We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Overnight for Road Trippers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Hanalei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Comfortable Overnight for Road Trippers”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The first night of our road trip from Minneapolis. This hotel and others are dotted within a mixed light industrial/office building setting - restaurants not plentiful except in hotels, therefore. Front desk recommended Chops around the corner in a competitor hotel. Our king room (points + $) was oversized and boasted two work areas - perfect for us both to spread out. Breakfast was better than the norm and the to-go bag of muffin, fruit, energy bar and water was very welcome as we set out for another full day of driving. We could have managed a longer stay in Winnipeg very nicely from this hotel; no fancy waterparks which seem to be quite the thing in other places, quiet and clean.

Room Tip: While some of the main floor rooms do open to the outside - which is great for unloading luggage as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsywuebker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    151
    52
    18
    8
See reviews for
165
82
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here as two couples in a suite, two queen beds and a lounge area with sofa bed. The room was perfectly adequate but a bit on the small side for four adults with luggage. We were only staying overnight so not a huge problem. The suite opened out onto the car park so getting luggage in was easy as we parked opposite the door. The reception staff were helpful and efficient, complimentary tea and coffee available 24 hrs in the lobby. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was the usual selection of tea, coffe, bagels, cereals. The hotel is close to the airport but noise was not a problem. We were travelling on the trans-Canada highway and access to this was easy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is showing its age just a bit, but it is clean and our room was pretty good sized. The staff was very courteous to us as well as helpful in giving us directions as our GPS wouldn't give directions for Canada. For us, the location was a little bit out of the way, but for those using the airport, it is very convenient. The free breakfast was above average. It had the usual items but also eggs, sunny side up, bacon and seasoned potatoes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cofcor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homesweetspi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I had booked two rooms for Country Inn & Suites Wpg with Hotels.com, at a good rate, and was sent an email confirmation. However, when we tried to check in at the hotel, I was told they had no reservations for us. I had printed off the email confirmation and, when Alex, the front desk clerk, read it he immediately set about correcting the problem, offering us our preference of rooms and at the Hotels.com rate. He was friendly and very accommodating so "Thanks, Alex!"
The rooms were comfortable and very clean; the bed, for me, was very comfy (hubby found the mattress too soft and too high, having recently had back surgery). Roomy bathroom with grab bars, which were a big help, and plenty of towels. Excellent LCD TV and plenty of good lighting. A real plus...windows that open! Breakfast was good and a good variety(scrambled eggs would have been better if they were hot) and they served tortillas ( couldn`t find any hot sauce though).
All in all a good overnight stay. I would go back again if I had more business in that area of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homesweetspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were struggling to find accomodation when we came across the Country inn & suites. Reception was very friendly and efficient, we got a suite for 4 adults, 1 bedroom and a sofa bed, traveling for 3 months on motorcycles means you have a lot of luggage, we filled the rooms leaving no room to manoeuvre. The room was clean and quiet even though it faced onto the parking lot. Coffee on tap in reception, a tiny fitness room, okay for an overnight.
I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staff were very friendly, room clean, breakfast okay. The environment is dated and tacky. Microwave and small fridge in the suite. Not sure I'd stay next time I'm in WInnipeg, but it was very busy and people seemed to really like it - probably the price. Close to airport and right on Hwy 90, so easy to get around. The exercise room was really smelly and there is no pool to enjoy in hot weather.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneyeartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenora
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I've stayed here periodically for years. Always very friendly staff, willing to help and problem solve for you. Rooms consistently clean, and free breakfast is fine. Sometimes it is a bit noisy. No free shuttle from the airport, but a short $10 cab ride away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula_eyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#20 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
St. James Industrial
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
MainStay Suites Winnipeg
#27 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB
Address: 730 King Edward St, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#18 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Int’l Airport (1.2 km), the Country Inn & Suites is a short commute to major attractions: Winnipeg Art Gallery (4.8 km), Downtown – The Exchange District (6.7 km), Polo Park Centre (2.3 km), and the Farmer’s Market (7.9 km). With the Winnipeg prairie skies as your backdrop, 75 comfortable and spacious rooms feature a mini fridge, free WiFi, in-room coffee maker and flat-screen TV. Upgrade to a Suite Room to enjoy the addition of an adjoining living room, wet bar and sofa bed. Pet-friendly rooms are available upon request. Rest easy at the Country Inn & Suites. Grab a free cookie and cup of coffee upon check-in and a book from the Read It & Return Lending Library. Complimentary hot breakfast is standard in the lobby each morning. A 24-hour Business Centre is located in the lobby for your convenience. A Fitness Centre, free parking and Coin Laundry are available. Eco-Friendly, rated with 3 Green Keys. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Carlson, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Winnipeg Hotel Winnipeg
Country Inn And Suites Winnipeg
Country Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winnipeg, MB Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing