We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Friendly staff. Ample parking. Clean rooms. Wonderful service. Quiet rooms. No complaints at all. Will stay there again. We had the family suite and our kids thought it was great! They went swimming and played and we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We thank you for providing such wonderful comments about your stay here with Us and see you stayed in our Family Room during your visit and also enjoyed our Pool and Waterslide Area.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    122
    66
    22
    27
See reviews for
142
77
37
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had a great stay at this hotel. I had stayed at the Viscount years ago quite a few times, and this was my first time back since their renovations. It looks like a completely different hotel, but with the same friendly staff that I remember. They gave me a free upgrade since they had the space. The rooms were spacious, quiet and clean. The lobby was beautiful, and the restaurant breakfast was good value. I liked the fact that their was free easy parking. They do have some covered spots, but I wish there was more. All in all, great stay, and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide tripadvisor viewers your wonderful comments on your stay here with us.
The renovations of our Hotel provide a Modern, Comforting. Relaxing experience in all of our areas of our Full Service Hotel for all of our Guests.
Our entireTeam pride themselves in providing a Professional and Friendly environment to make each and every Guest feel right at Home.
We look forward to having your stay with Us again.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our group had a few major concerns bad let downs for our 4 night stay.

When our group of three adults arrived we could hardly get past the smokey entrance. Other girsts and bar patrons weren't even asked to stand away from the doors. The lobby and entrance way reeked of cigarettes. One reason we stayed here is that it is smoke free.

The website describes a lounge but it is actually a bar. It was very loud, complete with karaoke, looked like VLTs, and it was packed nearly all four nights of our stay. We were looking for a quiet place to rest and relax, this was not a welcome surprise.

Every night of our stay we were woken up in the middle of the night, anywhere between 1 and after 3am, by people fighting in the hallway, banging doors, and generally not respecting all the other guest.

Service was mediocre at best. Upon check in, one guest was rudely snapped at because our entire group wasn't checking in at once.

The website describes this Ramada as luxury. It isn't. Luxury would not mean paper cups and powdered coffee whitener for in room coffee nor the stench if smoke or loud bar. It was too expensive for what we got. With tax it was at least $150 a night. We felt duped by the slick website.

I won't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSPJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I must apologize for your resent stay here with us as I am disappointed we failed to give you the quality product and service we strive for with all our guests – the type of service we pride ourselves in. I have investigated your comments and we have taken steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again. My staff has also been made aware of your comments and we will all take immediate corrective action.

I have spoken with our Night Manager as well as Security Company about the concerns you had addressed on tripadvisor. In Manitoba there is a by-law which stats they need to be 15 meters away from all entrances while smoking, which Security is to be monitoring throughout the evening and I see they did not do this. Also they are to monitor the hallways throughout the evening as well to ensure that all noise is kept to a minimum.

I did speak to our Lounge Manager as well and we did have a Large Group staying in the Hotel which also utilized the Lounge during their stay and numerous rooms in the Hotel which woudl be why our Lounge was so busy during your stay.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel the next time you are in Winnipeg as I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lake
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Positives: Good location with close proximity to the airport, shopping and dining. Room was very large. They accept pets on the first floor. Price was right. Pool with water slide. Evening staff were friendly and helpful. Free parking.

Negatives: Old building, dirty rooms. Wifi was so slow! Internet at business centre was slower than wifi! Rude daytime staff. No soundproofing. Pool doesn't open until nine am (our kids were ready to do some sliding at seven!!)

If you are in the city to experience it (and not a hotel), got a good price, don't expect complimentary breakfast, can ignore the staff and overlook the filth you will be fine here.

Bottom line - there are better choices in Winnipeg and we are not likely to return.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Golden_Amik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We appreciate you providing Us your comments on Tripadvisor as we take all comments very seriously.
I have spoken with our Front Desk Manager regarding the unprofessional service and quality you received with our Front Desk Agent and I can ensure you that this type of Service will not happen again. As well as addressed you concerns with our Housekeeping Manager.
We have contacted our WIFI provider to review this speed of our WIFI to see if this is an on going problem.
I hope you on your next visit to Winnipeg you give Us the opportunity to provide you with the utmost in Professional Service and Quailty that we pride ourselves on.

Sincerley,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I hated it here and the stuff where 50/50 when it came to friendly service. The general manager was a very unfriendly to us when we talked to her. The kids have asked to we just go back to the hoilday inn and never there again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
I am disappointed we failed to give you the quality service we strive for with all our Guests – the type of service we pride ourselves in. I have investigated your comment and you will be receiving a notification from the City on your comments to me regarding the the depth of our Pool Area. We follow all Governement Regulations regarding the depth of the Pool as well as our high level of safety in that area for all of our Guests.
We want each and every Guest to relax and enjoy this area.

Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have stayed here a few times, and the staff was super friendly, and super helpful. I am trying to think of something bad to say so that this review doesn't look biased. I never right reviews and thought the value here was so good i wanted to share it. I wish Toronto had similar price points for value like the peg does!

Oh and the food on the second floor was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveD005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We thank you for your Loyalty to Us as well as providing us a wonderful review on your most recent stay here.
Our Staff try to provide the utmost in Professional Service to make every Guest feel welcome.
The Location of our Hotel is 2nd to none as we are close to Shopping, Restaurants and all Winnipeg Attractions.

We look forward to your next stay with US.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. Our first choice always when we are in Winnipeg. We have always found it clean, and that our rooms seem bigger than the ones at other hotels we have stayed at. The only issue I have is that to use the pool you must wear a bracelet which is ok. I did not realize that this bracelet is too be used for your whole stay or it will cost you $10 for a replacement. These bracelets are just a paper that a 2 year old can rip off there wrist quite easily. So when this happens and you go and ask about it the next day, the staff seemed annoyed within the question about getting a new one and that we should have known about the charge. I just would have appreciated being told use the same bracelet the whole stay when we checked in, and not having to deal with an attitude when I asked about a new one the next day.

Room Tip: Floors 4 and 5 seem the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromtheNorth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide Us with a review about your recent stay here with Us.

I apologize for the incident which occured with the wrist bands and we have now changed our policy on how to not only explain to each Guest about this policy, but also to esnure that this does not happen again with any of our Guests.

We thank you for your Loyalty to Us and for bringing this comment to our attention as well.

We look forward to your next stay here with Us.

Sincerley,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#17 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fort Garry Hotel
Fort Garry Hotel
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 5 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the MTS Centre and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre and The Canadian Museum for Human Rights. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing