We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The price was right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We booked this hotel through priceline's secret hotels. Hotels in this area are very expensive so we were happy with the deal we got. This hotel is very clean. Bed was comfortable, nice staff. Decent location. Free parking.
Downside, this hotel is normally quite expensive so try to get it on priceline or hotwire. Pillows, although labelled 'soft' 'firm' etc. are very tiny and very uncomfortable. The gym was disappointing as the weight machine was broken (they should replace it before someone is injured) and was out of wipes. Do not waste your money at the on site restaurant! The buffet was very pricey with a very limited selection that was lukewarm at best.
As previously stated, if you can get this hotel for the right price then it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLMOM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We particularly appreciate your recommending our hotel to other readers who may be visiting Winnipeg.

We also appreciate your taking the time to mention your concerns. It is through feedback such as this that we are able to continue to improve and offer the level of hospitality and service that our guests have come to expect at the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South. Rest assured, we have discussed these issues with our team and taken steps to correct them.

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for just one night, before heading to Folk Fest. The hotel's pool hours are great (longer than a lot of other places we've stayed at). The room was beautifully cold, when we arrived. 8th floor view was quite lovely. Room rate was quite reasonable. "Globe and Mail" in the morning was a nice touch. Bathroom was clean. One bed had a hair in it, but no bugs to be found anywhere. The bed was comfortable. The staff was all friendly. No complaints. Just an average, clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sipme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have followed up with our Executive Housekeeper and our housekeeping team regarding your concerns, rest assured we have addressed this with our team members. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed here. We decided to come back as our first experience was pretty good. This time it went a little differently.

We have a 20 ft trailer pulled behind our truck & the last time we stayed they told us to park in the parking lot next door as there was no room in their parking lot for our trailer. It was no problem. This time they told us after we checked in that it would cost $50 to park there. Our room was like $110 so that's insane!! We were quite upset about that and were told that the hotel was getting charged this amount for use of the parking lot & that's why they needed to start charging the customers. We drove our trailer alll the way into town to the hotel so we weren't going to leave at this point. We just said we'd NEVER return. All night we just couldn't get over the parking charge. The rest of our stay was uneventful. The pool is really nice & they have a 2' kids pool which is great for my 2 & 3 year old kids. The food in the restaurant is really good. The best pasta ever!! Upon check-out my husband wanted me to complain about the parking charge again, but it seemed like a lost cause considering how the girl who charged it to us had no sympathy. When I was getting my $50 deposit ilo a credit card back the girl commented that she couldn't believe they charged $50 for parking & refunded it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewlesmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thanks so much for your comments. Many of our guests traveling with small children appreciate our toddler pool as a safe and fun feature for their children to enjoy. We also take great pride in the quality of food and service in our restaurant; we were pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the food.

We certainly apologize for the confusion regarding parking for oversized vehicles. Our three storey parkade features over 200 parking spaces which is well suited for our hotel. Parking in the hotel lot is complimentary for hotel guests. For almost 30 years, we had an ongoing agreement with the city that guests with larger vehicles could use the city parking lot adjacent to the hotel for complimentary overnight parking. Recently, the city began ticketing and towing vehicles parked in that lot. The city now requires that drivers wishing to use this lot for overnight parking purchase a $20 per night permit for its use. We have purchased a number of these permits which we provide to guests, at cost, for their use for overnight parking in this lot, should our lot be full. Very often we are able to accommodate oversized vehicles in our lot or an adjacent lot not controlled by the city at no charge to our guests.

We apologize for the errors made in the handling of your parking arrangements and that the reason for this charge was not properly explained to you. We have reinforced with our staff what the correct parking charge is and how to better handle a situation such as this.

Thank you for your patience and understanding; we look forward to welcoming your back to our hotel on your next visit to Winnipeg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We've just returned from a 5 day stay in this hotel in Winnipeg, booking two rooms for our adult family. We chose it mostly because of its' location for our needs. We are most impressed by the cleanliness in our room and the positive attitude and friendliness of most of the staff. There was even a choice of pillow-types for each person on each bed. We also enjoyed the meals we ate at the hotel (unusual in our experience). There is a shuttle service from the airport which has to be booked ahead of time. Unfortunately this was the only "negative " thing we experienced. The shuttle didn't show up at the appointed time. We ended up having to phone the hotel twice to find out whether someone was coming to pick us up. (As it turned out the shuttle didn't end up running at the time we needed it so a limousine service was called to get us at the airport. That would have been fine, but there was a lack of communication between the hotel and limousine service...hence our extra 45 minute wait at the airport for our hotel pickup.) It was disappointing to us that when we finally reached the hotel nobody at the front desk apologized about the airport pickup delay.....or even seemed to care when I mentioned it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platzyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at our hotel. We take great pride in our facility and the "Friendly Manitoba" nature of our team members. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do apologize, however, for confusion and lack of response regarding your shuttle service. Rest assured, we have discussed this issue with our team members and taken steps to ensure this does not occur again. Thank you again for taking the time to bring this to our attention.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South on your next visit to our city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is one of my favourite hotels to stay at when I'm in Winnipeg. The staff are always helpful and friendly and the rooms are decent. I appreciate that they still cater to the smoker which is very hard to find. I stayed here recently for 2 nights and on the Friday they served an Italian buffet which was very good. The location is great for a little shopping and good sushi up the street. As others have mentioned, the parking lot is a little tight with concrete pillars making it tough to park but this is not really much of a problem unless you drive a very large vehicle. Overall a very pleasant stay and I will certainly return again.

Room Tip: If you smoke, they will put you up on the top floor. A nice view of the new stadium going up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for your loyalty. I have passed your comments on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I've stayed here three times. Very consistent clean and comfortable rooms. Check in took literally less then a minute, most efficient I have ever experienced. The only negative is the tight parking.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M_Smith8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment in this positive manner. We certainly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South on your next visit to our city.

Your point regarding the parking situation is well taken - the pillars, particularly on the second floor of the parkade, do pose a bit of a challenge for guests with larger vehicles. For your future reference, the third level of our parkade is completely pillar free. We also have a number of stalls on the north and south sides of our building specifically reserved for guests with larger vehicles. Complimentary permits to park in these areas are available at the front desk. Please do not hesitate to ask for further information in this regard on your next visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Beautiful, covered parking, room on 9th floor and everything was clean. What a relief from some of the other dog friendly hotels we have stayed at on this trip. As a Platinum member my husband got cookies and water which was a nice treat. Everything was top rate. I only wish all Holiday Inns were dog friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeGore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are always pleased to learn that guests appreciate the pet friendly atmosphere of our hotel. It is our goal to make the stay of all our guests memorable, whether they have two legs or four. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Winnipeg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Pembina Inn & Suites
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Winnipeg South
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winnipeg Airport - Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Viscount Gort Hotel Banquet and Conference Centre
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winnipeg - Airport West
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winnipeg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winnipeg South

Address: 1330 Pembina Hwy, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Price Range: $93 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winnipeg South 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada looking for a friendly hotel and a superbly convenient location choose the Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel. Situated on Pembina Hwy at McGillivray Blvd with easy access to downtown Winnipeg, our hotel is close to all area attractions and businesses. Leisure guests love our pet friendly hotel's location in South Winnipeg because we're close to the Forks National Historic Site, the Royal Canadian Mint, Fort Whyte Alive, the Assiniboine Park & Zoo and shopping at the St. Vital Centre or the Kenaston and McGillivray Box Stores. Sports fans enjoy the nearby soccer complex and the Pan Am Pool.Business guests appreciate our Winnipeg lodging since we are close to the University of Manitoba and Fort Garry Industrial Park. We're pleased to offer over 7,500 sq. ft. of meeting space and a unique A/V Conference Theatre that seats 65 people. Naturally, there is free high-speed, Wi-Fi Internet access and a business centre. We also offer a free shuttle service to the Winnipeg Airport with advance reservations. Our guests enjoy staying in one of the most spacious and comfortable hotels in Winnipeg. Amenities include an excellent full-service restaurant, indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness centre. Families appreciate the kiddie pool and our Children's Activity Centre. On your next visit to Winnipeg choose our Holiday Inn Winnipeg South hotel for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Winnipeg South Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing