We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Winnipeg
Nearby Hotels
$92
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$142
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$114
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$131
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$91
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Inn(Winnipeg)
$102
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveler rating
581
336
109
58
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
581
336
109
58
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold floorvelvet gloveurban escapepresident's clubsteam roomcorner roomexchange districtcentral locationhuman rightsbusiness tripfront desk staffdowntown areahot tubmts centreloungeteddykiss
Filter
Updating list...
1,005 - 1,010 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We got a room here to watch Winnipeg's Santa Claus parade from. The kids had a great time! The pool was the perfect temperature for the kids, room service has HUGE (and well priced) kids meals, and us parents got to enjoy all the comforts one expects from a Fairmont. Beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and well appointed and staff was friendly. I'd be more than happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Portage and Main if you want to watch the city!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

The service team at the hotel was exceptionally hospitable, and couldn't do enough for me. I appreciate the access to taxis. I only stayed one night, but would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRT1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I've said before I'm not fond of all the Fairmont properties - some are just too big to be consistently good for the price. But the Fairmont Winnipeg is a surprise. It's a modernist box (former Westin and other chains) but inside it beats a warm human heart. The staff are absolutely superb and have been there for a long time. The bellmen - Jim, Teddy, Nehm - greet you like old family friends. Rod in the Vevet Glove Restaurant is the most humanly caring of waiters. The Glove itself, whether bar or main restaurant, is all cozy comfort. The ambience is much like the prairie in late August - rich vibrant colour but spare clean lines. And the location - well right at the beating heart of Winnipeg - corner of Portage and Main. Walk to the see the Jets (if you can ever get a ticket), to the Centennial Concert Hall, the Manitoba Theatre Centre and so much more.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prairieboy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana T, Manager at Fairmont Winnipeg, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. Excellent service certainly plays a fundamental role when staying with Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. Thank you for your recognition our team, in particular the bellmen. I was pleased to learn that they were able to make your visit enjoyable and provide you with terrific service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Winnipeg. If I may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Diana Toovey
Executive Assistant
204-985-6204

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Loved this hotel! It connects right to the underground. The staff are wonderful and the bedding so extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikH319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I always enjoy a random splurge at Fairmont Hotels. This one in particular was no exception. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room was clean, great bathroom with nice complimentary toiletries. Also had a good view of Portage and Main.

Good location, right downtown at the corner of Portage and Main. There is an underground connection to some stores and shops on Portage. Convenient.. although if your visit is on a Sunday, note that most everything shuts down. There is no tuck shop or convenience store in the hotel.

Drawbacks - way over priced food and beverages. Eg. One 10oz. glass of Malbec in the lounge cost me $21.00 including tax. Breakfast - which consisted of two poached eggs on dry toast, grapefruit juice and a small bowl of fruit - was listed on the menu at $14.95. With 'room delivery charge' of $4, tax, and any other fee I missed, it somehow came to $28.95 including tip!! :-(

Room Tip: I was in room 1511, facing the famous corner of Portage and Main.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin__Hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews