We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I visited Winnipeg this past week for a conference and my experience at this hotel was fantastic! Staff were excellent and service number one! The rooms are a bit older, but the hotel is 100 years old and I feel adds to that charm. Beds were comfortable and duvet was cozy. They had a breakfast special with the room rate and it too was very good. The location is close to The Forks, which is a nice walk. The hotel is close to several good restaurants and Starbucks is just up the street. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a beautiful, elegant hotel. There is an old fashioned charm not found in modern day hotels. The guest rooms decor have class and character. From the moment you walk through the lobby, you will feel transported to a more simple time. A time where style meant everything. The Ten Spa is a full service high end spa offering the best pedicures in the city. The best thing about the hotel (other than the fact it is haunted) are the beds. I stayed during a time when my back was in very bad shape and the bed helped so much. One of the best sleeps I ever had. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Winnipeg!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Kelly7391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Fort Garry on my first night in Canada prior to flying to Churchill for a polar bear trip and it was the perfect start to the trip. The rooms were pure luxury with memory foam mattresses. The food was of the highest standard and the staff very helpful in assisting me to get around town.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky123881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

arrived to a first class reception area with very attentive staff...bedroom was large ,well appointed with the largest bed we've ever seen and bathroom with a super power shower.
Breakfast was quite an eye opener everything you could desire...a Chef to cook all hot food to your specific requirement and always with a smile !!
We had the pleasure of attending a wedding reception in one of the banqueting suites and to be served the finest fillet steak we had ever tasted(Aberdeen angus info from Paul the Banqueting Manager) He together with his very professional staff should be heartily congratulated.
On Sunday morning we saw the hotel being transformed into a very big food hall in readiness for
the weekly Brunch.....it appeared that half of Winnipeg attended.
Our overall impression was A wonderful experience !!!

Room Tip: We were at the front ....possibly the only side of the hotel with any real view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I love the spa, and the lobby is gorgeous. But that is all. The bathrooms really need to be revamped, the tiles are chipped , the grout stained. Paint peeling , musty smelling lamps and carpets. Room service food is tired too. This could be a beautiful place, like many other CP properties. My fourth try, next time I will drive to the spa!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fish_and_chips6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to post your review. I was glad to see that you enjoyed Ten Spa, but your business is important to us and I was disappointed to read that your guestroom expectations were not met on this visit. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me at my information below.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was on the fence regarding our one night stay because of the price paid and the room and service received but felt much better about our experience upon check-out. The lady we dealt with at checkout was very pleasant and understanding. We then proceeded to have brunch and the server we dealt with was polite, professional and what we expected from this type of hotel and the price level paid.

Would likely stay again, if we were attending an event on-site.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEIMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel to stay at. This hotel is abit dated and some of the rooms need paint and wall paper replaced. The television also is older. The service is good and parking is free inside. Overall nice place to stay, close to The Forks which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,247 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,001 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $144 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing