We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Prairie Hotel with Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
287 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Basic Prairie Hotel with Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

It's a Holiday Inn. On a highway to the south of Winnipeg.

Coming from Europe, it's a film set for the remake of the Coen Brother film, Fargo.

Really friendly staff, both behind the counter and in the restaurant. The room was spacious and nice. Not much of a view, but the light was beautiful in the morning and evening. The distant downtown twinkled at night.

Swimming pool was a nice addition.

You really need to have a reason to stay in this location, far to the south of the city. If you do, it's great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Mikael C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    79
    50
    14
    19
See reviews for
56
38
27
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

check in was smooth and nice and for all the airmiles collecters....I got 20! The staff where nice and friendly and helped with all my questions. The room was nice and clean and smelled great. Parking was kinda weird as we went to the parkade but had to take stairs up. Not so great when you have heavy suitcases. Overall, nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

value for money if you are on a business trip. the rooms are clean, spacious and well ventilated.the in-house restaurant offer decent choice (some items are overly priced). try the pool if you have time. only disadvantage is, barring couple of fast food joint, the neighborhood does not give you much eating options

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience at our hotel. We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed one night & I wish it could be longer! The staff are so friendly and accommodating! My kids ate in Southwinds but were too full for their included desert so after a swim they had desert sent to the room for them :) whenever you see someone they always smile & say hi or have a quick chat. The room are nice, clean & everything works. Menu at the restaurant has lots I nice choices. I will be staying here again for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment so positively about your experience at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South. We were so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your comments with our entire team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future, hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Mike Gore
General Manager
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights. Had a room near the elevator so it was rather noisy. Rooms are spacious. Clean but old. Near Starbucks! Covered parking is nice considering winter there.
For some reason, housekeeping knocked at my door at 8am which I thought was a bit early.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIFfy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Winnipeg. hank you also for taking the time to submit a review to Trip Advisor. We apologize for the disturbances you mentioned, rest assured we have addressed these concerns with our team members. Your comment that our hotel is “clean but old” is well taken, we are taking steps to update our appearance. In the fall, we will be embarking on an extensive refurbishment project to update our facility and make it more inviting for our guests. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel to witness the results.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just had a great stay at this Holiday Inn in Winnipeg! The decor and condition of the holiday is dated and could use some TLC; it is obvious that its an older hotel. However, it is right next to a police station, so I felt very safe. Also, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We had a towel rack break in our room - it was fixed by the time we got back to our room that afternoon. Also, we asked general directions to an attraction, but they immediately printed off turn-by-turn directions. Awesome staff!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmazionsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We were certainly pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff members were able to assist you so efficiently. We are proud of our hotel, our friendly staff and the service we provide. We appreciate you taking the time to comment in this way. You will be pleased to hear that we are embarking on a complete renovation and refurbishment of our hotel to make it even more comfortable and inviting to our guests. We look forward to the opportunity of welcome g you back to the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The room itself was clean and the bedding was nice and mattress comfortable. The customer service and the restaurant food need lots of work!

My daughter and I traveled here from Minnesota for a swim meet. We stayed with a group of other swimmers all traveling from MN.

Our first experience for the restaurant was pizza, which my daughter really liked. Breakfast the next day was O.K., prices O.K. Then we ordered room service one night and rented a movie. She wanted to have a relaxing night to prepare for more swimming early the next morning. We went down to use the microwave in the lobby (none in the rooms) and it stopped working in the middle of popping our corn. Told front desk. They just kind of laughed and sent the 'handyman' over to take a look. No apology and no offer to help pop corn in the restaurant micro which I am sure they had. When we went to order room service we could not get our room phone to work. we walked down to restaurant to place order. Again, no apology. Order was taken and said would be delivered in about 20 min. We were charged full room service rates. Food did arrive. Chicken wings were very COLD and burned to an inedible crisp. Chicken fingers were cool and had a weird taste. The only thing edible was the french fries. At this time we had already rented the movie, and as stated above, the phone wasn't working. We were unable to pause our $12 movie. So, we were stuck. Either miss the movie to get a new dinner. Or, not eat for a few hours.

Shower water went from hot to cold multiple times while showering.

On last day some swimmers had a late checkout and headed back to MN. Those of us who stayed the last night did not get room service. We came back from the morning swim session around 2pm and room had not been cleaned. I talked with the front desk regarding this and the previous nights room service. Again, no apology. Asked if we had our 'privacy tag' on door, told they would let manager know about night before and that someone would contact us. I asked to please not have someone come up to fix phone for the next hour because my daughter needed to nap before evening session. Someone both came to door and called on phone (which seemed to now work) and woke her up.

I never was contacted. Total bill just left under door. I went down to front desk before leaving and asked to speak directly with a manager. Manager was very friendly and apologetic. I was very pleasantly surprised when she offered to give us our last night free - I told her I was only looking to get the inedible food taken off bill. She said she would remove the whole last night stay because of the multiple issues.

Pretty good redemption for a not very pleasant experience. Thank You. If we come back we may try it again because of this and the hotels convenient location to the pool. However, it is up to the team. They decide and the other teams seemed to have better luck at other hotels. I was not the only team member with complaints during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We certainly apologize that your stay was not the relaxing break that it should have been and for our lack of response to your concerns. This is not acceptable at our hotel. Rest assured we have addressed your comments with our entire operations team and steps have been taken to make sure that this does not happen again.

I was very pleased to hear that our Manager on Duty was able to assist you and offer some compensation for these inconveniences. Thank you again for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We certainly hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
#36 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Holiday Inn & Suites Winnipeg Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites
#39 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg South

Property: Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Address: 1330 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg South 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada looking for a friendly hotel and a superbly convenient location choose the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel. Situated on Pembina Hwy at McGillivray Blvd with easy access to downtown Winnipeg, our hotel is close to all area attractions and businesses. Leisure guests love our pet friendly hotel's location in South Winnipeg because we're close to the Forks National Historic Site, the Royal Canadian Mint, Fort Whyte Alive, the Assiniboine Park & Zoo and shopping at the St. Vital Centre or the Kenaston and McGillivray Box Stores. Sports fans enjoy the nearby soccer complex and the Pan Am Pool.Business guests appreciate our Winnipeg lodging since we are close to the University of Manitoba and Fort Garry Industrial Park. We're pleased to offer over 7,500 sq. ft. of meeting space and a unique A/V Conference Theatre that seats 65 people. Naturally, there is free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access and a business centre. We also offer a free shuttle service to the Winnipeg Airport with advance reservations. Our guests enjoy staying in one of the most spacious and comfortable hotels in Winnipeg. Amenities include an excellent full-service restaurant, indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness centre. Families appreciate the kiddie pool and our Children's Activity Centre. On your next visit to Winnipeg choose our Holiday Inn Winnipeg South hotel for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing