We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
HolidayInn.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/23/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$86
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/23/22
ZenHotels.com
$74
View deal
Expedia.com$86
Hotels.com$86
Agoda.com$86
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
77
102
58
19
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
102
58
19
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel restaurant is pool and hot tub fridge university ikea newspaper
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 275 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2017

I've stayed at this hotel for decades during my annual visit to Winnipeg. It is a low key, comfortable place to stay. The prices are reasonable, the rooms are clean and quiet, the staff is friendly, the location is convenient to downtown, as well as numerous restaurants on Pembina highway, the food is good, and on the few occasions I have had a complaint no matter how minor, Mr. Gore, the manager, has been extremely responsive. One caveat: on cold winter days when there is a north wind the rooms on the north side, especially the corner ones can be slightly chilly.

Room tip: On cold winter days when there is a north wind the rooms on the north side, especially the corner ones can be slightly chilly.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our hotel. I have shared your comments with our team. It is always a pleasure to be of service to you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

This is a Holiday Inn. That says it all. There is nothing fundamentally good or bad about this hotel. You could be anywhere and it would probably look and feel like this hotel. The room was fine, and comfortable, quiet as well. Service at the front desk was generally helpful. I did not have breakfast included (buffet), but I ordered off the menu and the food was fresh. Limited selection at the bar. Good amenities. Again, nothing memorable... but, broadly... all good and not much to complain about, either.

The location is out of the way. There is not a lot in the way of restaurants, or much else for that matter, nearby. No doubt, you'll need a car. Finding a taxi was not always easy; there is a stand, but taxis appear to be hard to come by in Winnipeg. The downtown core is not that far off, if using a car.

Frankly, I'd prefer to have been downtown. That being said, the price was right and the room was right. So, all is good.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. For future visits, there are quite a number of restaurants and bars within a short distance of the hotel. We do have a list available at our front desk. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

Popular, it seems, with families. Friendly staff and good service. Good buffet breakfast, but it may end sooner than you wish, on weekdays. Free papers ran out on most days before we could get one. Beware the ground level parking with large, imposing pillars. Look for the other sections of the lot. Turning left into the property requires crossing the median in one of two openings. This is typical for Winnipeg. Clean, comfortable rooms. Probably the best hotel in the immediate area.

Room tip: Upper floors, such as the seventh, have a pleasant view of lights at night. Three elevators provide good service.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Hello Terry F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. I am happy to learn you appreciate our hospitable staff, efficient service and wonderful breakfast. However, it appears we fell short of your goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the troubles you encountered with the free paper and parking area navigation. Rest assured your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments for evaluation. On a lighter note, I appreciate the kind remarks regarding the tidiness and comfort of our accommodation.

While we understand that your stay was not perfect, we hope to have another opportunity to provide you a much better experience. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and for staying at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zel N.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

The hotel was very far away from both rinks my son and his team were playing on, the room cost was expensive and no breakfast vouchers were offered to the team. The parking space on the ground level was very small and tight; the parkade offered more spots but it was hard to maneuver with my van due to the huge poles at the end of each space! :(
With respect to the actual hotel, the room was very clean and spacious, the beds were very comfortable, there were a lot of plug-ins and one set close to a mirror outside the bathroom (important to women!) and the hotel staff were all very friendly and gracious! Two thumbs up for that part! :)

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0211robing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to express you thoughts about your experience at our hotel. We certainly appreciate the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying at our hotel and that you found our guest rooms to your liking and our staff friendly.
We do offer quite a number of rate categories that include breakfast for a nominal add on charge. Please ask about our breakfast included rates next time you reserve with us.
I am completely empathetic with regards to your comments about the parking. The pillars can pose a challenge for larger vehicles. For future visits, please note that the third level of our parkade is pillar free, as well as quite a few spaces on the ground level. We also hold five parking spaces on the north side of the building, ground level, specifically for larger vehicles. On your next visit, if you have difficulty finding a suitable parking space , please ask one of our friendly front desk staff members, we will be happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We were on the 11th floor! and we could see so very far. Being from B.C. it was a great experience.
We were there for a Masonic Conference. wonderful airy meeting rooms
Lovely roomy room well appointed, Fridge, Microwave.
There was a younger childrens hockey tournament on but they were on a lower floor so didn't bother us

Room tip: 11th floor --best views
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg-South, an IHG hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your time at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South. I have shared your comments with our team We were very pleased and proud that your group keeps coming back to our hotel year after year. You are so right about the view from the guest rooms. The views are quite spectacular, especially this time of year with a beautiful canopy of green foliage covering the city. We look forward to the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews