We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has Problems”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Radisson in Downtown Winnipeg for a four night stay in July. Our travel agent booked our rooms as we had some special requirements; 4 rooms, one of which needed to be handicap accessible and one needed two double beds. The pictures on the hotel website seemed too good to be true and they were. Our rooms were not the beautiful ones shown on the website, they were the old, tired, and dirty rooms that were yet to be remodeled. The hotel booking agent never mentioned this fact but apparently this is why the hotel has many rate structures. Sleep number bed? Nope, didn't get that either. What did we get? We all were in rooms that had sagging mattresses, broken furniture, empty cabinets that once housed the mini-fridge, and very outdated bathrooms. The bathroom mirrors are so old that you can't see yourself clearly, there are no ventilation fans, and the showers were moldy (see pics).

I will give the hotel a thumbs-up for the updated bed linens and a nice restaurant. The parking ramp is height restricted at 6'6" and the valet service is very slow.

The hotel needs to be more honest with the status of the remodeling, I didn't see any construction activity while I was there, and what kind of room you're really getting.

  • Liked — Location - you can walk anywhere
  • Disliked — Condition of the rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank froggy0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    224
    106
    45
    23
See reviews for
92
135
47
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2008

I was in Winnipeg for work and stayed 2 nights at this hotel. My room was on the 26th floor. There are renovations currently underway to update the rooms and I was happy that I was given a renovated room. I was pleased that there was no noise from the renovation work going on. The bed in the room is the Sleep Number bed, which allows the user(s) to customize the firmness of the mattress on their side of the bed using a wired control that inflates or deflates air chambers in the mattress. I was afraid I might not like the mattress but in the end I slept well. There is a spacious shower stall where the old bathtub must've been. If you like taking baths, you might want to ensure your room has a bathtub before booking. I also used the fitness centre, which had relatively new equipment. The hotel is a block or so away from Portage Place which has a number of shops and fast food establishments. There is also a Moxie's down the street. Overall I was very pleased with this hotel.

  • Liked — Newly renovated rooms
  • Disliked — Business centre had very slow internet connection and only has 2 computers.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FlipChickReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

I enjoyed my stay at the Radisson. The location is ideal for downtown and the staff is very nice. The food at the restaurant is very good and the wait staff very attentive. Plus, the prices didn't seem too outrageous for hotel food.

The only downsides that I would say are that the fitness facilities are just average and the in-room internet is EXTREMELY slow. The internet connection is about dial-up speed, so if you're traveling for business, it might be difficult to use your computer.

My experience is that this hotel is sold-out often, so book early.

  • Liked — The location is great and the staff good
  • Disliked — The internet connection is really, really slow
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TalksInMaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2008

All in all we had a good atay at the Rdisson in Winnipeg, I expecially like the sleep # beds. However I do have 1 or 2 concerns, we were NOT informed @ C/I that the Hot tub Whirlpool was closed for renevations, also we were supposed to pay for our 2nd nightd dtsy hsving hsd s free 1st night stay, but when we recieved out bill we had only been charged for the Movie that we had rented, and had to go to the Front Desk & inform them of the mistake.. Something should have been written in the notes of our reservation

  • Liked — The Sleep # Bed
  • Disliked — That we were Not informed about Pool renevations @ Check In
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fdclrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

We stayed at the hotel because of the convient location. It is located next to the MTS centre and we attended a concert there. We had a CAA executive room. We had a view of the city including The Forks. The view from out window was scewed by the layers of dirt on the outside but it was still nice. We had a king size sleep number bed which we hated but that is just our personal preference. The room
was clean and very neat. The bathtub could use some updating but it was fine. Despite there being a large number of concert goers staying
there it was very quiet. The elevators were often slow when you were waiting for them at the lobby but there were quick to get you up to your floor. There is a parking garage attached to the hotel which seemed relatively secure considering the location. Overall we were very pleased with our experience.

  • Liked — The location (it was very close to the place the concert was)
  • Disliked — The location ( it is downtown Winnipeg)
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Audgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Still undergoing upgrades but the rooms were clean and very comfortable although air con was very noisy on return trip.
Would be good if room service ran 24 hour as flights often mean you get there late and as a lone woman travelling it is not advisable in the downtown area to explore after dark .
Staff very welcoming and helpful.

  • Liked — beds very very comfortable
  • Disliked — no 24 hour room service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alba47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

A nice hotel in the midst of downtown. I picked this hotel because of the price I got for my four day stay (US $74 - AAA rate) and because they are 100% dog friendly. The rooms with the upgraded beds (sleep number beds) are very nice. All rooms have free high speed Internet (no wireless), and cable TV. There is a very nice pool/hot tub in the hotel as well as a restaurant (didn't try it). The hotel itself is right off Portage Ave, so its a few blocks away from the financial district and the shopping mall (Portage Place). Next door is the MTS center (a big sports arena) with a GREAT restaurant (Moxie's). The hotel staff was very friendly and courteous. They loved my dog (nice pooch, eh?) and graciously moved me to a nicer room when I asked for it. (started out in a room with a very small window and a not so comfortable bed). The hotel itself is kept very clean (parking garage is scary, though - very dirty/beat up). The hotel is about a mile away from the Forks recreation/tourist area, not a bad walk. The only real drawbacks about the hotel was that two of its four elevators weren't working over the weekend, causing waits of over 5 minutes to get a ride up or down. Plus, there was a large bowling convention/tourney being held and a couple hundred of them were staying in the hotel. The sad thing was that this was a holiday weekend (Canada Day) and they couldn't get anyone out to fix the elevators. Aside from that major bummer, the place was very nice. If you drive to Winnipeg, be sure to have a car alarm/ignition disabling device, or a steering wheel "club." Winnipeg is having a big problem with car theft. The parking garage at this hotel takes up several floors of the hotel itself, and didn't seem to have any problems with theft/security.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WayneBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
911 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#10 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
Alt Hotel Winnipeg
#12 of 63 in Winnipeg
199 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
923 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown

Property: Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown
Address: 288 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#6 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful downtown Winnipeg, the Radisson Winnipeg, by Canad Inns, offers convenient services and the kind of warm hospitality sure to please both business and leisure travelers. Our downtown Winnipeg hotel offers 263 newly appointed guest rooms all equipped with complimentary High Speed Internet. Our exclusive Club Floors feature suites with outstanding views of the city and are equipped with all the amenities desired by today’s business traveler. We also feature over 19,000 square feet of meeting space, complimentary shuttle service, new fitness facility, a Starbucks located in our Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Carlson, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Winnipeg
Winnipeg Radisson
Radisson Hotel Winnipeg Downtown Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing