We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Room, Great Location, Amamzing Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Room, Great Location, Amamzing Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I recently stayed 3 nights at the Viscount Gort hotel in Winnipeg. The room was spacious clean and came with a small fridge and microwave. The hotel has a pool with this awesome slide which curves around and around before entering the water. The hotel is basically across the street from Polo Park Shopping Center and is a few blocks (careful...Winnipeg city blocks are quite big...325 minute walk for me) from Assiniboine Park. There are several nice restaurants near the hotel but I was most impressed with the breakfast I had on my last morning there. They have a great special: eggs, hash browns, toast, juice, and coffee for under $4.00. I had this amazing mushroom/cheese omelet with toast and hash browns that filled me up until supper.
I haven't tried the dinner menu at the hotel but if it is anything like the breakfasts, then you are in for a treat! Oh yes...they offer a free shuttle to and from the airport. Also, as a teacher they offered me a 20 percent discount upon showing my membership card.
Great stay. Try it out!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to provide a review about our Hotel and your wonderful stay.
Our location is ideal for those who enjoy shopping or to just relax around our Pool.
The Dining Room offers a wonderful atmosphere to sit and relax while enjoying our exquisite menu.
We look forward to your next stay here with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    105
    60
    22
    23
See reviews for
122
70
35
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We ended up switching to this hotel from another. We were so pleased with it. Staff were amazing, hotel was clean. Our room was updated and had a balcony!! We also received a free bacon and egg breakfast with our stay which beats a continental breakfast anyday! I would reccomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you choosing Us on your most recent visit to Winnipeg and letting us showcase the Professional Service and Comfort Environment our Hotel and Staff have to offer.
We look forward to having you stay with Us again.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a quick stay in Winnipeg, but I loved this hotel! The lounge was awesome, Scott was super friendly and interactive as the manager, and I would say his staff were amazing as well. I had Shawna and Jennifer taking care of me. Super attentive, never waited for anything and they were also very friendly and made me feel welcome. I'd recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Our full service Hotel offers not only convenience but atmosphere and service all under one roof.
Average Sports Lounge offers a relaxing environment to either get away to watch the big Game on one of our 52 inch TV's, or simply enjoy a quiet relaxing appetizer and refreshment.
Scott and his Team in the Lounge take care of everything to make that relaxing evening enjoyable.
Join us every night as we have something for everyone.


Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the viscount for a family get together and I have to say the service was awesome. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very comfortable and the children enjoyed the pool. The hotel is close to lots of restaurants and a huge shopping center. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
The proximity to various shopping and restaurants make Us second to none for convenience, as well as everything we have to offer right here within the Hotel makes it easy for all of our Guests during there stay.
We look forward to your next Family stay here with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pas, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Once again, top notch service and a great stay from the Viscount Gort.
Jodi saw me lumbering in the front doors and quickly had my reservation ready for me to check in. Any request I have made of her, and she has met or exceeded it....thank you.
The king size bed gave me the best rest I have had.....since the last time I stayed.
Viscount Gort is the only place I will stay at in Winnipeg.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DjByNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We thank you for your years of Loyalty to Us as well as providing a review about your most recent stay.
Jodi is an asset to the Management as well as the Hotel and she ensures that each one of our Guests receive the utmost in professional service on each and every stay.
I will pass on this wonderful comment to Jodi as well.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I took our two grandchildren for an overnight at the Viscount Gort so the kids could spend time swimming and doing something different than just being at home. Our check in was swift and courteous. We had hoped to have a balcony but when we got to the room we found that we didn't have one. When I phoned down to the front desk to see if a room with a balcony was available they said the rooms were smaller and for four they thought this would be a better room. They were right and it was just a few doors down the hall from the pool which was very convenient. We didn't change rooms but they were very willing to switch us if we had said yes.
The swimming pool isn't very large but it was comfortably warm and the water slide was great with lots of pressure to get this old man down without getting stuck. The grandkids loved it, too. The pool area was clean, lots of towels and plenty of tables, chairs and chaise lounges.
The family package we had for our room came with a gift basket of popcorn and candy and a movie which we enjoyed after swimming in the evening. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The pillows were very large and high and we all had cricks in our neck when we woke up in the morning.
We had brunch on Sunday in the dining room. Brunch consisted of hot and cold dishes, salads, some breakfast choices like eggs, waffles and crepes. They make a sensational omelet of your choice while you wait. The brunch is $18.99 for adults and a dollar per year for children up to the age of 12. Desserts were delicious (red velvet cake) and the grandkids could make their own ice cream sundaes.
We enjoyed our stay with the grandkids and would stay here again. The hotel has been recently renovated and the lobby is beautiful. There's lots of free parking available, some of it under cover for stormy winter days if you're lucky enough to get one of those spots. The hotel was quiet and the morning desk personnel were friendly and helpful on checkout. Everyone from the reception staff to the restaurant staff made us all feel welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side do not have balconies but will be quieter since they face a parking lot. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller200247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We appreciate you providing Us and our Tripadvisor readers a review about your recent stay here with Us.
Our full service Hotel has something for everyone, everything from our fabulous Sunday Brunch to a afternoon of swimming or sliding down our waterslide.
All of our amenities provide our Guest everything they need when away from home either for Business or Leisure.
Our various Guest Room Packages will offer everything from a fun family night with a movie and popcorn, to a romantic dinner and romance basket for that special anniversary, to a great night at a baseball or football game.
Our helpful and courteous staff take care of everything from the time you arrive to the time you depart as we know that your stay with us is important as we are your Home away from Home.
We look forward to your next stay here with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Have stayed here multiple times in the past for work (MB Gov't) and it was fine because it was directly billed to our department. Stayed here this past Friday night (July 18) because of the government rate ($105) and was met with the request for an upfront charge of $200 for a deposit and the entire room on my credit card ($320+) and was told it would be removed the next day when we paid. It is Monday now and the $320 is still showing up on my credit card even though I have the receipts saying the room was paid in full. A relative stayed there in the past few months and was met with the same deposit request but was told that it was only because she was paying cash. This is ridiculous, no mention of this deposit was made to me when I booked the room and if it had been I almost certainly would have stayed somewhere else, don't think you are getting a good deal on a room here when a $100 room could end up costing you $300.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate you providing us your comments on your most recent stay here with us as we take every comment very seriously.
It is standard policy to request a damage deposit for every Guest in the Hotel upon check in when the Guest is paying for there our accommodations.
Direct Billing Reservations with any Company or Organization does not require a damage deposit unless it is not covered by the Company when booking. Then the $200.00 damage deposit is required upon check in.
We don't not change the credit card used only do a hold on the card, this is then released the day of check out.
We have found that various credit cards can take anywhere from 3 to 5 business days to release the hold on the credit card.
We recommend that you contact your Credit Card Company to inquire about the length of time for the hold on the credit card.
We hope that on your next visit to Winnipeg you provide us the opportunity to showcase the Professional Service we pride ourselves on.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#20 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#13 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#15 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing