We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but a bit dated”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Excellent hotel - breakfast is included. You have to try their back bacon, they cure it themselves. Sticky buns are also excellent and they have a good variety of single malt scotches at the bar. The location is great, and if you do not feel like grabbing dinner here, you have to go to VJ's for a burger - they are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here in a 3rd-floor Queen room with a 6-week-old baby. The property is beautiful and architecturally interesting; the staff are very helpful and friendly; the giant brunch on Sunday looked out of this world. Our room was pretty shabby though. Admittedly, part of the charm of the place is that it's old and has many of the original fixtures. Still, it seems like it's due for an update - the curtains and carpet were ripped in places, the paint and wallpaper were peeling, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms directly above the event space might be loud (thumping music etc.) at night if there's a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmacalpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is, quite simply stated, very average and a bit overpriced for what it is. Earlier this summer I stayed at the Fairmont Chateau Laurier and Royal York in Ottawa/Toronto and this isn't anywhere up to that standard. I get that it's an old hotel, but there's lots of things they could do to tune it up. I can see why Winnipeg is seeing some new hotels being built downtown and I honestly think they are gonna give Fort Garry a run for its money.

I stayed here overnight for a wedding. I thought, oh, it'd be very nice to stay at the Fort Garry given the wedding is there and, being a Winnipegger, I've never actually stayed there! The whole experience was a bit on the shoddy side:

1) Booking the room : you can't book online using the group code the wedding party gives you. When I called in, the call centre (?) staff never sent me a confirmation. I had to call back the next day to get it.
2) Booking brunch: transferred into oblivion from the front desk. Called back and they had no knowledge of the wedding or any special rates (normally $50/person...aiee!)....on check-in they were able to rectify this.
3) Room is super out-dated. Tube TV from the 90's....wallpaper peeling, and generally shoddy decor (carpet looks pretty soiled). On the plus side, bed was comfortable. Heating system was hard to control and maintain a constant temperature.
4) Check-out: Staff had put us for valet parking (when we had self parked).

All in all, its a very historic hotel, but it could use some updating and their staff could definitely be better trained. Food was good (brunch is ridiculously good but expensive at $50..better if you can get it at $25 as part of a group), and the drinks are OK in the lounge.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank duder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I do a lot of travel for business and have stayed at various chains ranging from 3 to 5 stars and the room at this hotel is the worst I have ever stayed at. It still has tube TV's on a wobbly stand. The washroom is terrible-words cannot describe how terrible it is. The shower stall is smaller than you'll find on a cruise ship and dark with an old sower curtain. There is now all hangings, no storage and carpet is torn and stained.
I was disappointed to see the hotel is such bad shape, it has lots of potential but until it's renovated I would not recommend this hotel. In Winnipeg there is the Fairmont or Inn at the Forks that would be a much better downtown choice.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nadine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Fast and competent checkin. The room was decent sized and clean - the bed comfortable.

Clearly an old hotel somewhat brought up to date. But not quite up to top standard. The bathroom has Formica instead of tile and the tissues, for example, are in a ugly tin box bolted to the wall. The TV has to be at least ten years old - almost retro!

Sound proofing could be better

All that said it's perfectly ok and I would not hesitate to stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I visited the fort garry for two nights in January and had a wonderful experience. I had joined their loyalty program last year and during this visit they upgraded me to a huge room with a extra living room and dinning room attached for free + two free drink tickets. The service was amazing and for 139 a night I have never had a bigger or nicer room or bed.

Brunch is a great deal as a guest just 25$ for the best Sunday brunch in the city.

All in all a fantastic stay and they will always have my business with service and value like this.!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank ankitkapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you're looking for a nice place to get away, this is it.

The rooms are beautiful.I am not sure how some people can get off saying out dated on this one... it is a historic hotel, you wouldn't want much updates. I can't remember what type of TV the room had, but I am not here to watch TV, go out and enjoy yourself, you're downtown Winnipeg, go out for a nice evening walk. The heater may look old? Who knows, but everything is in perfectly working condition, each visit I take. Basically, if you're looking for a brand new hotel, with modern amenities, you probably shouldn't be stopping in one of Winnipeg's oldest and and most historic hotels...

If you are going to stay on a Saturday, make sure you prebook your Sunday brunch. Also, not sure where anyone can get the idea this is like an all inclusive, maybe because it has never ending tables of imaginative food choices -but I paid $80/each plus $200 in mimosas for two people, a yummy breakfast... but you'll pay for it, but worth every penny--. You can get breakfasts included in some offers, but there will be a charge for the Saturday stay, into Sunday brunch (but I wouldn't pick any other day!)

The location is nice too, there is lot to do within walking distance. The Forks, MTS Centre, a variety of bars, river walks, historical city walks and even piles of bus stops leading to most Winnipeg attractions, if you would rather not drive around.

I would suggest parking in the indoor parkade, especially in those cold winter months. If you have trouble with parking, I have just left my car up at the front with the attendants (who are always nice and will watch it for you if you're in a hurry at no charge), I have been coming here for over ten years, and have never had an issue with parking.

As for the spa, it is the best Winnipeg has to offer (in my opinion), but lately has gone downhill. It is still the best Winnipeg has, due to atmosphere. You can't beat the relaxing waiting area their spa has, compared to sitting in your runners watching people get their nails done at other spas. But, if they wanted to keep their spa marks up, they would look over the changes they have been making in the past few years and rethink those... but you can read all about that in my Ten Spa review. I don't need to tarnish Fort Garry's image with poor spa management.

All in all, always a great sleep here, always great drinks here, always great food here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I_get_around2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,301 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,024 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $134 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing