We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry

Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry to your Saves list
Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1792 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2G2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Winnipeg
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Booked this hotel based on location since my first choice was full due to a concert in the area. Had fairly low expectations since it is an older hotel next door to a casino hotel. The rooms were basic. Doors to room and hallway seemed to slam each time they closed so noise from outside the room was bothersome. All hotel employees encountered were pleasant and efficient. Ok for a brief stay but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yyc44traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederlyn G, Front Office Manager at Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time out to inform us of the difficulties you have encountered during your recent stay with us. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of all of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us. It allows us to ensure and improve the quality of service we want to offer our guests.

Your comments have certainly raised areas of concern that need to be addressed and will inspire us to strive harder for our future guests. Rest assured that your comments have been passed on to the concerned departments for their attention.

I hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again in Express by Canad Inns. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Ederlyn Gevero
Guest Services Manager
egevero@canadinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Great Hotel.....I loved this hotel when I stayed here for a conference recently. It is very nice and I will definitely stay here the next time I am in the area. The staff was very friendly and professional and the hotel was nice, without being too fancy for my tastes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yanny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederlyn G, Front Office Manager at Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much delighted for taking the time to post regarding your recent stay at Express by Canad Inns. It is with pleasure to know that you had a wonderful stay.

It is with great pride that the Staff and Management live by its values of providing excellent service to our guests.

Thank you and hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Ederlyn Gevero
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The sheets did not feel, smell, or look laundered and even better; we got a burning sensation when we rested upon them for too long. Good thing we brought our own blanket, or we'd be covered in rashes. There was a really noisy family preparing to leave at 6 am to 8 am during our stay that I asked the people at desk to ask them to quiet down in respect of the other guests... nothing happened. I spent the third and last morning in Winnipeg woken up early by yelling and screaming and running down the halls and you can imagine how bad that sucked. There is no hot water in your room, do not expect it unless you stand by the tap like a moron for (I wish I was kidding) 2 minutes.

Their hotel is also terribly designed in that if you're stuck near the game area you get to enjoy this beautiful, lingering smell of smoke and cigarettes in the hallway out and right in front of your door. Exquisite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devious R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederlyn G, Front Office Manager at Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my apologies for an uncomfortable night. Further, I would like to apologize that the Guest Service Agent that handled your complaint was unable to further assist you in dealing with your concerns.

I regret we were unable to provide you with service and room quality guests should expect when visiting our hotel. Express by Canad Inns recognizes the importance of providing a comfortable and a stress-free stay. Proper measures will be taken to address your concerns.

Perhaps I could invite you to contact me directly so that I may better address your concerns with our Management team and that we will use your feedback to ensure this does not occur again!

Sincerely,

Ederlyn Gevero
Guest Services Manager
egevero@canadinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lewis, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had two room for a family of 5 adults and there were some pluses and minuses about the overall stay.

On the minus side first (because I like to end on a good note): Breakfast was not included for half of the people during half of the stay. We checked in and were given 3 vouchers for a free breakfast in the restaurant that was good for one use only. So my husband and I used 2 vouchers on one day, and I used the last one on the second morning. The rest of the days, for both families, we were on our own. There were no elevators, so struggling to get suitcases up a narrow set of stairs was a painful affair, given that I had recently suffered a knee injury and I wasn't supposed to use stairs at all. We also ended up paying more for the room than we were quoted, but I didn't want to argue.

On the positive side: I was very impressed with housekeeping. I can let a lot of stuff slide if the rooms are kept clean, and there was not a single complaint with the housekeepers. They were awesome. And I speak as someone who worked in hotel management and I spent a lot of time walking room inspections. When we arrived, we had booked one room through a third party booking source online but we had trouble booking two rooms, so we only had one reserved and we wanted to book a second one when we got there. The front desk girl (Aedin?) told us that in the middle of our stay, one of the nights was sold out and that's why we couldn't reserve the second room online. She left a message for her manager and the following day, they worked their magic and fixed our reservation to keep the second room all the way through our stay. This may be where the price discrepancy came from, but their helpfulness is also why I didn't really want to argue at check out.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for folks who are not looking for anything extravagant (like their parent Canad Inn next door, much more upscale), but want a clean room, at a good price, and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djak12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederlyn G, Front Office Manager at Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking the time to leave your thoughts. We really value your comments!

I am glad our Front Desk staff were able to meet your needs and add value to your stay. I regret that we do not have an elevator. We will make sure to get you a room on the main floor next time you stay. In regards to the rate for your second room, it was booked seperately from Expedia which the rate that was quoted for your first room was no longer available. We apologize that we fail to meet your expectattions.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Ederlyn Gevero
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I could not get over how great the staff was here and how clean the rooms were . I stayed here for a week while visiting the city. I am planning another trip back to Winnipeg over Easter and have already booked my room here I don't think I will ever go anywhere else .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederlyn G, Front Office Manager at Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Alana D,

Thank you for choosing EXPRESS BY CANAD INNS for your recent stay in Winnipeg. I was delighted that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

Your Feedback is a tremendous help in ensuring we continue to deliver excellent experiences to our guests!

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ederlyn Gevero
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Booked room and stayed here for spring break get away with my daughters. We had access to the waterpark at the large Canad Inns next door which was awesome. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet with all amenities and were ultra modern. Garbonzo's restaurant was very good. Definitely the best valued hotel on the Pembina strip and in a great location. Have stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevinsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederlyn G, Front Office Manager at Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you and your daughters enjoyed your recent stay with us. I'm pleased that you found our rooms comfortable and great value.

Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay and your continued patronage at Express by Canad Inns. I hope we can be of service to you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Ederlyn Gevero
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carberry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very clean quiet rooms with great beds and the staff where all friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and as an extra bonus you can have access to the pool next door at the destination centre. I couldn't believe this was a Canad Inns

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ederlyn G, Front Office Manager at Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm personally thrilled you had a good experience at Express by Canad Inns. Feedback is a tremendous help in ensuring we continue to deliver excellent experiences to our guests.

We look forward to see you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ederlyn Gevero
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
1.9 mi away
Queen Bee Hotel
Queen Bee Hotel
#43 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#36 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#34 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pembina Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Winnipeg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry

Property: Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry
Address: 1792 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2G2, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 65 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 guest rooms with coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, 27" TVs and a hot breakfast. Located on Pembina Highway, which is Highway 75 or the continuation of I-29 from the USA, our hotel is within minutes from the St. Vital Centre shopping mall and the University of Manitoba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express By Canad Inns - Fort Garry Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing