We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Garry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$92
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$100
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$221
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$154
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria Inn(Winnipeg)
$102
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,249)
Filter reviews
1,249 results
Traveler rating
588
393
151
71
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
393
151
71
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm roombiscottigrand old hotelfeather bedbroadway roomrailway hotelpiano playerhaunted roomsunday brunch isnatural habitatclassic hoteleggs benedictcoffee servicebeautiful hotelbreakfast buffet ismodern amenitieshotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
965 - 970 of 1,249 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2012

IF you are the type of traveller who enjoys classic older hotels from an era long ago, then this is for you! Wide corridors, very large rooms with high ceilings, thick sound proofing walls, and an atmosphere of a building lovingly cared for are all found here in this historic property. The beddings are excellent and the towels huge and of great quality. The lobby bar has an excellent menu with food available until 23:45 for late arriving guests. All staff were friendly and helpful and the location great. All rooms come with a full hot breakfast served in the main dining room, which is one of the better breakfast available in Winnipeg. There are signs of wear in some carpeting and room furnishings but cleanliness is top notch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyjguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel architecture outside is nice, but do not judge a book by its cover. Curtains need upgrading in room, looks like cigarette burns on curtains, and there is a no smoking policy. Carpet inside lost its color, its quite faded. Rocker lazyboys (2) suede look, wear marks , almost looks like stains on seats of both chairs. Bed was fair. Bathroom has toilet angled so when your sitting on its you are sitting sideways somewhat. No drinking plastic glasses in washroom. This room needs complete overhaul inside room. No luggage racks in room at all to place your suitcases on so you have to throw then on top of the bed to open them up (really bad as bottom of suitcases are unclean). Wifi service is $5.00 per day.Hallways are quite unclean with old carpets on floor 8. Lots of steps up in front to enter building, very hard to get luggage up. No signs on building to show where to park in their outdoor parking lot, you have to drive around the block two or three times before you can figure it out. Just not a user friendly place for middle aged or senior folks. The lounge downstairs was very nice there are alot other hotels in Wpg you should consider other hotels before booking here,

Room Tip: Book another hotel, at well over $100.00 a nite you can get much better around the downtown area. Why waste your hard earned money here,
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Krumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I hate writing a bad review on a hotel I love so much. I have stayed here about 20 times over the past seven years. This may have been the last.

The Fort Garry is a neat old hotel, but the last couple of times I've stayed it seems that the rooms get smaller and smaller. Room 609 in particular. There is so little space between the dresser and the bed that it is almost impossible to sit comfortably and work. Unfortunately it shows a lack of care over the comfort of clients that I find surprising at this hotel. See the attached photo.

A few other mis-steps. The ice machine on the 6th floor does not work. Breakfast is buffet only and eggs are only served made to order, which yesterday meant standing in a long line to speak to the chef. 15-20 mins total wait time for the order.

Finally, and this is really puzzling. No matter how loaded down one is with bags, the bellmen will never offer assistance. Winter, Summer, slow days, busy days. You have to ask them. I like to carry my own bags, but have always marveled at how they can stand in the front and watch guests climb the stairs with luggage, and never offer to help.

The lobby still looks great. They always have a beautiful Christmas tree and this year was just a nice as ever.

Room service was prompt and the food was good.

Room Tip: Ask about the room size. Views vary greatly from room to room, from nice views of the city to brick walls.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midnightdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura W, Marketing Director at Fort Garry Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Winnipeg, and thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are appreciated, and have given us valued insight on improvements that can be made.

As a historic 100 year old hotel, part of our charm is that each guest room is slightly different, in size, space, and decor. I am pleased to tell you that we are currently working on a capital plan to be announced later this year in regard to guest room improvements.

I have shared your comments about your breakfast wait time and service of our bell staff with appropriate parties in an effort to improve the experiences of our guests. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Fort Garry to show you that we can provide a better service experience. If you wish to discuss the details of your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the below.

Kind regards,

Laura Wiebe
(204)946-6523
lwiebe@fortgarryhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a must for anybody who enjoys historic hotels. The service and food are excellent. Ask to see the Grand Ballroom where nothing seems to have changed since 1913. The location is perfect as well; in walking distance to the historic VIA Rail Station and across from The Keg Steak House. A really nice touch is the hot coffee or tea that is placed at your door the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TX1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a great hotel..Old school charm. The hot breakfast was really a treat. We came for the Neil Young concert and walked to the MTS center. Its a few blocks but not bad. Ate across the street @ the Keg and our steaks where very tasty. The Fort Garry is showing it's age but really thats what it's all about. We did walk over and use the steam room and hot tub. Nice enough. Bring your workout gear as it is a very nice fitness center. If your going to Winnipeg you should really try this place at least once!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view as you might end up with an inside room. Also ask for your bed type feather or tempra pedic
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews