We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent clean, room with all the key components the discerning traveller requires except parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Ranked #34 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent clean, room with all the key components the discerning traveller requires except parking.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Clean well appointed room, great location but lacking in secure parking. Provides the basics with no sexy frills. Location good for transit but not for evening strolls. We were delighted to find they use Body Shop bath products.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your hotel room and the amenities we offer. Being situation right next to the University of Winnipeg, there is usually many security guards patrolling our area. In addition, the downtown biz patrol is always walking the sidewalks throughout the day and evening and will always assist with any tourist questions or assistance for directions. They will also escort anybody to their destination if requested just to ensure that visitors to Winnipeg feel safe and experience the friendliness of our nature. I hope you have the chance to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    105
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
43
10
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Good location, across from The Bay. $15 extra for parking, but does have in/out privileges. Booked on Priceline for $65 so great value. King room has nice tv, coffee maker, desk, and great shower head. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameer555_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit at our hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Try to stay in same chain of hotels when travelling, one should know what to expect? This hotel was slow on check in, other than that they gave great service. Clean hotel, great food. Centrally located which is great for a family, you can walk to shops and activities rather than keep getting car out of the garage

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your recent stay with us. We will definitely address the slow check as we strive to achieve a friendly fast check in process. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Came here the night before a wedding with the wedding party all of us from out of town. Booked 3 rooms for the wedding party. First we got here we waited an hour to get into our rooms because they said they didn't have our information. After being very rude to us they finally took the time to look and had EVERYTHING required there. Before booking we were told that we could have cots for two girls to sleep. When we asked for them they told us we could not have them and that they would have to sleep on the floor. Horrible customer service! Very rude to all of us and no apologies for their mistakes. Now after all this we have a crying Bride left with the feeling that her night is ruined and off to a horrible start to the most important day of her life.
She chose this hotel because she had heard good things.
None of us will every be staying at a Holiday Inn in Winnipeg ever ever again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley6b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your experience was a negative one. I have addressed your concerns with each department and want to assure you this is not the normal. Your arrival to the hotel at 2:45pm should not have taken until 3:15pm to complete. There was some confusion with the bookings in regards to who was responsible for deposits, which was sorted out once they confirmed that the person paying for the rooms was also guaranteeing the room deposit. I apologize for this as this should have been confirmed prior to your arrival and notes made on the reservations. The hotel does have cots but are only permitted in certain rooms due to the fire code restrictions of how many can sleep in a room and the limitation of space. I apologize if this was not communicated when asked do we have cots. I was informed a compromise was made to assist in this situation of offering an extremely discounted rate to accommodate the additional person(s) to sleep in the additional room. Once again, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and do hope that the wedding was a beautiful one that everyone was able to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is my first ever review on Trip Advisor. I am writing this because i wanted to tell people about the incredible service I have gotten at this Holiday Inn. I stay here a few times a year and every time the service is great (so are the rooms, the food, etc.). The staff are always friendly and very helpful and do everything that they can to accommodate any reasonable request. I wouldn't think of staying any place else when I'm in Winnipeg

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaynejDunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience. I am happy that you we able to experience all we have to offer here and I will share your comments with the rest of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Solid service, clean room, helpful staff. Just two issues keeping it from a full 5 stars - the parking garage being locked at 11, thus requiring me to walk outside the hotel to get to the car which wasn't a big deal but was a nuisance and the pool was closed which I did not know about when I booked the room online. Luckily they did set up free access to the YMCA which was in eyeshot (through a parking lot) of the hotel which kept me at 4 stars instead of 3. Reasonably close to everything we needed, with the mall just a few KM away by car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for commenting on your stay. I am glad you had an opportunity to take advantage of the YMCA, while our pool area was being upgraded. Phase one is now been complete and the pool area is up and running. I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have stayed here for business several times. Never had any problems - staff always helpful. I asked to charge rooms on my last stay - no problem, they got me another room on the same floor immediately. As of May 2013 the pool is being refurbished so guests can use the YMCA facilities at no cost, 1 block away. The YMCA has a full size pool and a huge gym so take advantage of this bonus while you can!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulAtkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experience. I am happy you always receive the service that we strive to offer. I hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Address: 360 Colony St | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome back, we missed you! We have recently updated our guest room bathrooms and lobby area, fitness area and rooms. Located next to the University of Winnipeg and close to everything; just a few minutes walk from the convention centre and the MTS Centre, the city's major event venue and the Winnipeg Jets NHL Hockey team. Everything is within walking distance. Shop until you drop then come and relax in our Fireside Lounge or enjoy dinner in the Peppermill restaurant or visit the more then 40 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Don't forget to visit the onsite Starbucks. Catch Rapid transit from the hotel directly to the University of Manitoba and Investors Group Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Hotel Winnipeg
Holiday Inn And Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing