We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and without charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Humphry Inn & Suites
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dated and without charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for three nights. It was good value and I found the location very convenient. It has the air of an impersonal, dated business hotel that might have been nice to stay at 10 or 15 years ago. Breakfast was, in all seriousness, the worst hotel breakfast I've ever seen, anywhere in the world. (and I've stayed at some pretty shady places)
The beds were comfortable, and all in all it might have been a nice if not overwhelming stay, if there hadn't been so many issues with equipment that didn't work properly.
I had to change my room twice times due to something or other being broken, once because there was some nightmarish smell coming from the bathroom. I was locked out of my room at least half a dozen times due to key cards not working properly. The elevators were out of order for most of the time I stayed there. The advertised "high speed internet" might have been "high speed" in 1999.
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and courteous through all of this, and they made it obvious that these are all well known issues that do not get taken care of by the owners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    183
    42
    15
    13
See reviews for
117
122
43
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights to participate in downtown Winnipeg's Canada Day celebrations.
Pros:
- spacious and clean rooms
- helpful staff
- reasonable continental breakfast
- nice indoor pool
Cons:
- less than desirable location in a rough neighbourhood.
- vagrants loitering in the parking lot and front of the hotel.
- rear entrance to hotel would benefit with a card lock.
- appeared that hotel lobby washroom was used by those loitering outside.
It is unfortunate due to the location being within walking distance to the Forks, Legislative buildings and the new Museum of Human Rights once it is open.
Overall a decent stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lwandkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights and had zero complaints. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The amenities were the best in town....breakfast and a paper every morning....free Wi-Fi in the rooms, pool, hot tub, steam room, treadmills. Free parking with onsite security. The laundry facilities were very helpful for our length of stay. The housekeeping staff keeps the hotel very clean. The beds were comfortable and we slept soundly. If you have a room facing the front, you will have a view of the National Human Rights Museum.

Bonus: The hotel is within walking distance of The Forks where we spent a lot of our spare time.

We just loved this hotel and will always stay here when we come to Winnipeg.
Great Job Humphrey's!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

At first glance you may not give this place consideration for your visit to Winnipeg but that would be a mistake as it is a very pleasant place to stay. Rooms may be a bit dated but are spacious and kept very clean. If things need fixing then they are attended to promptly. Staff are very friendly and very helpful. The breakfast that is included with the tariff is quite good and what is especially nice is that the hot course changes daily. If you consider the rate you pay includes parking, free wifi as well as free local telephone calls and a copy of the local paper then the Humphry Inn is a good value indeed especially given its central location. The best recommendation I can make is that if I return to Winnipeg then this is the most likely place I will stay.

Room Tip: You may want to get a room on the back ( west ) side as there is less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chester C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were in Winnipeg for one evening and needed a hotel in the downtown and found the Humphry. It is an ok hotel with very large rooms and a nice breakfast included in the price. Free parking is also a plus. The hotel is very well kept - hard to tell its age. Two things that I didn't like were the very lousy pillows and the terribly noisy air conditioning. It was pretty warm in the room but just couldn't sleep with the roar of the unit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Drugs street walkers in and out all hours of night ! Dirty filthy men hanging all over. front desk people know nothing about the hotel..people leave here. Bad place to takes kids
I hate to be so dramatic, but I don't know how else to describe how awful this place is. Most of the times I've had to stay here for work I've had problems. They frequently charge more than the price of my reservation. Several times they have told me that my company credit card didn't go through and they needed to use another one, a personal card, only to find out later I was charged the amount to both cards. Two of the times this has happened the manager has disputed refunding one of the charges with the bank so I have had to fax a copy of my receipt to the bank to prove they double charged me and file a fraud report, which takes about 6 - 8 weeks. This place is just awful. I have no idea how this place stays open with such incompetent management. If I had the choice to stay where I wanted when in the area I would never consider going back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank notagaininthishotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage La Prairie
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our stay was a very pleasant surprise. We were welcomed in a courteous manner. First impression was positive, this is a low key but very impressive facility. The included breakfast was very good, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausages, potatoes, cold cereal, muffins, breads etc. the coffee was very good. Parking is free and located immediately behind the hotel. Check in and check out went smoothly. A complimentary newspaper was outside our door in the morning. The location is within walking distance of many attractions and good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leocraft77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#2 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humphry Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humphry Inn & Suites

Property: Humphry Inn & Suites
Address: 260 Main St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 1A9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#10 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Humphry Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Humphry Inn & Suites is conveniently located in downtown Winnipeg near many corporate offices, entertainment venues, retail outlets, and Winnipeg tourist attractions including: the Winnipeg Convention Centre, MTS Sports Centre, Winnipeg's Union Station, the Forks Market, and now open is our neighbor the Canadian Museum for Human Rights. Our staff and management pride ourselves in providing a unique experience by offering a combination luxury, convenience, knowledgeable staff and above all else affordability. Humphry Inn & Suites is happy to provide each of our guests with the following Resort-Style Amenities: • FREE Hot Breakfast Buffet • FREE Parking • FREE 24 Hour Coffee & Tea Bar • FREE High Speed Wireless Internet • 24 Hour Business Centre • Onsite Fitness Centre • Onsite Salt Water Pool & Steam Room • FREE Daily News Paper • Onsite Guest Laundry Facilities • FREE Local Phone Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Humphry Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humphry Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Hampton Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Hampton Inn
Humphry Inn & Suites Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing