We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advice from Hotwire.com”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Advice from Hotwire.com”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Adult siblings forced to share queen bed with unwavering support of front desk. i booked Mainstay Suites through hot-wire.com for 4 nights. I also booked another 2 nights for an additional guest. Upon arrival at hotel of the first two guests, (brother and sister) they only provided the queen room and not the two double beds until the next night after much dialogue with hot-wire and Mainstay personnel. The staff were totally non flexible to the dilemma that the siblings found ourselves in. Advice to future bookings of two adults requiring separate beds, book 3 guests then you might have a better change of two double beds rather than one queen bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred H, General Manager at MainStay Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank for your review. Unfortunately on the day of your arrival the way your reservation was booked as a single queen and due to availability we were unable to provide you with a double queen room on your first night. Your statement suggesting that you shared a queen bed with your sibling is untrue as you stated next morning that your sister did not have a good sleep on the sofa bed. Fortunately we were able to fulfill your request the next day for a double queen and for the balance of your stay. May I suggest that to ensure that you don’t experience an error with your reservations in the future that you book thru www.choicehotels.com or book direct with us at the Hotel. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    49
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
38
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I got this on Priceline. It was amazing. Hotel is 2 yrs old. They have a shuttle from the airport. They only have it till 8pm. If you come after that they tell u to take a cab and they will pay for it. So nice. Also I had a meeting in another hotel as soon as I checked in and Jamaal from front desk offered me a ride to where i was going and also gave me a tour of the city. Dima was also great.
Check in was a breathe. The room was just awesome. Grey have a small kitchenette. Bed is soooo comfy. Very clean. Nice flat screen TV.
FREE wifi. It was fast. I test all connections in the hotels I stay in. This was 20 Mbps. That is very fast.
Now for breakfast. It was great. Milk skim and 2%. Yogurt cheese, 5 types of cereal, Philly cheese, omelletes, potatoes, sausage , French toast, fruits, coffee, teas , bagels, bread.
All u need for a good hearty breakfast. Of forgot the juice. Apple and OJ.
So overall for me and with this price I would rate this a 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had an excellent stay here. The hotel is brand new and is in impeccable condition. Our room was gigantic! Very comfortable bed, pillows and linens. The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was very good with some hot choices as well as cold cereal, fruit and pastries. Good coffee too! Very close to the airport and with easy driving distance to downtown. Would highly recommend this very nice hotel when staying in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetravelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a good value hotel stay - rooms were clean, large and comfortable, the kitchenette was exactly what you need when you travel with children with food allergies. The daily breakfast was what you would expect. Our only complaint was that our AC was not working properly in our room. The staff did their best to fix it, and we were offered a move to another room (but for one more night it was not worth moving our crew and luggage). They did give us a 10% room discount for the trouble which was appreciated. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom22Saskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here, and have nothing but good things to say about the place :)

The hotel and the rooms are beautiful, modern and brand new. The rooms were specious, spotless and having the kitchenette and sofa bed were a huge plus. This is definitely a great place for larger families.

Breakfast was great, service was good, and it was good value for the money spent.

Room Tip: choose rooms with kitchenettes and sofa beds for larger families :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Folly25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a newer hotel located near the airport a d very close to major shopping Center. Ample outside parking with easy access to the lobby. Our room had a kitchenette and was very spacious. The room was very neat and tidy when we arrived. The beds was comfortable and it is one of the few hotels that I was out like a light when I laid down at night. The full breakfast was as good as or better than any other hotel I stayed at. The staff were exceptional, very very friend and always had a smile for their guests. I will certainly be staying at the Mainstay on my next trip to Winipeg.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have often been challenged with accommodations in Winnipeg and this was our first stay at Mainstay Suites and it did not disappoint.

As my review title says, Fantastic beds, great price and the perfect location!

We loved the full kitchen and normally we would have used it to our advantage but we ended up going out for dinner. Restaurants are close by (driving distance) and the selection was good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful (Dima and Jamal were at the front desk when we checked in).

Having a good bed and great pillows makes for a great sleep and when we are traveling like we are we sure appreciate it!

The continental breakfast was a bonus and for our CAA rate of $113 dollars or so per night we were very pleased with the value we received.

Great job Mainstay! We will be back!

Room Tip: We choose a room on the North side of the hotel (I think ;) because we were towing a canoe trailer a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred H, Manager at MainStay Suites Winnipeg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of MainStay Suites Winnipeg. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay us. We take a lot of pride in providing friendly & courteous service to all our guests. I have passed your comments on to Dima & Jammal. Thank you again for your review and choosing MainStay Suites Winnipeg for your accommodation needs. We look forward to being of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites Winnipeg

Property: MainStay Suites Winnipeg
Address: 670 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > St. James Industrial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#8 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites Winnipeg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing