We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely needs renovation for the rooms !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“definitely needs renovation for the rooms !!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

it is a very old hotel that definitely needs lots of renovations! i .was very disappointed once we were in.rooms were very small and overcrowded by old furniture .so we had to redecorate the room so we have enough space to walk around. The bathroom is way awful ..the sink is cracked and needed to be changed, the bathroom was dark and needed extra lights o make this small space brighter.... just feel like u want to get out of there as soon as possible ,rather than enjoying a nice hot bath.the only advantage in this hotel was the children activities . ping pong table ...small wading pool ,big pool and pirate cove which all the children seem to enjoy......and children 12 and under eat for free...it seems this hotel is packed during the weekends due to children's activities but still they have to consider renovating and updating to keep with people's tastes.

Room Tip: great for children activities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear maki s
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Winnipeg. I am sorry you did not find your accommodations to your liking. We are in the process of reviewing our renovation plans. The changes will be very exciting as I hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you in the future.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    116
    48
    18
    19
See reviews for
118
40
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg for a business trip in March, and everything went smooth, staff was very friendly, rooms were quiet and comfortable. Honestly nothing to complain about.
I had a coffee and a drink at the lounge near the lobby, nice and clean. For those who wish to eat out, there's a Keg and a Boston Pizza literally across the street.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and no issues whatsoever, elevator was quick enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleccoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear AleccoH
Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment on your stay with us. Our team works extremely hard to provide a comfortable and clean environment for our guests. it is always special when those efforts are recognized.
We look forward to you return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This past weekend we had a great experience at this hotel! We called at 11 to see if we could get in early and we could get in right away. We were able to get there at 1 meaning we ha all afternoon in the pool and pirate cove. My neice who just turned 2 had a blast. Was so cute to see her have so much fun. She spent hours in the pirate cove. The pool temperature was perfect.... Not too cold or warm.
We also forgot tooth paste and shampoo and the maids were so friendly making sure we had everything we needed! Thank you so much for a nice time!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleyf29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ashleyf29
Our Goal is to ensure you can relax and enjoy our surroundings. I am thrilled you were able to get in early and I really appreciate your comments on that. Our play area is one of a kind in the city and when your kids are happy we are happy.
Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went there for a night on spring break, mostly to give the kids a day of pool fun.

The pool is not the best, it is a rectangle and has no sallow end, and not very big. It is about 4.5 feet depth throughout, so that's not great for smaller kids. And nice and warm, which is much more comfortable for kida. There's a kiddies pool and a hot tub. But the much better attraction is the pirates cove play area, the kids loved it. Lots of nice and comfortable seating areas for the parents.

Comparing it to candinns and clarion as a place to take the kids, it would depend on how much your kids really want to go swimming.

Kids eat free at the restaurant, which isn't anything great but ok. Lots of restaurant options nearby, subway, keg, Boston pizza all across th street. Also nice having a shoppers drug mart across th street.

I remember when it was th old birchwood inn, and the only trace of the 80s is the fish tanks in the elevator. Which I hope they keep, they're great. Rooms are smallish, but comfortable. And very quiet, considering it was spring break and crawling with kids. Nice quality televisions.

Only complaint is the housekeeping. Our room was not cleaned up completely, and that's a big strike against.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a room on the second floor. Easier to get to the pool. If not, ask to not be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

When I have a stop over in Winnipeg, I usually stay here. It's close to the airport (10 minutes). The reason I like it better than staying right at the airport is there are restaurants within walking distance (The Keg, Boston Pizza). The hotel is old (I remember it as the Birchwood Inn as a kid) but they have renovated the rooms and lobby so it looks very modern. If you ever travel to Winnipeg in Winter, they have one of the best features...Heated Underground Parking!!
Staff are very nice and up beat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We love coming here to hang out with our kids; they love the pool and pirates cove play area. This hotel is consistent with the cleanliness of the rooms and service overall. We especially appreciate their recent reno's in their pool, pirates cove and gym areas; their new seating areas are much appreciated as well. We have been coming to this hotel to celebrate our kids' birthdays for the past 6 years and plan to continue on visiting this family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nettie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stay at this location because of meetings at a nearby venue that I attend several times a year. I also vacation and recently have stayed at other hotels in Canada, USA and other countries and use those experiences as a basis of comparison:

Negatives
-True, this facility is getting older and some of the furnishings and decor are becoming worn and dated.
-Room layouts are different and some are quite cramped.
-Some street facing rooms on lower floors or facing Portage or Moray have quite a bit of traffic noise.
-Ongoing renovation-though happening slowly- is happening which means that some areas/activities have been closed or unavailable or limited from time to time.gym,pool,parkade).
-Small onsite shop closed some time ago- probably couldn't compete with the 24 hour Shoppers Drug Mart across the street, but I still miss the opportunity to buy the odd thing such as the Winnipeg Free Press or a magazine without having to dodge the traffic on Portage Ave.
-TV service has finally recently been upgraded to flat screen and digital but the on TV AV services guide still did not match the available channels.

POSITIVES
-Wonderful staff! I have a "Cheers" good feeling at the front desk and the restaurant. I find the desk staff especially friendly and welcoming (Grant/Charlene/Eileen- You "bake" good cookies!). I do try to communicate and confirm any special request upon registration and to ensure availability- I do try to register well in advance if I want a specific location like a corner "roomier" room, tub instead of shower only- or such.
-Welcoming lobby-lovely seasonal displays.
-Immaculately clean rooms. Comfortable beds and nice bedding.
-Decent lighting for reading or doing meeting homework. In room good signal WiFi.
-I have always appreciated the timely response by Maintenance and such when something (heat, AC, plumbing) doesn't work in the room.
-Handy and convenient heated indoor parkade parking is included in the price.
-Rooms at a higher floor or back facing have less traffic noise and can be request honored if reserving well in advance.
-Restaurant has good menu choices and decently priced specials. Food is tasty and well presented. Such friendly staff- Darlene, Lisa, Michael, Penny and others!! Love the soup bar!
-Location is handy to other restaurant choices- Keg, Boston Pizza and others are a short walk or a short drive away.
-Hotel shuttle is handy and convenient to the Airport or Polo Park Mall
-Winnipeg city bus stop is conveniently located to take the bus to the MTS Centre downtown if attending a game or concert there.
.
I should mention that in Oct. 2012 I was a guest at the hotel (#1105) when a small fire occurred in the restaurant in the wee hours of the morning. The staff reacted in an amazingly competent fashion. I had sent an email as soon as I got home about an evacuation- related issue which was immediately answered by Angela. I have since stayed there several times just as comfortably as ever with absolutely NO safety concerns.
In closing- yes- for me it always is "a great day at the Holiday Inn"!!

Room Tip: -corner rooms are more spacious if sharing or needing a cot -adjoining rooms are available - highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbmcha, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear CookieManitoba

I would like to thank you for the indepth review you have provided on our property. I can't tell you how pleased i am to see the extent in which you have provided both pros and cons of the hotel. it really means a lot to the ongoing performance of our team to see such glowing comments in writing. So often you only see the negatives.
I have shared your comments with those that you have mentioned and you can be assured it has made their day.
All the best to you and we look forward to your return visit.
Respectfully,
Bruce MacKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#24 of 63 in Winnipeg
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Address: 2520 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Completely Renovated Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West hotel is located 3 miles (5 km) east of Winnipeg By-Pass Hwy #101 on Trans Canada Hwy #1, 2520 Portage Avenue. We have just completed a brand new makeover with a new look and feel to our 194 guest rooms, 16 Junior Suites and 18 one-bedroom suites including 2 suites which feature a Jetted tub. All guest accommodations feature in-room Keurig coffee makers, fridge, microwave, 37" Flat Screen TV's, cable TV with redesigned working desk area complete with computer access & 2 2-line phones. Wireless high-speed Internet. Open concept Licensed restaurant & lounge complete with 9 big screen TV's. Same day valet laundry service (Mon-Fri) plus coin operated washer/dryer facilities. Complimentary 24 hour transportation to/from Airport & Polo Park Shopping Centre. Free underground heated parking as well as surface parking. Business centre located in the main lobby. Meeting & function space available for groups of 2 - 350 persons. Our hotel is within driving distance to the Assiniboia Downs Race Track, Assiniboine Park & Zoo, Club Regent & McPhillips Casinos, Centennial Concert Hall, Forks Market, Manitoba Museum, MTS Centre, Western Canada Aviation Museum, Winnipeg Legislative Grounds & The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Stadium (all a must see when visiting Winnipeg). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing