We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation Troubles.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Winnipeg East
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Jackson, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reservation Troubles.”
Reviewed August 22, 2006

This is an average hotel and really, the price is great...

However, I only booked at this hotel (6 wks prior to stay) because every other hotel that I contacted would only allow patrons with dogs to stay in a smoking room. As I am allergic to smoke, I finally found a hotel that would allow me to stay in a non-smoking room with my dog. So I thought.

So we made the booking. Unfortunately, there were no non-smoking rooms available for those dates, but "please check often to see if there will be a non-smoking room available for those dates." Well, I called and faxed. NO NON-SMOKING ROOMS every time I called, right up to the check-in date. As it turns out, we did not bring our dogs afterall. FALSE PROMISES IN MY OPINION.

Funny, I know of two other people, not travelling with dogs, and they only booked one week prior to arrival. They booked the very same dates as myself, they managed to be granted TWO non-smoking rooms.

I had booked through our campany with a purchase order, otherwise I would have gone elsewhere.

We were accomodated by running an air purifier, we bought some febreeze. Which did help. When I asked again about non-smoking room available the front desk told me it would be a hassle to move me and my family at that point and I should just remain in the same room for the duration of my stays.

I have learnt my lesson. Thanks! Don't book unless you are guaranteed what you would like. There are many more excellent hotels more centrally and conveniently located in Winnipeg.

Try the Clarion or the PoloPark Canad Inns. Two great holtels with great pools and waterslides!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank NM2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    249
    139
    45
    36
See reviews for
308
151
53
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

This hotel was pretty average. It is a 2 star hotel.
Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a very rude staff member.
We went for a weekend to get away, last minute. We had a pool side room, it was ok, bathroom tile caulking and grout was moldy. The room also had a fridge, which wasn't listed on the room amenities, but a very nice surprise.
The Pool Area was excellent, hours 9:30am - 11:00pm(no adult swim time if that's what your looking for). Tropical theme with real plants and trees! Very clean, nice sized pool, a kiddie pool, and hot tub, all were great. Lots of families there, so I would recommend it for people with kids.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Lousy check in, rude clerk. Room was not as clean as it could have been.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great for families with kids, awesome pool area. Not a romantic getaway place.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JazF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2005

We booked a hotel suite for a week. For the money we were paying we would have expected better service. We had several problems getting the room cleaned before 2 pm despite repeatedly asking that this be done (AND staying out of the room between 9 am and 2 pm) so our two preschoolers could nap. On more than one occassion despite the room being cleaned they left us no towels.

The sheets didn't fit the King Sized bed and constantly came off. There were problems with the power which kept browning out.

The restaurant was a good place for breakfast and the pool was excellent. The room itself was adequate. It was nice to have a fridge and a microwave although for some reason it didn't have a desk.

We wouldn't stay there again for a little more money I'm positive we could find better accomodations.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tawnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 9, 2005

Rooms are very average for a two star hotel unless you take a suite. The pool area is its nicest feature. They had trouble with the cleaning staff. They did not clean the room one of the days of our stay because we had the "do not disturb" sign on the door until eleven am. I had to buy a Lysol spray to improve the smell in the room. Some hallways are also smelly. The small restaurant was acceptable.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 22, 2005

I have visited this hotel on a number of occaisons. My fiance and I stay there when we are in the city over night, and love it! The rates are fair, and the rooms are excellent. I am always impressed by the service we recieve from the front desk. They have an excellent pool area, with a sauna and a hot tub! Be aware of crowds of children on weekends though, that does drive us away from the pool. The restaurant in the hotel offers guests a 10% discount, and as it's the only restaurant within walking distance, unless you count Salisbury House, it's a nice place to enjoy dinner! The only problem we have had is when we stayed in one of their suites. It did have 2 rooms, but for the same amenities and less cost we could have stayed in one of the rooms they offer with a king size bed, couch and refridgerator! One other point, often times we have heard rowdy people running the halls at 2-3:00 in the morning which the front desk does nothing to stop. Other than that, for a peaceful relaxing stay in Winnipeg, I definitatly recommend this location!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2004

Excellent facilities, including pool. Friendly and helpful staff too. Very good with children and their needs. Good knowledge of the local area and the city in general. Clean and bright, spacious rooms. Great restaurant too.

Helpful?
6 Thank bcingeorgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2004

Stayed here over the New Year 03/04 with my family. Room was well equipped and roomy. Service at reception was good. Breakfast in restaurant was excellent, good value with exceptional service from Louise. Would definately use this travelodge again.

Helpful?
9 Thank longd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#40 of 63 in Winnipeg
66 reviews
Quality Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#24 of 63 in Winnipeg
526 reviews
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#26 of 63 in Winnipeg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Winnipeg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Winnipeg East

Property: Travelodge Winnipeg East
Address: 20 Alpine Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2M 0Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Winnipeg East 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded with the Travelodge Hotel of the year in 2004 and 2009, the Travelodge Winnipeg East prides itself on offering a beautiful indoor tropical courtyard, complete with pool, hot tub, and sauna. Also located on-site is the Marquee Restaurant & Lounge, Doubles Fun Club, and Alpine Bowling Lanes. The Hotel is situated near St. Vital Shopping Centre and The Royal Canadian Mint, and just minutes from downtown Winnipeg. With great on-site amenities, excellent service, and the perfect location, Travelodge Winnipeg East is your ideal destination for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Winnipeg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Winnipeg East Hotel Winnipeg
Travel Lodge Winnipeg
Winnipeg Travelodge
Winnipeg Travel Lodge
Travelodge Winnipeg East Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing