We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm in Canada”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Great place to stay the night while in Winnipeg. Rooms are very comfortable with great memory-type mattress pads. The location makes it an easy walk to "The Forks" for shopping and great people watching. All the staff members were very polite and helpful. Next trip will make plans to have enough time to experience the spa.

Room Tip: There really are not any "rooms with a view" to request
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieAtlantaGa831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and thank you for reviewing. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed an excellent visit, exceeding your expectations. On your next visit, request a high floor, facing Fort St., you will overlook an excellent view of the Red River, The Forks, Esplanade Riel and Winnipeg's French Quarter. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre
204.946.6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Handy to railway station, The Forks, the river and the downtown area. Great buffet breakfast - especially Sunday brunch!. Popular with locals and for special events so it can be busy! Note there is no free water, no fridge and no in-room coffee/tea, but otherwise well worth a stay.

Room Tip: Ask for details of the room allocated when checking in. Many have no view, double (rather than queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had two visits to this hotel in October 2013 one as an individual and one with a group each for two nights. The rooms I had were well appointed doubles with adequate room and storage of luggage. Personally I prefer a facility for making tea and coffer as and when I want but this facility is not available; however, the room service is very good. The hotel is situated close to the railway station in the downtown area of Winnipeg, good restaurants, theatres and shopping facilities are within walking distance. A pleasant walk can be had along the river with its adjacent parkland. The food is of good quality and the staff are courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzeeLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I love the Fort Garry...from the ambience, the stories and history, the room and most definitely the staff. Having stayed here for over a week, it was by far the best travel experience i have ever had. The staff are well trained, respectful and friendly and makes the traveller feel valued and welcomed. I love this hotel and will most definitely return when i am travelling to Winnipeg.

Room Tip: The east side of the hotel has the best view of the Forks, St Boniface and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a very poor experience.
A double room booked for 2 poeople turned out to have One Queen Bed. This is not normal in North America. After some time we were eventually offered an additional "cot" (i.e. a sinlge bed put into the room). The original room with the Queen was obviously for a single person as there was only one of everything, robes, towells etc. so I suspect they tried to scam us by putting two people into a single person's room.
The room was very tired with lifting carpets and old style TV (no flat screen).
The elevators, there being only 3 for the whole hotel including the staff, are always slow and overcrowded.
The breakfast that so many rave about was also part of their pretensious attitude. Coffee, juices and toast are served, not part of the buffet so, at busy times, they arrive at the end of the meal. All the hot food is cooked to order but there is no menu. Regulars and friends of the cooks obviously know there is more on offer than the daily special but not newcomers, so I missed out as I did not want their special omelette.
Overall not good. A hotel that pretends to be grand but isn't

Room Tip: Ask what type of room you have actually been allocated before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidg708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your review. Please accept our apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we would like the opportunity to follow up on your experience, of particular concern we would like to follow-up regarding your reservation and guest room type, as well as your experience in our breakfast room. Please contact me at the below information to discuss further.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre
204.946.6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here to enjoy a friends wedding.Best place in Winnipeg to enjoy the full. Ambiance of this great historic hotel. Ballroom setting was over the top eveything was delicious we danced our heads off and kept the party going all night on our floor where everyone stayed. Staff was wonderful and very forgiving.We ordered all night everything was just wonderful. Staff go out of their way to help out. Best place to stay and enjoy Winnipeg. Close by to everything.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Built to serve the railroads, this old hotel still holds lots of charm. We stayed here two night as part of a tour package, and I'm sure it must be one of the best hotels in Winnipeg. The staff, except for a rather frosty bar tender, were all friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, with very very soft beds, a little to soft for my liking. The breakfast with its eggs cooked to order was great. The free room service tea and coffee service was fantastic. If you have time take a look around this charming old building.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,333 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,039 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $124 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing