We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
regina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

4th time staying at this facility and staff are excellent. Hotel is always clean, rooms are serviced by wonderful staff, breakfast area clean with hot food. Definite place to stay. Very good location.

Room Tip: all are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    113
    54
    17
    8
See reviews for
109
55
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here about a month ago and was pleased. This time my Marriott status was not acknowledged and the staff was not particularly friendly. I travel approximately 50% of the time for business and I have several chain advanced traveler designations. When I travel to Winnipeg I have stayed at other locations, but this one was recommended. After my first experience I decided to try it again. I am not sure I would recommend this hotel again. The towels were thin and scratchy, there were no Kleenyx in my room the first night (I had to take the box out and place it on the counter for a refill), and the on/off switch on the dryer did not work. The breakfast is OK, but not equal to other chains. OK overall, but nothing exceptional.

Room Tip: Stay away fromn the railroad or leave the TV on all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEETOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Im a huge Marriot fan, and have enjoyed Marriot Platinum status for a number of years now, and a Platinum Premier this year.Unfortunately when I got here there were no upgrades, which was fine, but the front desk barely acknowledged that I was a Marriot member - which seemed rather odd to me. I don't need a party, but even a ' we're happy you continue to choose Marriot' would have been a nice acknowledgement, as there are a ton of other choices :o)

I used the "Cars Eat Free" promo - pay $10 more but get a $25 gas card. This is the only location I've been to that doesn't give you the card up front, you have to get it at check out. I usually check out by saying Rm 322 is now free on the way out the door (given my bill is always under the door), now I have to stop and do a formal check-out at 6:30am when Im taxed for time to get to the airport - somewhat inconvenient.

There is construction near by so the parking lot was very limited and a mess - don't wear your dress shoes :o) The room was fine, the hotel in general and rooms were very clean. From my room you could hear the train as it comes by and blows its horn - didn't bother me but worth noting if you ever need to open the window.

Breakfast buffet options were the standard ones, but there were a couple of , hmmm how should I put it, 'cheaper ladies of the evening' there", still wearing their high heels, still somewhat under the influence and wearing last nights lingerie like dress - stains and all. I left the buffet, as my appetite left me pretty quickly.

All in all, this hotel was just OK. I wasn't that familiar with the location and attribute the rougher clientele with the location - between a number of drunk guests and a Friday night kids hockey crowd I won't be staying here again. It's unfortunate, as its the only Marriot property in Winnipeg I believe. I'll be looking at Delta or Fairmont when coming to Winnipeg on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can't hear the train when it comes by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauder_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback, and please accept our apologies that you did not receive the appropriate level of thanks and recognition for your loyalty to Marriott, I assure you at all of our members are very much appreciated, and should always be made to feel extra special.

The weekend that you stayed did have a number of teams staying, so there were kids in the hotel; this is not a phenomenon solely reserved for our property, and on occasion you will find teams staying in any hotel throughout North America, and we certainly do not discriminate against our guests based on their appearance.

We were pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and we urge you to once again experience the wonderful service levels that we consistently provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 with my wife for 3 nights during a move. Hotel experience was pleasant but expensive for the category.

Pros:
- Nice modern hotel
- Free coffee/tea all throughout the day in the lobby
- Excellent hot tub/pool area. Especially for children.

Cons:
- Located right next to a railway line (~200 ft). Fortunately, didn't hear any trains thru the night.
- Construction of expansion and other hotel. But we were informed of this at time of booking.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. In my opinion, it's too pricey for what you get. The hotel offers something comparable to a Hilton Garden Inn or Holiday Inn but is priced like a regular Hilton or Hyatt.

Room Tip: West side of the hotel borders 2 rail lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback, we were all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The construction will soon be finished, and we can all look forward to serving many more guests, an our new environment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
194 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile


Had a nice stay here. The hotel is fairly new and it's close to the airport and Wal-Mart is right next door. Check in was very fast. The room was clean and I was surprised that they had a bath robe in the closet. This is the first Fairfield to date that I've been to that has robes. Normally I'd see bath robes at a Marriott Hotel or JW not the lower category with the Marriott chain. The room has the typical Fairfield decor. The TV was pretty big and the bathroom was large too. It had a large shower only which I didn't mind coz I rarely have time to take baths anyway.

Internet was fast and the free breakfast was great. Given all the amenities, value and location and great service,I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Good morning Anoini2,

Thank you for your wonderful review and the great pictures that you also added; all of our staff really push to ensure that they go above and beyond our guest expectations, and it is always nice to read when they have succeeded.

Thank you again, and please hurry back to see us soon.

Kind Regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Good location for a quick business trip into Winnipeg. Located miday between the Airport and Downtown (10 minutes to either location via Hotel Shuttle). A relatively new Fairfield (2 years old), experienced a few minor issues. Be congizent that the room rate can change vary quite a bit between the weekend and weekday (was not told this at check in).

Breakfast is fairly decent and complimentary. Lots of restaurant and shopping options nearby. As with many Winnipeg Hotels there are outlets to "plug in your car" during the winter months if you get a rental so equipped with a battery or engine oil heater (can mean the difference between starting in the early AM or not). The rooms are plain, but decent.

Large, open breakfast area that is usefull to spread out and work later in the day. ATM on site (useful for getting Canadian currency). The "market" or on site pantry has a very limited selection. Without having a restaurant on site, the Hotel is very accommodating with the Shuttle and will take you to many local sights/restaurants.

The hotel borders a rail line so be sure to ask for a room on the other side away from the line. I am a light sleeper and was not disturbed by nightime train traffic, if any occured over several days.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the opposite side away from the rail line
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JettingAroundGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your concise and useful feedback, we were pleased that we met your expectations, and that you enjoyed your visit to Winnipeg.

Our rates do change from weekend to midweek, depending on business levels, and this should have been made clear at the time of booking, as well as highlighted on your confirmation email; going forward I have reiterated to my staff the importance of making our guests aware of the discounts that they are receiving to avoid possible disappointments.

Many thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Winnipeg soon.

Regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked for an early flight to BC.Hotel is located within 10 minutes to airport. |has all the necessary services, although no restaurant, Breakfast is standard fare. Check-in was quick and professionally handled. very pleasant. Room was clean and ready when we arrived, no problems.
I think the hotel is about 18 month old and it still appears new. Didn't use business center but it looked very good.
Again very close to airport so very convenient

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfieldwinnipeg, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback Hosman, we were all pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Winnipeg soon.

Kind Regards

Guy Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg
Address: 1301 Ellice Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3G 0N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Winnipeg is Manitoba’s first Marriott-branded hotel, featuring 126 generously sized guest rooms and suites.Conveniently located in the Polo Park area and a short distance to both Winnipeg International Airport and Winnipeg’s downtown business district area. On site amenities include complimentary breakfast, shuttle service, a 24/7 market, walk-in pool with waterslide and whirlpool, spacious fitness centre, and a business centre. All king and queen suites are equipped with fridge and microwave, as well as a living room area with sofa bed, additional flat screen TV and stereo system, making the Winnipeg hotel the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing