We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at an affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Since Winnipeg has a large Filipino Community and that includes my family and most relatives who's staying there for good. I just came from the Philippines and was invited for a family wedding and since the ceremony was done near Quality Inn & Suites our host decided to let us stay there and enjoy and relax for a few days since the wedding was scheduled to be done in a couple of days because of the many preparations involved. So me and my family as well as my other relatives such as my nieces and nephews enjoyed our stay because of its newly renovated theme rooms which we find neat and unique. We also find the Winn City Pub entertaining since we love to play billiards and it's nice to know that we could choose any type of activity that we wanted to play they even have golf simulators. The hotel is not that bad as what other have said. The location is great too since it is near St. Vital shopping mall when we want to take a stroll to the mall it's very convenient. It's also close to the University of Manitoba for a "Bisons" ( the football team) football game. The place Seemed to be centrally located. Not even that far from the Winnipeg downtown tourist areas and the Winnipeg Forks area. So I would give the hotel a thumbs up sign for the great ammenities at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chel28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 330 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2009

I am a Choice Privileges member, and I stay frequently at a lot of Choice Hotels. For the most part, I really enjoy my stays. With this one, however, I am extremely disgusted by the way the room service staff at this hotel treated us as "guests". We checked in on Saturday, July 11 and decided to order room service after a very exhausting day. We called room service and ordered a small pizza with mushrooms and italian sausage and also an order of calamari. Simpe enough! The individual who took our order was very rude and abrupt; he sounded as if we were bothering him as we placed our order. We didn't make a big fuss about that as we were really hungry and just wanted our food. It came about half an hour later. We were asked to sign a piece of paper with handwritten notes and were told that that was our bill. When we asked for a receipt, the guy said we pay at the front desk. We were aware that we have to pay at the front desk at check-out, but I also believe we should have been given a receipt for our own record. To make matters worse, we then realized that they made us a pizza with only mushrooms in it! That’s not what we ordered! So we called room service again to inquire as to why they didn't put italian sausage as we had asked. The same rude guy answers the phone and says, "Well we don't have italian sausage right now". If that's the case, why didn't they call us to let us know of this fact, and maybe let us know what they have OR offer other options????? The guys couldn't give us an answer. So basically they just went ahead and made a half-assed pizza that we didn't even order, either hoping that we don't notice OR just settle for it anyway!!! We asked for a refund and all the guy said was "yup" in a very condascending manner. He was so arrogant; no customer service skills whatsoever. He shouldn't be working at a hotel if guests ordering food annoy him! He didn't seem to care that us customers were actually willing to shell out $10 for a little pizza! At least get the order right, or have some respect to let us know otherwise!! We were left starving at this point, and we ended up getting McDonald's across the street. We were treated better there, at a fraction of a cost.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nadnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Great Hotel, Excellent service and very comfortable rooms. Would
stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelownaKtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2007

My husband and I decided to stay in one of their "theme suites" for a little get away. What a mistake. The "theme" room cost $169.00 and had no theme at all. The bed was small and very old, the room was small and dingy! There was a little old tv in the corner. The hot tub was okay but loud. To make it better we were woken up at 7 am the next morning to construction they were doing on the building. We were on the 2nd floor and the force of the jackhammer was shaking the water in the hot tub...who needs jets! Needless to say the late check out was a waste b/c we packed up and left at 8 am.. how can you relax to that! The front dest did nothing when we mentioned how upset we were with the stay. I also phoned the manager at that location and left a message explaining how dissapoined we were, and that the front desk should warn guests about the construction. Although I left my number she NEVER called back. My husband and I have stayed at hotels all over the world and not one has been as bad as this one. NEVER again will we stay at a quality inn. The Quality Inn should really invest a little more in who they hire as managers.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wpgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2007

me and my boyfriend went for an early valentines day getaway, and the room was nice.. but the heater was wonky and we'd wake up every few hours to have to turn it from cold to hot, hot to cold, etc.. and the blanket on the bed was simply a fleece blanket, that which you usually find underneath a bigger blanket..so we had to call downstairs for another one.. it came fast though.. and the complimentary breakfast isnt anything crazy, just some scrambled eggs, toast, bacon or sausage.. but if your looking for something nice and cheap, it works, its not the ritz carlton though!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalpistol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We stayed at the Quality Inn during Grey Cup week November 2006. Needless to say we ran into problems before even arriving in Winnipeg. About a month before going i noticed a charge on my credit card for what looked like the amount of this room. I booked it about 8 months ago and used my card to secure the room as per usual. I did notice a 30 day cancellation policy when i booked. I called the hotel and proceeded to be lectured by the manager that because there were so many people arriving for Grey Cup week they decided to charge everyone for the full amount 30 days beforehand to reduce the amount of people having to wait to check in. They said this was what every hotel in Winnipeg was doing and it was normal practice when a city hosts a Grey Cup. She got very defensive when i told her this was my 10th Grey Cup trip and had never heard of this ridiculous policy. It seems like an excuse to charge you and get their money as soon as they could. Especially since there are only 70 rooms in the whole hotel. Its not like it is the MGM Grand with 5000 rooms.

On to the stay:
The room was tiny but clean. The bed was old and not too comfortable. Bathroom was small but the shower had great water pressure. Ceilings in the room and in the hall were cracked and there were electrical wires sticking out of the walls/ceilings in some parts of the hall. Overall impression of the room is it was about the same quality as a lower end budget chain (ie: Travelodge, Hojo)
A major complaint was how slow the elevator was. We sometimes had to wait 5 minutes for it to come. There are only 4 floors in the whole hotel. it would be different if this were a 30 floor hotel. There is no service elevator so the staff have to use the same one as the guests. Its really nice to have to squeeze on a tiny elevator with a housekeeper pushing a huge cart. When i decided to take the stairs they led to an exit that spit you out to the back parking lot of the hotel. Really classy.
Every day they slid vouchers for the complimentary "made to order" breakfast under your door. Looking forward to this, my wife and I went to the restaurant the next morning. When we sat down the waitress informed us that "because of the Grey Cup" they have a special menu. She told our "made to order" breakfast came with hashbrowns, scrambled eggs, a choice of bacon or sausage, and white or wheat toast. No omelettes, no over easy, sunny side up, just scrambled. No choice other than bacon or sausage. So we ordered, and she went around the corner and came back less than a minute later with our "made to order" breakfast. No word of a lie, less than one minute. The eggs were cold and rubbery, the sausage was cold and leathery, and the toast was cold and soggy. The only way this breakfast was made to order was if they made it when i booked the room in April. It doesnt really matter to me if a hotel offers a free breakfast. But dont advertise one and then make it so nasty you dont want to eat it. We ended up going across the street for breakfast the rest of our stay.
The hotel is located on the outskirts of Winnipeg on Pembina Highway, NOT near the Convention Centre. a 10-15 dollar cab ride to downtown in a place like Winnipeg is not what i call central. Cabs sometimes took 45 minutes to an hour to even show up because there are no other hotels in the area where people we being dropped off. Oh and the response we got from the front desk about this was "Its because of Grey Cup week". sounds like a common theme/excuse.
We paid almost $170/night US for this room and left highly dissapointed. We felt like the hotel used Grey Cup week as an excuse to take advantage of people coming to town for the game. A major event in your town is no excuse to rip off your guests and provide poor service.
We will NEVER stay at another Quality Inn again, especially this one.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank swervin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Recomiendo las habitaciones de la parte superior.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alegria8340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnWinnipeg, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#21 of 64 in Winnipeg
534 reviews
Travelodge Winnipeg East
#26 of 64 in Winnipeg
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#27 of 64 in Winnipeg
173 reviews
Super 8 Winnipeg West
#1 of 64 in Winnipeg
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 635 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3M 2L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range: $85 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the completely renovated Quality Inn & Suites Hotel in Winnipeg, Manitoba. We are conveniently located 5 minutes from downtown Winnipeg, in the heart of the Business and Entertainment districts. Whether you are on a business trip, family vacation, or romantic getaway, the Quality Inn and Suites Winnipeg Hotel has the right accommodation for your needs. Our hotel is pleased to offer extended stay Winnipeg accommodations for all of our hotel guest room types including executive style kitchen suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Winnipeg
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Winnipeg
Winnipeg Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing