We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel!”
Review of Fairmont Winnipeg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Winnipeg
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm not sure this one is as nice or luxurious as some of the other Fairmonts. However, this is still a quality hotel with good size rooms ad a decent view, depending on where your room is located. There is a lounge and restaurant in the hotel. Te hotel is also on connected to an underground walking area with a Tim Hortons and shops, eliminating the need to go out in the cold. The hotel is well situated for many popular tourist sites. Breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulips300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about The Fairmont Winnipeg. We are located in the centre of downtown and are attached to major attractions. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I had a staycation at the Fairmont on the Gold floor and couldn't of ask for better service and a lovely stay. Without even mentioning to the staff that is was a romantic getaway, they lite candles all over our room and fresh rose petals to add to the ambience. Great to be downtown and walk to the Jets game. Thanks for making our Winnipeg staycation a special one.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for the Gold floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladythiesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your outstanding staycation experience. We strive to provide exceptional guest interactions and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Winnipeg.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great hotel in the downtown area. The hotel staff are top notch and treat you like royalty. Super fast check in and rooms are clean and well furnished. The beds are very comfy and make you want to lie in them forever. The restaurant is a tad expensive but all the food is excellent. You can get some great deals on this hotel some dates making it much cheaper then the alternatives. Great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile


Had a nice stay here, location is great if you want to be at the city center and there's a mall and Tim Horton's downstairs.

The room was clean and the bathroom had great amenities. But the room with the two double beds was small and hard to move around with the kids so we moved to a suite at the club floor which was a lot larger. The bed was a little too soft IMO but the linens and towels were great. It also had a flat panel TV and WIFI was strong.

Staff here were great and the food at the restaurant was very good. We had to move to another room (third time) when we smelt pot in our room, the smell came from the closet and into our room, it was very potent and the manager offered to move us to another room. Since we moved three times, noticed that some rooms have been renovated with nice bathrooms so probably better to ask at the front desk for renovated rooms.

Would stay here again if I want to be in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We are glad to hear that you felt well taken care of in our hotel. Our staff strive to provide exceptional guest service and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This must be one of the best hotels in Canada, the rooms are out of this world with attendents there to help you at every turn, the food is sooooo good, the location is downtown Winnipeg who could ask for anything more.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and the rooms are quite expensive but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 97217cwsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take pride in providing exceptional guest service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel gets a good review because of the location. Inner lobby is nice and access to the underground is worth it's weight in gold in the winter months. However, I have to say that I was not so impressed with the tired-looking furniture in the room. The bathroom appeared to have been renovated, but the rest of the room didn't "impress" like a fairmont hotel should. That being said though, the customer service by the staff is extremely wonderful. Hotel was clean despite some renovations, and overall it was good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chippaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to announce that our guestroom and meeting space renovations are complete. We look forward to welcoming you back to see our upgrades and new amenities for the guestrooms.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Fairmont Winnipeg is in a good location in downtown Winnipeg but is just an average hotel and certainly not worth the high rates that they charge and not up to the standards you would expect from a Fairmont.
The staff were great and were very attentive. The lobby was very small and although clean was a bit dated. My room was clean but was also dated and just simply not worth the rate charged.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LMOP67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Executive Office at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind words towards our staff. We strive to provide exceptional guest service and we are glad that you felt well taken care of in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,156 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,018 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Winnipeg

Address: 2 Lombard Pl, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#7 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $139 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont
Fairmont Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing