We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value in Winnipeg!”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best value in Winnipeg!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

One of my all time favorite hotels. I have stayed here numerous times and have never been let down yet.
The 10 spa is well worth the time and money and the new yoga studio is world class.
If you get an opportunity for sunday brunch you must seize the day and dig in. You won't regret it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, and thank you for staying with us again on this visit. I am very happy that we delivered on excellent value and excellent service again. The next time you're in, ask us about our new guest loyalty program. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Winnipeg.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204) 946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    339
    139
    68
    42
See reviews for
164
358
83
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Fort Garry Hotel is situated across the VIA Rail station; both are impressive buildings designed and built when travel was more leisurely. Walking up the board stairs into the Hotel Fort Garry is a walk back into time. Our room was nicely appointed with a comfortable bed. The various nooks and crannies are indicative of a major renovation that have brought the hotel into the 21st century. Service was competent and friendly. A major surprise was not that "breakfast was included" but that the cost of accommodation included the fabulous Sunday brunch. The normal cost of this brunch is a staggering $47 per person, which means that less than 50% of the room rate was for the accommodation and one cannot get any cheaper rooms in downtown Winnipeg. The Sunday brunch was an experience with stations spread through the lobby. And where can one find Arctic char on a brunch menu? Any disappointments? We did not see or hear any evidence of the reportedly haunted fourth floor where our room was located.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from Main and Broadway will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandererMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was built in 1913 by CP as one of its luxury destinations. It is beyond elegant with a very extensive history. If you're looking for very modern with a very large rooms with very new amenities this is not the hotel for you. If you can appreciate that this hotel would've been top-of-the-line in 1913 and still is today with the existing facilities than this is an excellent destination. We've stayed here a few times and plan to again - an amazing spot for that night out as adults. I highly recommend getting a room that includes the Sunday brunch as part of the package. A combination that includes time at 10 spa is also well worth it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Really good value hotel and not part of a chain. Quality inclusions in old world style. No coffee and tea in room but fresh brewed available on request. Great restaurant and bar downstairs. The best steak I have had for a long time!
A couple of (minor) issues: service slow in restaurant, it was a busy night and they could have done with extra staff; and one of the reception staff (male) was so lacking in personality it was embarassing. Not a welcoming, customer service approach at all. Thankfully the other reception staff stepped in and hapily helped us.
Close to VIA rail station, and a short walk or taxi ride to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the review of your visit, we appreciate receiving reviews from all of our guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us, apart from the minor service issues you experienced in the lounge. We strive to provide the best service even on busy evenings, and I have passed along your comments to our food and beverage department in an effort to ensure you receive better service on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fort Garry on your next visit to Winnipeg for another excellent stay.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is very close to Winnipeg train station and to the main shopping area of central Winnipeg. I used it for my base for a polar bear trip to Churchill with Natural Habitat, who have their own facilities in the hotel, so it is very convenient.

The rooms are very large and quiet so far as street noise is concerned. But there can be lots of plumbing noise from showers in other rooms.

The restaurants are excellent, especially the breakfasts.

The staff are very helpful, but I suspect that is enhanced by the volume of business Natural Habitat brings to the hotel.

Maintenance and upkeep is quite good, but some wear and tear is becoming apparent.

The Fort Garry is quite a way from the airport, so I might not want to choose it as just a transit stopover. But it is well located for,say, trans-Canada train travellers who want a stopover in Winnipeg.

BobM

Room Tip: Ask about noisy plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zxy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of your visit this fall, and thank you for staying at the Fort Garry. It is our pleasure to welcome polar bear expeditioners each year during their stay-overs in Winnipeg. As a national historic site, and famous Winnipeg landmark it's our pleasure to be on the itinerary, and I am glad that you enjoyed an excellent visit with us. Should you return to Winnipeg in the future, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
Marketing Director
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, bc
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

IF you are the type of traveller who enjoys classic older hotels from an era long ago, then this is for you! Wide corridors, very large rooms with high ceilings, thick sound proofing walls, and an atmosphere of a building lovingly cared for are all found here in this historic property. The beddings are excellent and the towels huge and of great quality. The lobby bar has an excellent menu with food available until 23:45 for late arriving guests. All staff were friendly and helpful and the location great. All rooms come with a full hot breakfast served in the main dining room, which is one of the better breakfast available in Winnipeg. There are signs of wear in some carpeting and room furnishings but cleanliness is top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yyjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel architecture outside is nice, but do not judge a book by its cover. Curtains need upgrading in room, looks like cigarette burns on curtains, and there is a no smoking policy. Carpet inside lost its color, its quite faded. Rocker lazyboys (2) suede look, wear marks , almost looks like stains on seats of both chairs. Bed was fair. Bathroom has toilet angled so when your sitting on its you are sitting sideways somewhat. No drinking plastic glasses in washroom. This room needs complete overhaul inside room. No luggage racks in room at all to place your suitcases on so you have to throw then on top of the bed to open them up (really bad as bottom of suitcases are unclean). Wifi service is $5.00 per day.Hallways are quite unclean with old carpets on floor 8. Lots of steps up in front to enter building, very hard to get luggage up. No signs on building to show where to park in their outdoor parking lot, you have to drive around the block two or three times before you can figure it out. Just not a user friendly place for middle aged or senior folks. The lounge downstairs was very nice there are alot other hotels in Wpg you should consider other hotels before booking here,

Room Tip: Book another hotel, at well over $100.00 a nite you can get much better around the downtown area. Wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#3 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#9 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Property: Fort Garry Hotel
Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing