We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Cambridge Bay, Canada
1 review
“The location”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The location is good, I have airmiles cards, and I racked it up to earn points and gave my points to help my son for gas on his truck. There is a hudson' bay store across the street. Saves time and energy and the restaurant is nice too.
thankyou.

Room Tip: one bedroom suite, incase you have children and grandchildren living in Winnipeg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    106
    42
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
43
10
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for week due to business. Stayed here about 5 years ago and I was pleasantly suprised with renovations since my last visit. Location of hotel is great, walked to and from all business meetings downtown in less than 10 minutes. Starbucks is now there so I grabbed coffee every day. Only downfall of hotel is the restaurant perhaps needs a boost.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and was pleased at the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms. Staff was attentive and helped with cab service since it's a bit difficult to get one on the street. Returned a Pepsi from vending machine that was nearly 6 months beyond expiration but manager refunded the cash and brought a fresh one to the room. That's what will bring me back since I travel to Winnipeg often. Eat at Stella's across the street for lighter fate such as salads and sandwiches. You'll be pleased at the quality.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was in Winnipeg on Business and found this hotel to be perfect, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. The staff told me they recently renovated, which showed in the rooms. I especially loved the onsite Starbucks. Gotta get my morning fix!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The room we had was clean and large enough to include a sofa, but lacked a fridge or microwave or a free breakfast. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. We loved the location, on Portage Avenue, right across the street from the Plug In Institute of Contemporary Art and near the Winnipeg Art Gallery. There was a free computer off the lobby. The staff people at the front desk and in the restaurant where we had breakfast were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The upper stories have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. I am happy that you were able to enjoy the easy access to all downtown Winnipeg has to offer. Holiday Inn Expresses are the hotels that include breakfast with their rooms as they are considered limited service hotels. The Holiday Inn’s in Winnipeg are all full service with full service restaurants. We are working on adding fridges to all our guest rooms as we have listened to our guests and this has been one of the areas of opportunity for us. We hope to have this addition to the hotel soon, as we have recently completed renovations and have a fresh new look and are looking forward to adding the brand new king size pillows along with the fridges. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed myself for 3 nights in January 2014. Although this hotel doesn't offer breakfast like many Holiday Inns, there are a lot of options very near by. The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. The bed and pillows were just to my liking and my interactions with all of the front desk staff were very positive. When I asked where Starbucks was located one morning, I was directed to the free coffee available to guests in the lobby! It was nice to feel like a guest instead of a customer. Check-in and check-out were both seamless and efficient. I had a gorgeous view of the legislature down the street and having Portage Place mall across the street was very handy. The location is excellent if you need to be anywhere downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing your hotel experience. I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of all the easy access to local shopping and of course the onsite Starbucks. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I chose the hotel for it's downtown location. The older hotel has been renovated and is well maintained. Everything looked to be in good repair. All the staff I interacted with were professional and very friendly. I did try the hotel's restaurant for supper and it was okay. The simple selection is mostly pasta, sandwiches and burgers - so if you're looking for something more upscale, you'll have to go elsewhere. The restaurant is not opened for lunch, so I went across the street to Stella's and was impressed. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We try our best to keep our hotel well maintained. We are currently refreshing our lobby and will have an exciting new modern look. Our location has more than 20 restaurants within walking distance, so there is an option no matter what your craving is. I hope we see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
881 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Address: 360 Colony St | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome back, we missed you! We have recently updated our guest room bathrooms and lobby area, fitness area and rooms. Located next to the University of Winnipeg and close to everything; just a few minutes walk from the convention centre and the MTS Centre, the city's major event venue and the Winnipeg Jets NHL Hockey team. Everything is within walking distance. Shop until you drop then come and relax in our Fireside Lounge or enjoy dinner in the Peppermill restaurant or visit the more then 40 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Don't forget to visit the onsite Starbucks. Catch Rapid transit from the hotel directly to the University of Manitoba and Investors Group Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing