We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I always stay here while in the Peg -- it beats all others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairmont Winnipeg
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I always stay here while in the Peg -- it beats all others”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I always stay at the Fairmont when in Winnipeg and am consistently impressed. Nice size room, consistently good service, and a great gym with a fantastic view. The lounge is a great place to eat and drink, and if you want to venture outside there are quite a few sights within
walking distance. Finally, I love the free wifi for Fairmont club members (easy and free to join). In my mind, and I've tried the rest, this is the best hotel in downtown Winnipeg.

Oh - don't park on the street in winter time, it'll land you a significant fine.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotski7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    246
    88
    48
    27
See reviews for
111
191
50
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlyle, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

Had a two night stay here just before Xmas . As other posters have stated staff is excellent and they are well schooled in the corporate image.The rooms are typical of a higher end facility and come with all the expected amenities.The lobby and elevators need a cosmetic tune up as several years and several thousand travellers have taken their toll on wood trim etc in common areas.
Restaurant is nicely appointed with good staff and nice menu
Parking is in a parkade(unheated) but with plug ins however if you're driving a large truck or SUV you will have yo park outdoors due to the extremely low clearance in the parkade.
Overall still a nice spot to stay in "the Peg"

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Just finished another quick stay in Winnipeg. Lately, last year or so I have been exclusively staying at the Fairmont. The staff at the hotel are excellent and provide a great atmosphere for an amazing stay.

From the front door staff who remember you by name to the check in and cleaning staff, this hotel is top notch. The staff in the lounge is also excellent and a welcoming face everything I am in town. It make's business travel somewhat enjoying when you are able to establish relationships with not only clients in the different cities, but the hotel staff as well.

I will be back in the new year and will continue staying in the best hotel in Winnipeg as far as I am concerned!! Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stinger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We were treated like royalty at the Fairmont. The upgrade to Fairmont Gold was invaluable.
The newly renovated rooms were impressive...comfy mattresses and pillows, feather duvets and sound proof rooms provided us with the best sleep ever! Underground mall is connected to hotel for easy access in all weather conditions. Easy & quick checkin/checkout with personable staff.
Welcoming atmosphere for our wedding party in Fairmont Gold. Meeting room provided a social area for our group. Great breakfast & appi's.(well worth the upgrade to Gold) Swimming pool/hot tub was a perfect atmosphere to unwind. Great accommodation for family/ group or business.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryv55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We got a room here to watch Winnipeg's Santa Claus parade from. The kids had a great time! The pool was the perfect temperature for the kids, room service has HUGE (and well priced) kids meals, and us parents got to enjoy all the comforts one expects from a Fairmont. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and well appointed and staff was friendly. I'd be more than happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Portage and Main if you want to watch the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
306 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The service team at the hotel was exceptionally hospitable, and couldn't do enough for me. I appreciate the access to taxis. I only stayed one night, but would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRT1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I've said before I'm not fond of all the Fairmont properties - some are just too big to be consistently good for the price. But the Fairmont Winnipeg is a surprise. It's a modernist box (former Westin and other chains) but inside it beats a warm human heart. The staff are absolutely superb and have been there for a long time. The bellmen - Jim, Teddy, Nehm - greet you like old family friends. Rod in the Vevet Glove Restaurant is the most humanly caring of waiters. The Glove itself, whether bar or main restaurant, is all cozy comfort. The ambience is much like the prairie in late August - rich vibrant colour but spare clean lines. And the location - well right at the beating heart of Winnipeg - corner of Portage and Main. Walk to the see the Jets (if you can ever get a ticket), to the Centennial Concert Hall, the Manitoba Theatre Centre and so much more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Manager at The Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Excellent service certainly plays a fundamental role when staying with Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. Thank you for your recognition our team, in particular the bellmen. I was pleased to learn that they were able to make your visit enjoyable and provide you with terrific service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Winnipeg. If I may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Assistant
204-985-6204
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Winnipeg

Property: The Fairmont Winnipeg
Address: 2 Lombard Place, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3B 0Y3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#7 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Winnipeg 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Winnipeg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Winnipeg Fairmont
The Fairmont Winnipeg Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing