We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience.”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2007

An elegant historic hotel in the grand style. Beautiful lobby, gracious rooms. Excellent service and amenities. Loved the free on-call coffee and biscotti room service. And it was the best bed I've ever slept in--I'm on the trail of duplicating it the minute we get home. Courteous, well-trained, helpful staff. A top-of-the-charts experience without the top-of-the-charts price.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2007

We travel to Winnipeg annually to visit family and usually stay at the Fort Garry. We enjoy the breakfasts, the fitness facility and pool and the central location. Although our stays have usually been great, this last visit was a very strange one. First of all even though we require a family room for the four of us, our room smelled smoky and musty, there were cigarette butts in the plant. On the second day, we found two pizza crusts in the corner of the room and complained, the housekeeping woman was very nice, but clearly did not
believe us when we explained they were not there the previous night. We got the feeling that someone was coming into the room for breaks! And finally the ceiling was very water-stained, and actual pieces of plaster were falling onto one of the beds. The housekeeping staff noticed the leaks and the front desk had offered to change our room, but when we got back at 10pm, we were too tired to do so. While the staff obliged us with a complimentary late check-out on the last day,
I felt that given the odd problems with our room we should have been given more consideration. Our latest stay was certainly in contrast to our previous good experiences, perhaps the hotel is renovating floor by floor, and has yet to reach the ninth floor...don't stay on it!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We were amazed at the beauty of the lobby and the lovely architecture of the hotel. The staff was very informative and helpful. Our room had an old-fashioned charm that fit the the hotel's history. Plush bathrobes were provided and we enjoyed the complimentary tea/coffee with biscotti delivered at any time, day or night. The bed was extremely comfortable with wonderful linens and a cozy duvet. Included in the price of our room was a scrumptious breakfast: cereal, pastries, fruit, cooked to order waffles, omelets, eggs Benedict, etc. The Fort Garry certainly met our every expectation of an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

I stayed here for the first night of a trip to Winnipeg.

I booked a 'Superior' room, which has a Queen sized bed.

My request for early check-in (at 11am) was accepted; and I was given room 404. The room was clean, while a bit on the small side, and I found the decor to be somewhat out-of-date, kind of like grandma's house (though its part of the charm of the place!). The bathroom was of a good size, and clean as well, with a very large shower head, and excellent towels. The bed was very comfortable, and soft.

The elevators were extremely fast, though small and somewhat unfriendly. One was broken for part of my stay.

My room rate also included their famous Sunday Brunch, which was truely amazing!

I had a massage at the spa on the 10th floor, and was very impressed. I'd definitely recommend the spa to anyone!

Overall, I had a great stay, and I would have considered staying here for 2 nights, except that I felt that it would not be worth it for the second night, as I was leaving early, and that I might miss my flight because of the amazing bed!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cober6711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2007

I was at the Hotel Fort Garry by mid of February. Reading other people's review, I was feared to find only small and ugly rooms, so I opted for the Executive Suite (only 50 CAD more expensive). I got the room 310.

I loved three things about the hotel:

* Charming old building with a very special character
* Very comfortable bed and room
* Huge suite

Other nice things:

* Good (but not excellent) breakfast
* Friendly and helpful staff

What i did not like:

* Needs really to be renovated (nothing ugly, but old stuff in a good shape)
* Crappy, old and ugly electronic equipment. Everything is from the 80's ... if not older.

If you are there for business and want to stay for a few days in a charming environment, you may want to give it try. It is worth the effort.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pabo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Something just a little different which is always nice. Rooms a tiny bit tired in places but excellent beds. Well worth visiting.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mindstorm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

Like the last reviewer we stayed at the Fort Garry for two nights en route to Churchill to see the polar bears, and also for one night on the way home. We had a great stay, I can only agree with Mrs JT on more or less everything. We actually had a beautiful four poster on our return (see photo) but it was really soft and we kept rolling into the middle. The breakfasts were wonderful, as was the complimentary tea and coffee but oddly enough the Evian water in the room was not on the house - it costs nearly five dollars! Worse still, the tap water tasted quite earthy and unpleasant - probably the local norm.

We had our laptop with us and wanted to check-in for our flights home online so we bought some internet time, then discovered that we couldn't print them wirelessly to the business suite printer as we had thought. If we had known we would have used the hotel's pc. The girl in reception got full marks for doing her absolute best for us though.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Barbarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,080 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,401 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels Winnipeg
Delta Hotels Winnipeg
#16 of 63 in Winnipeg
337 reviews
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $120 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 240 guestrooms or suites featuring exquisite beds, down duvets and pillows, and fine linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies from 6am- noon. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing