We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed here as we were attending a wedding reception on-site” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed here as we were attending a wedding reception on-site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was on the fence regarding our one night stay because of the price paid and the room and service received but felt much better about our experience upon check-out. The lady we dealt with at checkout was very pleasant and understanding. We then proceeded to have brunch and the server we dealt with was polite, professional and what we expected from this type of hotel and the price level paid.

Would likely stay again, if we were attending an event on-site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEIMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    330
    133
    66
    40
See reviews for
155
346
81
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel to stay at. This hotel is abit dated and some of the rooms need paint and wall paper replaced. The television also is older. The service is good and parking is free inside. Overall nice place to stay, close to The Forks which is within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

So, i have been visiting this hotel for many years. I travel to winnipeg 4-6x per year for business and usually stay at the FG. I wrote a review after what i call an experience that was unsettling and disappointing. I give kudos to FG management , firstly for reading my no holds barred review and then responding and apologizing for my less than perfect experience. FG followed up by offering me a significant disount on my next visit and made sure that i enjoyed my stay. On my follow up stay, staff were attentive for the most part and again management was sincere in their efforts to make things right and to keep a long time customer. So Kudos to FG...some hotels as you will note from this site, wont ever respond to your concerns...they likely couldnt care a less about a few negative reviews... FG stepped up and it is clear they care and stand behind this iconic hotel, they are working hard at getting it right... Thanks FG I appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for returning to the Fort Garry on your most recent visit to Winnipeg, and thank you for taking the time to write another review. We appreciate that you gave us the opportunity to improve upon your last stay. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed this visit, and we delivered on the service and experience that you expect for each and every time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
294 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Spent four days here last week and was very happy with the stay. My room was exceedingly small but very comfortable and filled with charm. The free coffee service was excellent and came with a biscotti -and very good coffee I need to add. My room was not cleaned one day - not sure why but very minor. These old hotels certainly do take you back to an older era and the service here lived up to expectations. The food at the conference was exceptional and the location was close to sites and other restaurants. Make sure you stop in at the Forks market - some interesting shops and great treats!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Fort Garry on your most recent trip to Winnipeg, and for taking the opportunity to review your stay. It was our pleasure to be your host, and we're glad that you enjoyed the visit (and our specially blended coffee)! Please accept our apologies for the missed housekeeping service. If you would like to follow up on the matter, please don't hesitate to get in touch and I would be happy to follow up.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Winnipeg.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of the CP "chateau" hotels built over 100 years ago. Like the hotels in Quebec, Montreal, Toronto, Calgary and Vancouver, it has a beautiful charm made from wood and stone in an elegant décor. I was most impressed with the service and food quality. The price was very reasonable and even the internet was only $6 a day. Located in the downtown area, there are shuttles available but sites are not far away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Normally budget hotel patrons, my husband and I recently booked a weekend at the Fort Garry due to a conference I was attending there. I was expecting a high level of service and the Fort Garry went above and beyond. We had booked starting a Friday night, but my conference started already that morning. We arrived at 10:30, our 7 month old in tow. I asked if there was any way we could get an earlier (than the standard 3:00) check in - knowing that they had had a full occupancy the previous night. Within an hour they had a room ready to go complete with play pen for us! My husband was so grateful to have a room to entertain our baby in for the remainder of a very rainy day!
The rooms were cleanly and tasteful. We were thrilled with the free 24 hour coffee (and cookie!) service and made use of it often. We were also happy to pay the discounted $10 fee for the full hot breakfast of made to order eggs/waffles/ham/hashbrowns (I LOVE a fresh omelette) and fresh fruit.
We found the staff to be incredibly friendly and accomodating. What a wonderful experience at the Fort Garry!

Room Tip: We requested a quite room and that is exactly what we got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordandjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here at a conference this weekend. I must admit I was not sure what to expect when I got here, but I have enjoyed the ambience and experience of this historic hotel.
We had the pleasure of having a private tour from Laura in marketing and she was so wonderful and gave us a lot of information that we wouldn't have known prior.
If you are into quaint and history, please stay here. The staff and people are amazing and it's a good experience. Definitely a place for Winnipeg to be proud of

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Fort Garry, and for reviewing your visit. It was my pleasure to take you to tour the hotel, and share some of the rich stories about this National Historic Site. I'm glad that you and your conference group enjoyed an excellent stay, and we hope to see you again in the future.

All the best,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Property: Fort Garry Hotel
Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing