We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Excellent Staff, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value, Excellent Staff, Great Location”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have stayed here a few times, and the staff was super friendly, and super helpful. I am trying to think of something bad to say so that this review doesn't look biased. I never right reviews and thought the value here was so good i wanted to share it. I wish Toronto had similar price points for value like the peg does!

Oh and the food on the second floor was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farthest away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveD005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We thank you for your Loyalty to Us as well as providing us a wonderful review on your most recent stay here.
Our Staff try to provide the utmost in Professional Service to make every Guest feel welcome.
The Location of our Hotel is 2nd to none as we are close to Shopping, Restaurants and all Winnipeg Attractions.

We look forward to your next stay with US.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    123
    69
    24
    28
See reviews for
146
77
38
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. Our first choice always when we are in Winnipeg. We have always found it clean, and that our rooms seem bigger than the ones at other hotels we have stayed at. The only issue I have is that to use the pool you must wear a bracelet which is ok. I did not realize that this bracelet is too be used for your whole stay or it will cost you $10 for a replacement. These bracelets are just a paper that a 2 year old can rip off there wrist quite easily. So when this happens and you go and ask about it the next day, the staff seemed annoyed within the question about getting a new one and that we should have known about the charge. I just would have appreciated being told use the same bracelet the whole stay when we checked in, and not having to deal with an attitude when I asked about a new one the next day.

Room Tip: Floors 4 and 5 seem the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromtheNorth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide Us with a review about your recent stay here with Us.

I apologize for the incident which occured with the wrist bands and we have now changed our policy on how to not only explain to each Guest about this policy, but also to esnure that this does not happen again with any of our Guests.

We thank you for your Loyalty to Us and for bringing this comment to our attention as well.

We look forward to your next stay here with Us.

Sincerley,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our organization held our New Year's Eve party at the Viscount Gort Hotel on December 31, 2013. From the very first meeting with the Sales Executive Miss Dueck, provided such a professional warm welcome to our Committee, was very accommodating and was a pleasure to deal with. Hotel and Staff was amazing with attention to detail and quality. The banquet rooms were exactly what we had made arrangements for with a lot of extra touches that surpassed our expectations. Kudos goes out to Gerard Brewster - Banquet Manager, Mr. Dookeran, Larry and all the staff who helped make our event a Grand Success. We have received a lot of positive feedback from our guests about the Hotel and Service received. I highly recommend this hotel and will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triniman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for providing Tripadvisor viewers with a review about your event here with Us.
We try to provide the utmost in Professional Service and Accomidations for everyone here at the Hotel, Our Team wants to ensure that every detail and more are looked after from beginning to end.
We look forward to hosting your event again in 2014.


Sincerely,


Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Went with my family for the Christmas Day dinner buffet, but the service was disorganized, terrible, and not what should be for a day like this. Waitress had to be told 3 times of what we ordered in the way of drinks, and still had to keep checking on what they had. Never came to check on if everything was ok, very rude, and abrupt. Cashier tried to shortchange a family member when paying, plates for the buffet was put at the serving end of the buffet table (for the hot meals), forcing the people in line to cut in to get a plate, then go to the end of the line. We had not gone for 2 years because the hotel had been revamped, and the service was like the above then. Thought maybe they improved, but would not recommend, or go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Offspring1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We appreciate you providing us with your comments concerning our Hoilday Dinner Buiffet.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine attention and meal we strive for with all our guests – the type of service we pride ourselves in. We will be taking steps to ensure that the problems you experienced do not happen again.

We appreciate your comments and I can assure you we will do everything we can to illustrate that what happened to you was an exception to our normally high quality of service.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A staff member decided on November 18th, 2013 that she would be retiring from the teaching profession and would really love a "little reception" for about 50 people. I contacted several hotels and other venues in Winnipeg. Richard Summerton, in sales, got back to me almost immediately. I went the next day to look at the room and go over a few details with him. Richard made it so very easy for me. The retirement reception, held on December 18th, 2013 was an evening for the retiree to long remember. I received so many compliments the next day about it. The food was a highlight... hot and cold hor d'oeuvres were served along with a beautiful cheese and dainty tray...so appealing and delicious.... a big thank you to the chef. From the friendly bartender (Larry) who did a fantastic job, to the serving staff....so sweet and helpful, Gerard's attentiveness (Banquet Manager) and another charming man who brought in the coat rack...just amazing top notch service. The room looked so lovely and festive as it was the Christmas season. This hotel has always been a favourite of mine as its location is quite central. This is the second event I have held at The Viscount Gort. The first was a sit-down retirement dinner for 75 people a few years back and it turned out well too. Thank you Richard for getting everything right! Your professionalism and attention to detail was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We are delighted everyone enjoyed the Retirement Event here with Us. Richard, Larry, Gerard and our Chef take pride to ensure that every event is planned and executed so that every detail is not overlooked.
Thank you for taking the time to provide Tripadvisor with a review about your rescent event and we look forward to hosting another one again with you.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Frist time staying there and was very plased with all of our stay.Dinning room was excellent and the food was great. Staff was at the desk and dinning room and bar were excellent. we would go back again any time.Mrs K Farren.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilandkath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Us for your resent stay and providing a review on your first visit.
The Hotel prides itself in providing professional service, comfort and quality to each and everyone of our Guests and we are glad you had a chnace to experienc it on your recent stay.

We look forward to your next stay here with Us.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our group, Agility in Manitoba, has used the Ramada Viscount Gort hotel for our AGM for the last 3 years. This past year has proven to be as wonderfully organized and serviced as previous. Our server, Mark, was pleasant and efficient. The room was wonderful and the price comparable. Our sales contact, Richard Summerton is always helpful and responds right away to any questions we have. We wouldn't hesitate to use their facility again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AIM20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We thank you for providing Us the opportunity to host your Association over the few years and providing this wonderful Tripadvisor Review .
Mark is a valued employee to the Hotel and has been with Us for many many years. His Professionalism and Loyalty to Us and to our Guests shows in everything thing he does.
Richard always ensures that he is available to his Clients to provide his utmost attention to all there details.
We look forward to hosting your event agian next year.


Sincerely,
Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#20 of 63 in Winnipeg
441 reviews
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
514 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Property: Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the Bell MTS Place and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing