We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference Review of Staff & Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have been meeting at the Ramada Winnipeg Hotel - Viscount Gort for three years now for our annual conference & meetings. The overall location, space and free parking has met our needs beautifully! But it is not just the physical space that makes our event successful; it is the dedicated staff working at this facility! It is so nice year after year, to see the same familiar faces of such enthusiastic employees, who actually remember "OUR" names from the previous years! This is right from the sales executive team, the event's manager, the kitchen serving staff, and even the shuttle driver! Wow...how refreshing that is! It is like coming home year after year! The sales executive staff, namely Kristi Dyck that we have worked with, was very efficient and accommodating of our needs and requests. Her event's manager, Gerard, that we dealt with this year, was especially helpful and always present, asking if we needed anything or when we did make a request, was very prompt in responding to inquiries, such as lighting, room temperature etc. The meeting rooms were set up exactly as specified, were exceptionally clean and the catering consistently arrived on time and was plentiful. Anna's beautiful smile and silent presence in and out of the rooms is always lovely and appreciated, as well as the rest of the service staff! The washroom facilities were immaculate and sufficient in number, especially for the ladies...we never had line-ups! Cliff, very readily assisted us with shuttle service to accommodate one of our speakers during his lunch break! How great is that! We have been very pleased with our services over the years and hope to be back again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

We appreciate you providing us with your wonderful comments on you resent Conference at our Hotel and we all thank you for your years of Loyalty. Our staff are dedicated to providing each and ever Guest with the most Professional Service, Quality and Consistancy each and every time. I will pass this review to everyone in the Hotel so they to are aware of how important they are to all of our Guests and the growth of our Hotel

Thank you again for providing us with your comments and we all look forward to seeing you and your Organization again very soon.,

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 488 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our stay at our hotel for our mtgs was excellent. The Hanover Room was
exactly the right size & very clean. Equipement supplied made our mtgs very easy to conduct.

Our rooms were very nice...clean, with a good lay-out (& affordable - thank-you!),

The food in the restaurant was good, very reasonably priced, & plentiful with a great selection.

The BEST part, was all the staff...professional, caring, helpful, personable, & humorous.

Everyone was smiling and ready to help at a moments' notice. They really cared about us & treated us very well. Very seldom do you find a collective staff that goes out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as the staff at The Ramada Viscount Gort.

Being in a hotel can be very boring and tedious, but your staff looks after their guests very well & makes the experience as close to being at home as possible.

We'll miss them all!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to provide everyone with your wonderful comments on your recent event and stay here with Us.
The Hotel prides it's self in providing a Professional and a Caring Comfortable atmosphere that we know each Guest expectes being away from Home.
Thank you again for the wonderful review and we look forward to having you stay here with Us in the Future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was diagnosed with breast cancer almost two years ago. When the staff at the Viscount realized that I was down for medical reasons in 2011, they kindly informed me that they have a special rate for that type of a stay and also provide a free shuttle service to and from the Health Science Center where I usually have to go. With all the expenses travelling back and forth from the North this was very helpful. The food is excellent in the restaurant with reasonable pricing. If you happen to get Mark as your server in the evenings for supper you won't be disappointed. Free shuttle to and from the airport and only a short walk to Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Winnipeg. I now stay at the Viscount no matter what the occasion for travel may be.

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the restaurant are the best and most convenient to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Car0lyn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We appreciate all of you comments about the service you received from the Staff of the Hotel. Our Mission is to ensure that each Guests receives the Professionalism and Courtesy for all of our Staff. Our Complimentary Hotel Shuttle service helps us provide this service to all Guests.
Our Gort Dining Room provides Quality and Price and a Menu which can please any one.
Thank you again for all of your comments about your recent stay here with Us.
We look forward to your next Stay here with Us.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our BNI Manitoba Giver's Gain Awards Gala was at the hotel. It was a beautiful event and the staff and the facility were 100% everything we could have wanted. At every step along the way everyone was extremely obliging and wonderful to work with. The room was beautiful, the food and service were exceptional. Thank you so very much for all you did to make it a wonderful evening for us and our guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for providing us such a wonderful TripAdvisor review about your Gala Event.
Our Sales Executives, Banquet Staff and Management will always make every effort to provide Customer Service and Professionalism to all Guests.
We look forward to working with your and your Organization again in the Future.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I wish I had read some reviews on google review before going to lounge. I should have stayed in and ordered room service rather than have insulting waitress make comments about my choices. And it wasn't just me as I was finishing up, she was complaining to another customer/friend about someone else who had been in there.

Fortunately the front desk staff was very kind and helpful but I still rated low for service.

Room was good for one person/one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristyrae9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We appreciate your comments about your recent stay here with us, as well as your experience in our Lounge.
I apoligize for the unprofessionalism you received in the Lounge, as this is not what we would like any Guest to experience nor is it what we pride our Hotel on. I will also address this with our Lounge Manager as well so we can ensure to review this policy with our staff. We will take every measure to ensure that this type of behavior does not happen again..
I will also let our Front Desk Manager know about the wonderful service you received from the Front Desk Agents.
Thank you again for your comments as it helps us understand our Guests experience.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have been to the Viscount Gort many times both before and after the renovations. The reno work is very nice and they have created an open and very modern lobby in what used to be cramped and cluttered. Although I didn't spend the night I was able to view one of the room and they too have been tastefully renovated. The trip to the restaurant was very disappointing. The evening's special was prime rib. My portion was adequate and the meat was okay but not exceptional. What detracted from the meal were the items accompanying the prime rib. A basket of rolls that was served before the meal contained ice cold, stale buns that should have been rejected at the 'day-old' bin at the bakery. The Yorkshire pudding served with the prime rib was apparently from the same bin and of the same age as the dinner rolls. Stale, tough, unappetizing and disappointing. A sparse serving of overcooked vegetables completed a very disappointing meal.
After dinner I visited the men's washroom adjacent to and serving the restaurant. I was appalled! Although equipped with nice LOOKING, modern fixtures, this washroom smelled as bad or worse than any of the run down, decrepit washrooms that served the beverage rooms in Winnipeg's worse hotels on the 'Drag'. When a washroom is neglected this badly the lasting negative impression negates all efforts to create a positive, upscale environment with expensive renovations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRACY W, General Manager at Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

We appreciate all of your comments about your recent visit to our Hotel and happy you like the Renovations.
I have discussed your concern about our Public Restroom with our Housekeeping Department, and we will be starting to do more regular inspections to ensure this concern does not come up again.
We are undergoing a complete menu change in our Dining Room to provide a higher quailty product including our Certified Angus Beef Program to all of our Guests. I have also addressed the concern about the Buns for the dinner with our Baker as well as we receive baked goods daily from them.
Thank you again for your comments we find them all very helpful.

Sincerely,

Tracy Wilkie
General Manager
RAMADA Viscount Gort Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#23 of 63 in Winnipeg
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
333 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre

Address: 1670 Portage Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3J 0C9, Canada (Formerly Ramada Winnipeg Hotel-Viscount-Gort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#15 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $97 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Winnipeg, the Viscount Gort Hotel is just minutes from the Winnipeg James Armstrong Richardson International Airport and across the street from Polo Park, the largest shopping mall in Manitoba. Less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Winnipeg and the Bell MTS Place and the Canadian Museum for Human Rights and only 5 minutes away from the our famous Assiniboine Park, home to the Journey to Churchill Exhibit and Zoo, conservatory, outdoor Lyric Theatre. The Viscount Gort Hotel is an independently owned property that prides itself on its customer service with six styles of guest rooms & suites to choose from. Whether you are a business traveler or vacationing with the family, we have the right room for you. Business or pleasure, Winnipeg's Viscount Gort Hotel offers something for everyone visiting Winnipeg. Our full service restaurant offers full breakfast, lunch and dinner menus. If you are a sports fan, catch the action of your favourite team at Average Joe's Lounge, our sports bar and gaming lounge featuring NFL and NHL specialty TV channels and a wide selection of local and imported beer as well as a full selection of food. Our gaming lounge includes state-of-the-art video lottery terminals ("VLT's") and a billard table. If rest and relaxation is on the top of your priority list, let your stress melt away in our inviting and spacious pool area that also includes a waterslide and hot tub. Other complimentary features included with your stay: Free airport shuttle service, available from 6:30am until 10:30pm Monday to Sunday; free hotel wide wireless internet, weekday newspaper, local calling and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscount Gort Winnipeg
Hotel Viscount Gort
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet And Conference Centre Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing