We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Thompson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed at this hotel May long weekend. The customer service at this hotel is awesome! Our son was playing in an AAA hockey tournament and some nights we wouldn't get back to the hotel until late evening. The restaurant stayed open late one evening so we could feed our son 'real' food, and not have to depend on takeout. The manager on duty during our stay was Jack Carr. He went above and beyond to make our stay awesome!! Would definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRERN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us as well as tripadvisor.
The Team at the Viscount Gort Hotel pride themselves to provide each and every Guest with the utmost in Customer Service during there stay here with Us.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    122
    68
    23
    27
See reviews for
146
77
37
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had the pleasure of having our wedding at the Viscount on June 7, 2014 and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Kristi Dueck our sales executive was very personable to deal with and we had no issues with anything. Gerard the event coordinator was also fantastic and I can't begin to express enough gratitude towards JoAnn and the rest of the staff for the amazing service they provided from the kitchen with all the meals being brought out quickly and still piping hot and Larry the bartender who was amazing and so kind! The rooms were clean and very comfortable. We can not thank the hotel enough for our wonderful experience!!!

Room Tip: Ask to have a room away from the pool if you want a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for hosting your very special day with us and letting us showcase our Hotel to all of your Guests.
Our Professional Sales Team review that every detailed is followed as well as ensure that all of your Guest receive the utmost in Professional Service.
We would also like to thank you for providing tripadvisor with a review about your very special day.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg can
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Was involved in a wedding June 7-14. Stayed for 2 nights,was upgraded,no charge,due to noise in area of first room. Wedding was very well done,food was fantastic! Sunday brunch was also teffific-so much variety. Staff was very attentive for everything all weekend. Hotel was clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay away from 3rd floor-noisy by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterpeg178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We thank you for providing such a wonderful review about your experience in our Hotel. We are happy you were able to enjoy other areas in the Hotel during your stay. Our Sunday Brunches are out of this world and have something for everyone.

Look forward to your next stay here with us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I got married at the Ramada Viscount-Gort on June 6th. The staff was amazing! Our sales executive Kristi helped us through every step over the last year with the planning and organizing. I was floored when I found out that she and the banquet manager Gerard had actually cleared their schedules for the 6th and made themselves available to help us with anything, even after already having our business. They went above and beyond with everything. The meals, which one of the bridesmaids could not finish due to it being the third course (and when asked if they could just box it up, we were told No: We've got a full meal re-made for you instead!) were delicious! Gerard and Kristi blew our minds with how professional and how much they bent over backwards to help us with any little detail - especially the last minute changes to menus and meal totals. I've already started telling others who are recently engaged to look at the Viscount-Gort and specifically dropped Kristi's name to them, as I am confident that our experience wasn't an exception with the hotel, but the norm. If we have any other functions in the future that we need a venue for, we will be looking at the Viscount-Gort as our first choice. Thank you again to both Kristi and Gerard, from Adam and Sarah.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamDilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing us to host your very special day. Our Staff and Management pride themselves to ensure that every event is top notice and that all expectations are taken care off.
Our Sales Executive Kristi Dueck and our Banquet Manager Gerard Brewster make every effort to ensure off the details are not left unturned and executed tot the fullest.
Thank you again for hosting you r very special day with us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for one night after the concert. We were greatly very friendly, hotel is clean, nice lounge also. Our room was very clean, beds are sooo comfy!! smells nice, great size and the bathroom was nice. Big "bar" counter, fridge. coffee machine.I woke up in the morning to go swimming, beautiful pool, nice water, waterslide and the sun is shinning thru the windows IN the pool! I will definitely pass on the good word about this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iz_zWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I would like to thank you for providing a wonderful review about your recent stay here with us and passing this one to everyone you know. We are glad you had the opportunity to utilize all of the areas in our full service Hotel. Our Hotel understands what comfort and relaxation means to a Guest when travelling and staying in a Hotel, and how important having everything under one roof is also very important to some Travelers.

We look to your next stay here with Us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I belong to a group called the Manitoba All-Fours Association.
Being on the committee this year, I was responsible for organizing the annual Banquet.
I decided to go with the Viscount Gort Hotel, as i have dealt with them before.
I just want to say, that once again they have out done themselves.
I want to thank Mrs.Kristi Dueck and Mr. Gerrard Brewster.
The Work, Effort and professionalism that they put behind each and every event they do is just amazing.
We would like to thank them for everything leading up to this event and on the night of. Everything was great, From the the look of the room and how it was presented, (which is exactly how we wanted it), to the food that we ordered, it was great.
Thanks again.
We would definitely return to The Viscount Gort for any event that we may have.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
We thank you for providing a review on your experience here with Us and were able to see what our Hotel and Team have to offer. From our Professional Team to our Renovated Hotel we make every effort to ensure that ever event goes as planned as well as beyond our Guests expectations.
Thank you again for hosting your event here with us and we look forward to hosing your next one.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. The staff were very helpful, generous, and personable... a refreshing change. Rooms were QUIET (ours was directly on the incoming fight path for the international & military airports!), beds terrific, bedding good quality (see pillow issue); clean & comfortable with great amenities (coffee maker, FRIDGE, quality shampoo etc). Pool/hot tub/slide fun for adults as well as kids. Location is great for accessing restaurants, shopping or bus for exploring the city, and they have a shuttle service for the airport & Mall :). Included breakfast was worth the wait: fresh made eggs, bacon/sausage/ham, toast & coffee, served with a smile. (We had a fire alarm just as our breakfast arrived on the first morning. We were asked to leave to a safe location and assured our breakfast would be remade when we returned, and they did.) The sport bar was fun and served great food. The main restaurant had quality meals. ISSUES: would like real glasses instead of paper cups; better coffee in the room (awful try Seattle's Best); real pillows instead of the cheap decorator shams which are horrible. (This is becoming a trend in the industry. I wish the executives would be forced to sleep on these things for a week! REAL hypo-allergetic pillows are CHEAP!!) These issues aside, it was a very good hotel. When I'm back in Winnipeg, I will be staying here.

Room Tip: If you don't want a "drive up" room, request 2nd floor or above. Room "viewing&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheShoeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for providing us such a wonderful review about our Hotel and your experience in all the areas our full service Hotel has to offer. I also thank you for proving us some recommendations as well.
On your next visit with us please do not hesitate to ask one of our Front Desk agents for glasses as well as firmer pillow during your stay. We are also in the process of changing all of our Coffee makers to Keurig Machines.
Our location for the shopping and restaurants is ideal as well as our proximately to everything else Winnipeg has to offer.
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing