We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Lloydminster Alberta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights I didn't go with great expecations as one of my collegues who recently moved from Winnipeg told me this hotel was in the middle of nowwhere. I was plesantly suprised to find out it wasn't there was plenty of selection for meal choices and with the river close by there was tons of places to walk. I also found a grocery store within walking distance. This hotel has an excellent fitness area and the pool looked great I didn't try it, there also was a playland for young children. My only complaint was the nights I did have neighbours on the connecting door side it would get loud in my room ( they need to look at making these doors more soundproof).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    114
    45
    18
    17
See reviews for
113
36
25
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Outstanding reception staff...very kind, efficient and helpful in every respect...same as the staff in the restaurant and same with the housekeeping staff.
I found the hotel just a bit worn...room I stayed in could use a touch up but nothing that I can't live with.
As a platinum member, I almost always get vouchers for free breakfast but not at this Holiday Inn.
Location was great....didn't seem to be best neighborhood in Winnipeg but the hotel felt very secure. Plenty of parking and easy access.
Only negative comment I can make is that the restaurant coffee is among the worst coffee I've ever tasted.
Good shopping in the area if you need Wal Mart, Staples or the usual chain stores. Traffic pretty reasonable and free shuttle only 10 mintues from the airport.
Definitely will stay here again cause the price was pretty good for what you get....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIsrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carberry, Manitoba
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed here with my family on a move out West. We were very pleased with the quality of service provided at the front desk, especially when you walk into a fancy lobby after a 15-hr drive in cutoff jeans and a ratty old t-shirt and they still treat you like a customer. The beds were very comfy. The room was clean. unfortunately we did not get a chance to try out the pool but the kids really liked the fish in the elevator.

Traveling with a 3-year old I sometimes find it difficult to make a reservation for 5 to a room (not going to book 2 rooms because we have a toddler), but I was pleased that there were no issues making this arrangement right on their website without having to deny the existance of my youngest. Bonus marks for that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klokwerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We had a great experience - above and beyond all expectations in comparison to other Holiday Inn hotels we've stayed at. Price was great, food was good in the restaurant (we had breakfast there only, and while the price is can be a bit high, the portions are large), and options included things like skillets and eggs benedict - among many others. Room was clean, toiletries from Bath and Bodyworks, super friendly staff with many trimmings (including the offer of a free shuttle to a local downtown location). Pirate's Cove in the pool room is a huge activity centre for kids that goes way beyond anything I've seen before (particularly for the price). Very clean, great stay all around. Also very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMR80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste. Rose du Lac, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here March and the room was good clean and quite. There was a bit of peeling paint in the bathroom by the shower but overall the room was good. The amenities were a little disappointing. We went to the pool and hot tub it was crowded. There was an advertisement for steam room which I wanted to use but we were told when they renovated it was removed :(. When we arrived our reserved room was not ready so they upgraded our room to a king room for the same price. The staff was awesome it’s close to many restaurants, and shops. For the price you pay its not bad and we would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLCoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterloo
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I have stayed here in the past and have been satisfied with this property, but the service was beyond expectations this time. I had travelled to Winnipeg for business and was looking forward to a quiet relaxing day after my meetings. Lo and behold, it was march break in Winnipeg and adorable little kids were everwhere, from the pool to lobby to restaurant. They were well behaved, but I was looking for quiet. The hotel staff relocated me to a more quiet floor and the overall service and attitude were exemplary. Thanks again for your consideration.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edulinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Spent two nights and really have nothing negative . quiet rooms translate to a good sleep. comfortable beds .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
514 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West

Property: Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
Address: 2520 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 3T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Completely Renovated Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport West hotel is located 3 miles (5 km) east of Winnipeg By-Pass Hwy #101 on Trans Canada Hwy #1, 2520 Portage Avenue. We have just completed a brand new makeover with a new look and feel to our 194 guest rooms, 16 Junior Suites and 18 one-bedroom suites including 2 suites which feature a Jetted tub. All guest accommodations feature in-room Keurig coffee makers, fridge, microwave, 37" Flat Screen TV's, cable TV with redesigned working desk area complete with computer access & 2 2-line phones. Wireless high-speed Internet. Open concept Licensed restaurant & lounge complete with 9 big screen TV's. Same day valet laundry service (Mon-Fri) plus coin operated washer/dryer facilities. Complimentary 24 hour transportation to/from Airport & Polo Park Shopping Centre. Free underground heated parking as well as surface parking. Business centre located in the main lobby. Meeting & function space available for groups of 2 - 350 persons. Our hotel is within driving distance to the Assiniboia Downs Race Track, Assiniboine Park & Zoo, Club Regent & McPhillips Casinos, Centennial Concert Hall, Forks Market, Manitoba Museum, MTS Centre, Western Canada Aviation Museum, Winnipeg Legislative Grounds & The Winnipeg Blue Bombers Football Stadium (all a must see when visiting Winnipeg). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing