We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marlborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I would stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for a concert because i was looking for a hotel that was cheap, had breakfast and a pool. I would recommend it for someone who is looking for a low price. The location was perfect because you could walk to the MTS centre and some of the good bars in town. I really liked that there was free breakfast that tasted good and had lots of options but the staff in the restaurant was terrible. They seemed like they didnt want to be working and couldn't answer simple questions about the food. The rest of the hotel staff was awesome though. The parking could be an issue for some people because there was a parking lot that had a fee but it really didnt add up to much when you thought about the money you will save staying here and being able to walk to most places downtown. The rooms were great for what we paid, a comfy bed and it was clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Jenna K,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Marlborough Hotel. I apologize if your visit to our Café was not all it should have been. I have spoken with our service staff to ensure that they are looking after each and every guest. I am glad that you found us to be a value hotel which met your needs while attending your concert and we hope to have you visit again.

Thanks,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    39
    54
    47
    81
See reviews for
35
65
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Staff was very good. We asked for a suite and for privacy just because our room was going to be loud. They put us on a floor that was booked for people attending a wedding which was perfect. Staff reached all of our needs we asked for! The bed was comfy and the pool is nice and simple with a fun waterslide. I expected breakfast to be a buffet so we were a little confused at first, but our meals were good. However everything about this hotel is very old.. and expect to be around a lot of drunk people. Not the safest environment. Those were my only concerns about the place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandydandyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Winnipegg,

Thank you for your comments on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the pool and found our pillow top mattresses comfortable. Please feel free to ask for assistance from our 24 hour security to make you feel more secure.

Sincerely,
Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I had our wedding at the Marlborough. We were extremely satisfied with the service. I was honestly a little nervous about getting a room after reading the reviews but it was no where close to what people were saying. The room was very clean. We got a complimentary breakfast with our stay. The breakfast had many choices to choose from (bacon and eggs, eggs Benedict, French toast). The staff went above and beyond. I would definitely recommend the Marlborough hotel to anyone. The architecture is absolutely amazing!

-extremely satisfied guests

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommy23boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mommy23boyz,

Thank you for not only staying with us but letting us cater your wedding! It is certainly nice to read your comments on both the room and your event. Thank you for your recommendations.

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked the hotel through booking.com, mainly for its price and location in downtown Winnipeg. At first sight it didn't seem like we would enjoy the experience: building seemed old and somewhat downtrodden and, as firmly middle-class folk we didn't seem to fit in with the crowd of other guests on display. We had booked a double room and the manager offered to upgrade us to a suite, which we declined in favour of having two beds rather than a bed and a pullout couch. After seeing the original room and hearing the noise in the hallway around 8 pm, we reconsidered the manager's offer (he called us repeating it). We were happy with the room we got. Unlike the double room the suite was clean, tastefully decorated and large. There were two pullout beds, one of which was rather comfortable. The room was also in a quiet, keyed wing of the hotel and our rest was undisturbed that night. On the basis of our stay in the suite I would say that it was a good stay overall. A hot, made to order breakfast was included, which we didn't expect so it was a nice touch though it was plain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkjhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear lkjhhh,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your experience on you visit to The Marlborough Hotel. I am glad that we could find a room that met your needs for your stay. It is good to hear that our staff took the time to make sure you were happy with your accommodations.

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

we booked this hotel not expecting anything fancy, it was just a 10 hour pitstop on our roadtrip (and for 8 of those hours we would most assuredly be comatose). so we were pleasantly surprised to find the woman at the front desk a complete angel; after seeing our road weary demeanor she immediately offered to upgrade our room to the business class! for me this is something that only happens in the movies, being two 20 year olds we dont exactly look like the type that spends enough to warrant an upgrade (and after 12 hours in a car together the 2 room suite they upgraded us too was MOST welcome)
10 blissful hours later we arrived at the continental breakfast, which is not the buffet one would expect, there is a menu with quite a variety of options! our meals came out incredibly fast and whats more - they were delicious, which is something i dont necessarily expect from a continental.
the location of the hotel is not exactly desirable but its a short walk from the trendy downtown, and there are security guards everywhere (not really necessary but i found them comforting).

the only real complaint i have is that the coffee at breakfast was a little overpriced, but the actual meal was free and good.
parking is just around the corner and only $10 a day

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kate I,

Thank you for choosing The Marlborough Hotel for your pit-stop – we are certainly glad that we could make that portion of your road trip comfortable and enjoyable. I am glad that our guest service agent was able to make your stay more comfortable. You did mention that there was a cost to the coffee – we are currently reviewing this and look for a change shortly.

Thanks again for your comments,

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST FARGO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

It all started before we even got there! Starting with the hotel Manager Chris taking the time to answer all my questions and concerns. Polite, respectful, and honest. The property is aged, but that is part of the deal--it was clean and organized, and what we expected. The location was perfect for us, and the Joanna's restaurant was reasonable priced and food was good. My family and I did not have any problems with our stay. We knew it was an older building--but it had charm. But most of all--every single staff member treated us very well--above and beyond in my opinion. And with the hotel being in downtown, my concern for safety was handled to my satisfaction. There was security on the premises that dealt with all that came their way--inside the building and outside on the sidewalk. The panhandlers and other individuals that did not have a reason to be in the building were quickly escorted out and moved along. We felt safe, and that things were dealt with firmly and in a timely manner. The area is a bit rundown, but this is not the fault of The Marlborough--they do a nice job with what they have--and I felt they had a lot to offer. We will be back, and I know they will welcome us back warmly--Top Notch Staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disappoint4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris D, General Manager at The Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Dissapint4,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your visit to Winnipeg and your stay at The Marlborough Hotel. We certainly do strive to provide great customer service in a value priced location.

We look forward to your next visit!

Chris Dubberley
General Manager
The Marlborough Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
478 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

There is little to add to the other reviews but to summarize that the staff is wonderful and the rest of the place is as attractive as a third-world hovel. This place is a complete and utter embarrassment to the city of Winnipeg as it is barely up to flophouse category. This is not a "budget" hotel as I only paid about $10/night less than far preferable properties a couple of blocks away. Get ready to be accosted by all sorts of bums and punks aggressively asking for change and slagging you when they don't get it. This hotel gets a Poor rather than Terrible rating from me only because the staff is almost incredibly friendly (considering the horrid hotel they have to work in) and that even after thorough examination there were none of those persistent evil insects hiding in the crevasses of the bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winnipeg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#13 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Downtown Winnipeg
Hotel Royal Plaza
Hotel Royal Plaza
#52 of 63 in Winnipeg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlborough Hotel

Property: The Marlborough Hotel
Address: 331 Smith Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 2G9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Marlborough Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marlborough Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing