We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Convenient place to stay near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient place to stay near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

A nice place to stay if you need to be close to the airport. Clean, friendly staff, quick check-in, plenty of space in guest rooms, fast Internet connection, and with an elevator for accessing the second floor.
We stayed in a suit which has a convertible couch into a bed located in the living room. I found it convenient for large families. If you have a car, parking lots are not assigned to rooms, so you can park wherever is available, as well as power outlets.
There is a Super Store close by (approx. 6 min) if you need some cheap groceries.
I would consider this hotel in my next trip to Winnipeg.

Room Tip: Suites are very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanEntrepeneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori B, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    114
    40
    11
    6
See reviews for
117
62
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thompson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Everything was fine... until a water main break on the street in the early evening. Not that it was their fault, but they waited for guests to call the desk rather than be proactive on the news. Then they distriubted a memo from the manager at around 4 a.m. notifying us we could draw water from the city-provided water tank outside in the parking lot. Personally, handing out some bottled water to the guests through the evening would have been a better gesture.

Room Tip: Bring bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of South Uist
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

As a woman travelling on her own i always feel that i have to pick and choose my hotels carefully. I was very impressed with the friendly, helpful staff, both before my visit when i contacted the hotel and during my stay. The room was pretty big and also had a small kitchen area with a sofa, another tv, tea and coffe making facilities, a fridge and a microwave, the room was of a very good standard and was very clean. I chose not to have the complimentary breakfast so i can't comment on that. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank WildPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We traveled to Winnipeg for an anniversary trip at the end of august and stayed at the Country Inn and suites there. Front desk staff on initial check in were very friendly and helpful. They answered questions about a few sites we were going to be visiting and if they didn't have the answer they assured us they would find one. Rooms at this Country Inn were somewhat dated, in need of a facelift. Beds on this stay were ok, but typical of a well used hotel. Pillows were feather and not in good condition, they were the size of a throw pillow on a sofa, which didn't make for a good nights sleep. It would have been nice to come back to a little more comfortable room. I would recommend it to couples, probably not to families with children. This is not a bad place, I just wanted more comfort for the money.

Continental breakfast was good! Offering a variety of hot breakfast each day we were there. Eggs, a protein and the usual variety of breads, rolls and muffins as well as fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt and juices.

This is a comfortable hotel, but doesn't have much going on around it as far as restaurants or shopping. Nothing in walking distance and looks to be a more industrial area. This hotel is close driving distance to anything you may want though. If we return to Winnipeg, I think I would pass on this hotel, for the reasons in this last paragraph.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mndivergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
249 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Pros: A nice shower. Had decent beds, was clean, and in a good location. Service was friendly and helpful. Has contiental breakfast.

Cons: Very expensive for what you get. Their pet-friendly policy brought in a very noisy dog.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoapTripper3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Conveniently located close to airport and accessible to major routes. Quiet, even though its on Route 90. Excellent continental breakfast with hot food choices. Staff is friendly, and willing to help make your stay very enjoyable. We were able to have 3 rooms close together for our friends to share.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbtraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights here and had a pretty good experience. The room was clean and had amenities that make a long stay in a hotel much more comfortable (fridge and coffee!). The hotel itself also has great amenities such as a small workout room and free breakfast. The staff were also helpful and friendly.
It isn't exactly located in the most central or cultural part of town, but it is a short walk away from the football stadium, if you're in town for a game!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACuming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#23 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#22 of 65 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Address: 730 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > St. James Industrial
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#19 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Country Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Country Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing