We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Garry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Winnipeg East(Winnipeg)(Great Value!)
$78
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria Inn(Winnipeg)(Great Value!)
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Hotels Winnipeg(Winnipeg)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,231 results
Traveler rating
577
388
150
70
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
388
150
70
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm roombiscottigrand old hotelfeather bedbroadway roomrailway hotelpiano playerhaunted roomsunday brunch isnatural habitatclassic hoteleggs benedictcoffee servicebeautiful hotelbreakfast buffet ismodern amenitieshotel guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 1,231 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

One of my all time favorite hotels. I have stayed here numerous times and have never been let down yet.
The 10 spa is well worth the time and money and the new yoga studio is world class.
If you get an opportunity for sunday brunch you must seize the day and dig in. You won't regret it

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and thank you for staying with us again on this visit. I am very happy that we delivered on excellent value and excellent service again. The next time you're in, ask us about our new guest loyalty program. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Winnipeg.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204) 946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Fort Garry Hotel is situated across the VIA Rail station; both are impressive buildings designed and built when travel was more leisurely. Walking up the board stairs into the Hotel Fort Garry is a walk back into time. Our room was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed. The various nooks and crannies are indicative of a major renovation that have brought the hotel into the 21st century. Service was competent and friendly. A major surprise was not that "breakfast was included" but that the cost of accommodation included the fabulous Sunday brunch. The normal cost of this brunch is a staggering $47 per person, which means that less than 50% of the room rate was for the accommodation and one cannot get any cheaper rooms in downtown Winnipeg. The Sunday brunch was an experience with stations spread through the lobby. And where can one find Arctic char on a brunch menu? Any disappointments? We did not see or hear any evidence of the reportedly haunted fourth floor where our room was located.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Main and Broadway will probably be quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandererMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel was built in 1913 by CP as one of its luxury destinations. It is beyond elegant with a very extensive history. If you're looking for very modern with a very large rooms with very new amenities this is not the hotel for you. If you can appreciate that this hotel would've been top-of-the-line in 1913 and still is today with the existing facilities than this is an excellent destination. We've stayed here a few times and plan to again - an amazing spot for that night out as adults. I highly recommend getting a room that includes the Sunday brunch as part of the package. A combination that includes time at 10 spa is also well worth it.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank crwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really good value hotel and not part of a chain. Quality inclusions in old world style. No coffee and tea in room but fresh brewed available on request. Great restaurant and bar downstairs. The best steak I have had for a long time!
A couple of (minor) issues: service slow in restaurant, it was a busy night and they could have done with extra staff; and one of the reception staff (male) was so lacking in personality it was embarassing. Not a welcoming, customer service approach at all. Thankfully the other reception staff stepped in and hapily helped us.
Close to VIA rail station, and a short walk or taxi ride to everything.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the review of your visit, we appreciate receiving reviews from all of our guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us, apart from the minor service issues you experienced in the lounge. We strive to provide the best service even on busy evenings, and I have passed along your comments to our food and beverage department in an effort to ensure you receive better service on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fort Garry on your next visit to Winnipeg for another excellent stay.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is very close to Winnipeg train station and to the main shopping area of central Winnipeg. I used it for my base for a polar bear trip to Churchill with Natural Habitat, who have their own facilities in the hotel, so it is very convenient.

The rooms are very large and quiet so far as street noise is concerned. But there can be lots of plumbing noise from showers in other rooms.

The restaurants are excellent, especially the breakfasts.

The staff are very helpful, but I suspect that is enhanced by the volume of business Natural Habitat brings to the hotel.

Maintenance and upkeep is quite good, but some wear and tear is becoming apparent.

The Fort Garry is quite a way from the airport, so I might not want to choose it as just a transit stopover. But it is well located for,say, trans-Canada train travellers who want a stopover in Winnipeg.

BobM

Room Tip: Ask about noisy plumbing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zxy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your visit this fall, and thank you for staying at the Fort Garry. It is our pleasure to welcome polar bear expeditioners each year during their stay-overs in Winnipeg. As a national historic site, and famous Winnipeg landmark it's our pleasure to be on the itinerary, and I am glad that you enjoyed an excellent visit with us. Should you return to Winnipeg in the future, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews