We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an Advised place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Not an Advised place to go”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

This hotel has incompetent staff and management as well as GM. I have went to this Organization a couple times all over winnipeg and dont recommend any of these organizations except 1 as the staff is useless and restaurants are garbage. Polo Park Canad Inns only 1 worth visiting and only 1 I will stay at now. Not really staffs fault. Poor management at all Canad Inns Locations except Polo Park.$154.00 a night + Tax..I would rather go to vegas for $300.00.

By the way Manitoba is the lowest paying Casino's in North America.. Better luck anywhere but here.

Top 50 best managed thats a joke i hope...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoneyMoney18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    35
    43
    25
    7
See reviews for
30
37
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, ND
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

We have stayed at the Club Regent Casino Hotel several times. In fact, it's our favorite place to stay in Winnipeg as it's only about 5 minutes from our friend's house. One of the reasons why I would pay $168 for a room (AAA discount + taxes) in Winnipeg is that I want a nice clean room with a high quality bed to get some rest on. The Serta Perfect Sleeper mattress we had in Room 410 was horrible. At one point I got up and sat in a chair and considered sleeping in my van in the parking lot instead. They should replace mattresses before they become a source of torture.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaDocMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

we were on the main floor, the room was ok, but the cleaning staff didn't refill coffee for the machine in the morning - the room was plain - very. Also, it was noisy, there is a controlled entrance so that casino visitors can't just march up and down the hallways, but plenty of other guests did. There was a wedding there and naturally a lot of drunks - main complaint was the noise. It wasn't horrible, but i wouldn't want to go back , it wasn't that cheap in price to deal with all the rest of the stuff

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workin'guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

We live only two and half hours away from Winnipeg, so heading to Club Regent for a weekend is a common occurrence for us. The fact that it’s a hotel and it has the Casino attached to it, as well as its close proximity to the centre of the city makes it a very convenient place to visit. If I compared this hotel and casino to lets say a hotel and casino in Vegas, it would be no contest in comparison obviously, so bare that in mind.

First off, like I stated above, its location is great. If you don’t want to venture to far off the beaten path, there’s tons of restaurants and shopping that can be done within a 10 minute drive down the street if your luck has run dry at the casino.

The hotel staff here in our experience, are exceptional: always polite and professional. The check in (no matter how busy it is) is always quick and efficient. The hotel itself, given its size, is extremely easy to navigate and was designed very well. The rooms here are always clean and tidy, but somewhat overpriced. If you’re a smoker, you’ll be stuck outside as all Canad Inns are non-smoking. As for the suites here, they are very large with all the amenities imaginable, and even have a hot tub in the bedroom area. If you’re looking for extreme luxury though, the rooms and/or suites here won’t be what you’re looking for. (There nice, but nothing spectacular) As for the price of the suite, you could get a regular room at the Luxor, MGM Grand, Mandalay Bay, Excalibur, or New York New York in Las Vegas for three nights for the same price for one night in a suite at Club Regent.

The casino is decent and the majority of the dealers have great personalities (There are a few that have really bad attitudes-but very few) The casino’s pit bosses don’t seem to get when there’s 120 people standing around the Blackjack tables because they only have 3 tables open, (while there’s 15 empty tables with no dealers) that they should maybe open additional tables. (Don’t think of asking them to open more either, all you’ll get is a dirty look and no response.) Overall the pit bosses are usually really nice and personable; there are only a couple that I’ve ever seen that seem to really hate their job. (You’ll generally have a fun experience in the casino)

As for the restaurant in the hotel, called Alto’s, it’s a decent restaurant. You can either have the Buffet or order from the menu, and the food here is alright, it’s not the best food I’ve ever had, but I’ve enjoyed my meals there whenever we’ve chosen to eat there. If you looking for something quick, head to the casino and you’ll pass by a McDonalds. Inside the Hotel there’s a little piano bar as well, which if you want to relax and have a drink, this will be the place to do it.

The pool area here gets low marks as it’s small and is not well maintained. We used the hot tub once and never have again due to the inch and a half of sand in the bottom of the pool, even though there’s no sand anywhere near Club Regent. The pool had so much chlorine it was incredible. You’re eye’s burned befor you even got inside the pool, and once you were in, your skin turned white. (I was with 6 other people who all experienced the same thing) Now you should note though, the last time we used the pool, was three years ago, so they may have improved in the pool maintenance area.(This was a one time experience, and we don’t go to Club Regent because they have a pool, we go to gamble)

Overall, this hotel is ran fairly well, and for a quick get away with a clean comfortable place to rest your head, where you can enjoy some slot machines or table games, I would have to recommend it, as we keep going back time and time again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shameliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

This hotel is in a great location for shopping only a few blocks from Kildonan Place shopping center and all the big box stores so if you feel you must gamble to come here don't worry , you certainly don't have to. Having said that, the casino is just an inside walkway away!
We have stayed at this hotel 3 times, each for an anniversary in an executive suite which was spacious and clean. However we stopped going to the hotel when the CanadaInn chain switched entirely to nonsmoking. We have since quit smoking but the fact they didnt want our money anymore when we did still smoke bothered us and we go elsewhere now. Also the clientele seems to have changed, I do notice a lot of bus groups there now. All in all not a bad place though!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsrtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2008

For a two-day business trip to Winnipeg, this hotel was conveniently located and recommended by my client. While I usually stay at Best Westerns, I found this hotel to be quite adequate for the purpose. The rooms are spacious and have all the expected amenities for a 3* hotel.

The bathroom has ample towels and better than usual shampoo and soap. Love that lemon scent!

On the first night, the TV remote did not work, but fresh batteries were put in when I left a note in the room.

The on-site pool is small but nice to have, and it was great to be able to soak in the hot tub for a bit.

The restaurant only opens at 7 am, which seems late, but probably due to the fact the hotel doesn't cater to business travelers as its main focus. For dinner, the restaurant offers the usual "family style" menu as well as an all-you-can-eat buffet with a variety of choices.

Next door is one of Winnipeg's casinos, a huge affair full of all imaginable machines and other games of chance, and which is accessible entirely indoors.

Nearby there are ample shopping and eating opportunities in several large malls and restaurants.

The hotel is about 1/2 hour drive from the airport on the opposite side of town.

  • Liked — Convenient location, large room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank okazon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2008

I think there's a natural assumption to assume that a hotel attached to a casino will be a little upscale, maybe with some luxury touches. As long as you firmly dissuade yourself of any such notions, you'll be OK here. This hotel is on par with an Econo-lodge, Day's Inn or the like. That is, it is clean, in good repair, but pretty basic all around. Target clientele seems to be senior's bus tours from the surrounding rural areas.

Service at the front desk was adequate, but not especially friendly. The hotel charges 79 cents for local calls, something I find to be inexcusable. I wasn't particularly looking, but I didn't see notice of this charge very well posted anywhere either.

My severest comments I'l reserve for Aalto's, their restaurant. Their "buffet" is reminiscent of a high school cafeteria, where a bored server behind the counter spoons one of a handful of lukewarm entree choices onto your plate. The buffet is rounded off by an uninspiring salad bar and a soft-serve ice cream machine. Aalto's is a decided step below the (mercifully defunct) K-Mart Cafeteria. Give it a miss (unless your bus tour makes you go!).

To sum up, know what you are getting into. This hotel is not well suited for business travellers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Restaurant very low-end, steep phone charges
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Polo Park
Canad Inns Polo Park
#51 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Canad Inns Garden City
#42 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel

Property: Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel
Address: 1415 Regent Avenue West, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2C 3B2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Hotel Winnipeg
Regent Casino Winnipeg
Regent Winnipeg
Winnipeg Regent
Canad Inns Destination Centre Club Regent Casino Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing