small problems that were not entirely in the control of the hotel.

Room Tip: There are smoking rooms. So if you are a non-smoker you will need to request a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcs0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    94
    38
    32
    28
See reviews for
111
54
16
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakbank, MB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion for a couple of nights during our kids spring break. It was an amazing stay! The rooms were clean, the hotel was quiet, it is in a great location. ALL of the staff were friendly and helpful. The water-park in the hotel is incredible and our kids had a load of fun! The room was spacious and very comfortable. My only regret was that we did not use the Spa! Next time for sure. If you are looking for a great place to stay the Clarion is a fantastic hotel. We will absolutely stay there again! Our kids are already asking to go back! The value for the price paid was absolutely on track.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Booked for a Girl's Night Out including an afternoon at the spa. Our room keys didn't work, after returning to the clerk she stated that it was very odd and asked if I'd kept the keys near my cell phone all afternoon. I reminded her my bags were waiting in the hallway upstairs as I just checked in 5 minutes ago. The room was nice, clean and offered a great place for our gathering. We wished we could have worn our robes from the spa up to our room, dressing damaged our nails. I asking at the time of booking if a shuttle would be available to take us to the MTS Centre, I was told no. While waiting for our cabs we spoke with other guests who proved this to be untrue. We did awake to a vacuum at 8:15 am, no other noises disrupted us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meluvblueH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in the Clarion numerous times there was never any issues at all. Very polite staff, very lovely rooms and a great location.The room selections vary on size however always suitable to your taste. Comfortable beds, warm blankets make it a great nights stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serina14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Thank you for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently spent a week-end at The Clarion Hotel in Winnipeg with my husband and so enjoyed our stay. Everyone was very friendly. The room was larger than we expected, clean and quiet. The pool area with a waterslide is quite nice. Next time we will use the Spa. The Pancake House attached and the Mall so close was a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayD191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ray,
We sincerely appreciate the fact that you took time out of your busy day to post a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Our employees are a huge factor in the success of our hotel and we are so very proud of the exceptional service that they provide. We work hard everyday to ensure that our guests receive the best service possible and we are delighted to hear that it does not go unnoticed. We look forward to seeing you back at the Clarion one day soon....and YES...do take advantage of the spa next time...it is well worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who had stayed here previously. He was impressed by his stay so we decided to give it a try. Upon check-in we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. We were in town for a night and stayed in a business suite. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable (and great wifi signal). The attached parkade was very convenient. We were able to park our vehicle overnight at no extra charge. I should mention there were several handicap accessible parking stalls which was very thoughtful. They have a very nice pool and spa facility with an attached mineral pool, jacuzzi and sauna. In the evening we headed down to the lobby lounge for a few drinks. We met Nahom the bartender, he was extremely polite and helpful in suggesting places to go on a Saturday night in Winnipeg. Everything is conveniently close to the hotel. Next to a major shopping centre and minutes from downtown and the airport. We would like to thank all the helpful staff at the Clarion who made our stay enjoyable. Looking forward to staying here again! Overall experience was fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ron,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with both management and staff as we work diligently to ensure that our guests receive the very best! We sincerely look forward to Welcoming you back to the Clarion on your next visit to Winnipeg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you want a consistently nice stay and great location you can,t beat the Clarion. You will pay a few dollars more each night, but especially if you don,t have a vehicle it is so close to everything. Steps away from a great mall. Other shopping and dining areas all around. Easy to hop a bus to travel up and down Portage Ave. The shuttle can be arranged for medical trips.

Bedding is good. Rooms are comfortable and quiet. Staff are helpful. Nice pool and water slide. Pancake house restaurant attached.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, theme rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CMRomaniuk, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel Winnipeg, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Barbara,
We appreciate the fact that you took the time to post a review and we are elated to hear your positive comments! Many of our guests are repeat customers and we know that it is due to the quality of our product, our exceptional service and our convenient location....Thank You for noticing! Yes, our prices may be a little higher than other hotel's in the area but please note that we do offer the following amenities complimentary: parking, airport shuttle, local telephone calls, WiFi, use of computer in the lobby, use of fitness centre and access to the family water park. These added features, coupled with our product, service and location make us the perfect hotel for any guest. Once again, Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Winnipeg

Property: Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Address: 1445 Portage Avenue | Winnipeg Airport / Polo Park, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 3P4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#12 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel Winnipeg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get together….reconnect….relax and explore at the Clarion!The Clarion Hotel & Suites is nestled in the hub of Winnipeg’s business, shopping and entertainment district. The Clarion features 139 world class, spacious accommodations, ranging from business suites to family guestrooms, including accessible and pet friendly rooms. Our business suites are considered some of the largest in the city and range from 500 to 800 square feet and feature French glass double sliding doors, a family room, a King size bed, a pull out sofa bed, and a granite wet bar. We also offer family guestrooms which contain two queen size beds, as well as adjoining guestrooms to accommodate every need. Stay with us in any room type and enjoy complimentary parking, local calls, wireless high speed internet, airport shuttle, mini fridge and microwave, iron, ironing board, in room coffee and tea, hair dryer and full length mirror. We also offer complimentary access to our 24 hour state of the art fitness centre, 24 hour business centre and family water park, which is complete with a 2 story waterslide, hot tub, kiddie pool and rock wall with cascading waterfall, which is yours to enjoy from 9AM to 10PM daily. We are located minutes just away from the James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and the downtown centre, and steps away from Winnipeg’s largest shopping mall, Polo Park, SilverCity Cinema’s and numerous restaurants such as the Original Pancake House, Joey, Earls, Moxie’s Classic Grill, Red Lobster Seafood, Olive Garden Italian, Montana’s Cookhouse, Tony Roma’s Steakhouse, Ray and Jerry’s and many more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Choice Canada and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Suites
Clarion Winnipeg
Winnipeg Clarion
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing