We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Ranked #35 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed November 13, 2012

So its a holiday inn. You know what to expect. A good deal for us at $115 a night for a double. The hotel is located on the edge of downtown. Nice and clean and firendly check in and check out staff. For this price I think it is hard to beat. The only negative was that the girl on the front desk in the evening could not recommend anywhere good for dinner. We ate at the Indian place but it was rubbish.

Room Tip: Its on a busy corner so ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roremc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, General Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Winnipeg has many restaurants to choose from and I will be sure to address with our front office team so they are familiar with the local restaurant in the area. I hope to see you again on your next trip to Winnipeg.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 225 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is comfortable. The rooms are large and clean, albeit a bit cold. Large, comfortable king sized bed, large bathroom and complimentary wireless. The pool is clean but very small, whirpool is quite large and nice and hot. There are no changing rooms at the pool though, so you have to go down in your towel (not much of a problem for me as my room was right next to the elevator). The walls are quite thin so I was kept awake by the 10 year old Bieber fans next door- pumped up on Bieber fever. Only huge complaint was the so called 'restaurant' on site (Peppermill Cafe). Whatever was served here (I cannot call it food) was clearly microwaved to order. It really was unedible. Directly across the street is Stellas Cafe - much much better. Not much other choice for food if you dont have access to a car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlotteJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am glad to hear that your rooms was comfortable. I apologize for any concerns in our restaurant. I assure you that I will address this with our restaurant team. You mentioned Stella’s Cafe across the street, which is an alternative to our restaurant as well as, connected to the hotel is Garbonzo’s full service restaurant and a Starbucks for anyone looking for other choices and not wanting to have to exit the building.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For once, it paid to be a “Priority” member – hotel was over booked so I was upgraded to a suite overseeing the provincial legislature.

Pretty nice hotel, but didn’t had time to try the gym and pool/spa.

A few blocks of the MTS Center, and maybe 10-15 minutes of walk from the old Winnipeg area and restaurants.

You may be confused the first time you’ll park and search for the hotel entrance – management should put a few signs for newbies.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnycalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose the Holiday Inn & Suites because of it's central location , right on the corner of Portage & Colony in downtown Winnipeg. Not only was it very convenient for all the places we had to go , but we found all of the staff members very pleasant & helpful .From the front desk staff , the cleaning staff and the security people , we were greeted with good attitudes & efficiency. The restaurant was a comfortable and enjoyable place to eat & relax . The wait staff were most attentive & the food was good quality at affordable prices !! The parking costs were a little high at $15 plus taxes , but I guess those are city prices to help pay for the very visible & effective security services .

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are in the process of being renovated , so I guess you should make sure you get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank at-pergamon-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had emigrated from uk, and being used to pretty good service and standards at the holiday inns we had stayed in previously, we opted for the holiday inn downtown. Well we arrived very early in the day, to a pleasant receptionist, we had travelled on the via rail from toronto and the two nights without sleep had paid it's toll on us. Looking bedraggled and smelling none too great we were pleased with the light and clean nature of the lobby area. Obviously at half 9 in the morning our room wouldnt be ready but we were able to leave our luggage, without any scene or hassle and were told to return in an hour and a room would be ready for us. Now thats service!, on return we were again greeted by friendly receptionists and check in was trouble free and very efficient. We got complimentary water and cookies, which was very welcomed.

the room.. Huge king size bed, now i am a huge bloke (well over 6ft and 400lbs) and this place met all of our needs, whilst i couldnt fit in the small chair there was also a ottoman which served me well, there was also a comfy chair and a large table for working on, wifi in the room was included and efficient,nice fridge and microwave saved us a fortune and reception provided us with plates and cutlery .

the hot tub and swimming pool were a great surprise to us, as we hadnt really expected it in a downtown hotel. relaxing in the whirlpool at the end of the hot days was superb.

staff were informative and always willing to send up a couple of extra coffee sachets and milk when we had used ours, in fact they went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.
Cleaning staff we encountered we excellent. room spotless.

would i stay again? .... Too bloody right i would, even after a months stay we still found it pleasant .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelandhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

It is always great to hear positive comments from our guests about their stays. We take pride in our service standards and I will share your comments with all our staff. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope you stay with us again in the future given the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having seen Autodrive's recent review, I feel the need to chime in. We were there the previous week, checking out 9/9. What he didn't know was that a hotel guest had triggered the sprinkler system Sunday morning, causing a great deal of water damage on one or more floors and flooding the stairwell. Those of us who had to walk up 10 or 11 flights of stairs at 3 a.m. after being evacuated to the street were grateful that there was one elevator operating come checkout time a few hours later.
We stayed for a full week and found the staff to be very helpful,the rooms clean and quiet. Yes, we paid for parking but that's expected in a downtown hotel. And in any Holiday Inn I've stayed at, water is for Priority Club members not all guests.
Can't speak to the hotel restaurant. The evening we checked in, the desk clerk recommended Stella's across the street and we ate there almost every day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carouseltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

I really do appreciate you sharing your experience while staying with us. The unforeseen circumstances in regards to the flood were not to anyone’s liking. I do apologize on behalf of the entire hotel for the inconvenience of that night and appreciate your understanding. Hopefully you have a chance to try our restaurant during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this hotel.. Upon checking in, the desk clerk was nice enough to look for a room and change our room to what we requested however she did not gave us any bottled water which i thot was free and i could see it just on top of the glass cabinet behind her (note: booked this hotel at a website for a discounted price of $77). Parking was $15 overnyt. The room was a little small but was clean and updated.. There were only two elevators in the hotel and the other one was out of order..we had to wait a little longer to go up and down. One time we waited for 5 mins for the elevator and when it finally opened it was full of garbage bags and had to wait again for the bags to get unloaded( do they not have a service elevator? It wasnt really a good site to see). The ice machine in our floor was out of order as well. Went to the pool area but only stayed there for 15 mins as it was making me dizzy.. Chlorine was too strong..
Although the bed was comfortable i dont think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audiodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyne H, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. You happened to stay when one of our elevators was being serviced, in which I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused as we take the safety of our guests very serious and ensure every part of our building is always to safety standards. The water you mentioned seeing at check in, is a gift for our Priority Club members. By signing up, guests receive a small gift as well as collect points towards free stays or convert to air miles or aero plan miles. The program has great perks and I would suggest signing up if you do planning on staying at any IHG properties in the future. Thank you and I hope you do stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#25 of 63 in Winnipeg
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown

Address: 360 Colony St | Corner of Colony and Portage, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2P3, Canada (Formerly Red River Hotel & Suites Winnipeg)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $93 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome back, we missed you! We have recently updated our guest room bathrooms and lobby area, fitness area and rooms. Located next to the University of Winnipeg and close to everything; just a few minutes walk from the convention centre and the MTS Centre, the city's major event venue and the Winnipeg Jets NHL Hockey team. Everything is within walking distance. Shop until you drop then come and relax in our Fireside Lounge or enjoy dinner in the Peppermill restaurant or visit the more then 40 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Don't forget to visit the onsite Starbucks. Catch Rapid transit from the hotel directly to the University of Manitoba and Investors Group Field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites, Winnipeg Downtown
Holiday Inn & Suites, Winnipeg Downtown Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing