We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not near the airport”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Even though the name has Airport in it, this hotel is at least a 15 minute drive/shuttle from the Winnipeg Airport. This hotel is quite old and the decor and rooms reflect this. I had the misfortune of getting a room on the second floor which seems to have "kid themed" rooms (there is a kid's play center by the pool) which seems great for families (not so much for everyone else). Do yourself a favour and pick a hotel that is actually near the airport (Hilton & Four Seasons come to mind).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_ETF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    115
    47
    18
    18
See reviews for
115
38
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warroad, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This is the first time I've ever left a review here, but the hotel was so great I had to let people know! We decided last minute to go to Winnipeg for the weekend. I booked the hotel the day of our stay (online) and put a note in there that I would love a kids room if one should come available. We got there around 6:00 that evening and they had shuffled rooms around so that we got a kids room. I was so happy. Then we saw the Holidome area with the pool and the play structures. It was wonderful. We didn't use it, but there is also a craft type room with a worker in there to help the kids out. The staff was super friendly/helpful the whole time. It is also a very clean and upscale hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a great place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mao1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I visit Winnipeg a lot. Spend about 15-20 nights a year. Have tried quite a few hotels. This one seems to be the best mix of value and hotel.

Airport- They have a free airport shuttle from airport to hotel and back. When you land call them and they will provide a free pick up service.

Hotel- Its on Portage Avenue. Lobby is standard HI. Nothing much but nothing bad.

Room- Was quite big size. Standard US/Canada room in a hotel. Free internet in the hotel.

Hotel- They have a play park where kids were enjoying so if you have children, this may be a good place.

Value- I paid C$130 for 1 night. Not bad. Hilton was charging 200 and Clarion $180 and this was as good as both of them. So worth staying here if for a few days in Winnipeg.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank VCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Holiday Inn staff were amazing-- very polite and friendly.

Rooms were comfortable and had all essentials.

Free airport shuttle was really convenient as I was just in Winnipeg overnight en route to Northern Manitoba.

I loved choosing my own pillow- so nice to have feather as an option!

Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2010

quite a nice hotel, clean and friendly, and very busy. (not what I expected) Location is a bit rough as you will need to U-turn if you are on the wrong side of Portage. Otherwise had all the amenities, business center for printing boarding passes etc

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatmoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed one night in March to catch an early morning flight. Had a 2 queen room on the 11th floor. Checked in late (11pm) and out early (7am) so I didn't have too much to do there.

Location on a busy street had me a bit confused where to turn in. Had to go further down the street and turn around to figure it out. Portage has concrete boulevard in the center preventing a lot of left hand turns along the way. Parking was easy and close. Check in was good, although the stairs at the main entrnace were odd for a hotel that size. There was a ramped walkway, but off to the side. The gentleman at the check in counter was excellent. He welcomed me with a nice standard phrase that they must welcome all Priority Club members, but it felt genuine nonetheless.

I requested to use the business center to try and print my boarding pass for the next morning. Unfortuantely the computer couldn't access that part of the WestJet website due to not having the correct Flash version. Still, a small but effective Business Center.

Room was smaller, and bathroom smaller still. Decent view out the window, probably could have been rather nice if it was light out. The room did the trick for a one night sleep. If I was exploring the city or staying for a few nights, I would have enjoyed something bigger. Overall, it felt a touch dated, but in fairly good condition.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We moved across the country in 2009 and just by chance happened upon this hotel. I found it a little hard to locate the hotel so I called the front desk to verify our directions. The front desk staff were very friendly and even offered to meet me out front and park the u-haul for me. Already, I was impressed. We arrived at the hotel at about 7pm.The front desk staff were fantastic. They checked us in quickly, offered us kids-eat-free vouchers and had someone helps us up to our room on the second floor. I had no idea when I booked this hotel that there was a playground inside of it. We were absolutely thrilled. Our sons (who were 5 at the time) had the time of their lives playing on the pirate themed playground giving us some down time. We were a little concerned that the noise from the playground would effect our stay in our room (which was opposite the playground area) but once inside our room, we couldn't hear a sound. It was blissful. Once the kids were worn out, we ventured downstaires for dinner in the hotel restaurant. We loved that the kids eat free (with 3 kids it can add up fast) and that there were kid friendly choices as well meals we would want to eat too. My husband and I had steak and seafood and appies. Everything was delicious. Our children were exhausted and all three fell asleep before their meals came. The restaurant staff packed up all of the kids meals and carried them up to our room along side of us so we could tote the kids up to bed. They really went above and beyond! Of the 6 hotels we stayed at on our way across the country, this one was by far the best. It has almost been 3 years since we moved and I STILL rave about this hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerribleTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#22 of 63 in Winnipeg
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Address: 2520 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Completely Renovated Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West hotel is located 3 miles (5 km) east of Winnipeg By-Pass Hwy #101 on Trans Canada Hwy #1, 2520 Portage Avenue. We have just completed a brand new makeover with a new look and feel to our 194 guest rooms, 16 Junior Suites and 18 one-bedroom suites including 2 suites which feature a Jetted tub. All guest accommodations feature in-room Keurig coffee makers, fridge, microwave, 37" Flat Screen TV's, cable TV with redesigned working desk area complete with computer access & 2 2-line phones. Wireless high-speed Internet. Open concept Licensed restaurant & lounge complete with 9 big screen TV's. Same day valet laundry service (Mon-Fri) plus coin operated washer/dryer facilities. Complimentary 24 hour transportation to/from Airport & Polo Park Shopping Centre. Free underground heated parking as well as surface parking. Business centre located in the main lobby. Meeting & function space available for groups of 2 - 350 persons. Our hotel is within driving distance to the Assiniboia Downs Race Track, Assiniboine Park & Zoo, Club Regent & McPhillips Casinos, Centennial Concert Hall, Forks Market, Manitoba Museum, MTS Centre, Western Canada Aviation Museum, Winnipeg Legislative Grounds & The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Stadium (all a must see when visiting Winnipeg). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing