We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Style of the early 1900s”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a must for anybody who enjoys historic hotels. The service and food are excellent. Ask to see the Grand Ballroom where nothing seems to have changed since 1913. The location is perfect as well; in walking distance to the historic VIA Rail Station and across from The Keg Steak House. A really nice touch is the hot coffee or tea that is placed at your door the next morning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TX1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a great hotel..Old school charm. The hot breakfast was really a treat. We came for the Neil Young concert and walked to the MTS center. Its a few blocks but not bad. Ate across the street @ the Keg and our steaks where very tasty. The Fort Garry is showing it's age but really thats what it's all about. We did walk over and use the steam room and hot tub. Nice enough. Bring your workout gear as it is a very nice fitness center. If your going to Winnipeg you should really try this place at least once!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view as you might end up with an inside room. Also ask for your bed type feather or tempr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We attended the" Folk Festival in the City "at the Fort Garry Hotel,7th floor on Nov.8, 2012. This was a fund raising event for the Winnipeg Folk festival held at Bird's Hill Park in the summer. Funds went for scholarships and to enable disadvantaged persons to attend the folk Festival. The hotel Fort Garry is a huge landmark refurbished historical hotel in Winnipeg; fronting on Broadway Avenue with its wide boulevard, and many governmental office buildings. The hotel is just off of Main street,walking distance from the historic railway station.
The hotel features opulent decor- walls, ceilings, staircases,etc. It has several banquet rooms for events. The meal, served to all, was a wonderfully tender steak that was perfectly cooked; so that those who usually demand rare,or medium, were satisfied.The dessert was creme brule. Banquet room had a screen to display the computer generated graphics. Service by uniformed serving staff was quick considering the large number of persons and the closely arranged dinning tables. Parking at the Fort Garry can be indoors, directly off the street,giving access to the hotel's interior lobby. There is also a raised out door parking spot on the property.Live folk music was offered after the dinner down the hall in another high ceilinged room with a stage. The price of an evenings' parking is about $8. The Fort Garry is the go to prestige venue for weddings and banquet themed events.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Really, how do they do that? It feels like you're floating, or sinking, or not lying on a physical object. There's nothing like falling down for a nap, after a day shopping or touring, on a bed in the Fort Garry. We like having a drink in the capacious bar, and we enjoy the leisurely breakfast. The old pace shows its age in some places and isn't always and everywhere kept in the best nick, but those are little things that don't matter much to us, and recent improvements are evident. This is our headquarters for visits to the Peg.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Isern1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a superb hotel! I cannot praise it enough. Everything from check in to our departure was efficient. Our room was lovely, with the most comfortable beds I have slept on. (I think they may have been memory foam..) The bathroom was also modern and clean, with thick towels and dressing gowns, plus toiletries included.
We loved the tea/coffee service. Just ring down and someone brings piping hot tea or coffee to your room with cookies. Same procedure in the morning - just leave out the provided card and a tray is left outside your roomat the designated time with biscotti biscuits.
The hotel is very convenient to the "Forks" complex with its array of shops, eateries and river-side walks. We also walked to the "Manitoba Museum" which I would thoroughly recommend to any visitor. We did not have time to visit the spa, but believe that too, is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked the Yoga and Spa special. Disappointed that the yoga is NOT located in the hotel, it is 3.5 blocks away (not great as Winnipeg is very cold and windy). Ten spa was great - but very expensive. Our hotel room was a good size but the one beside us was a very small room. Beds were comfortable with memory foam. The TV is very old and bad picture. Bathroom was clean but worn out. Enjoyed the dinner and brunch - very good. From our 5th floor room, heard the music from the 7th floor ball room all night until 1am. As well the hallways are loud and heard conversations and footsteps. The hotel supplies each room with ear plugs - they obviously know about the sound issues. Didn't like that they charge $5 a day for wifi - should be free. Staff was very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WpgTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The good: nice bed linen, old fashionable furniture, efficient service, large variety of food at the Sunday brunch, swimming pool.
The less good: small room, cathodic TV, worn out bathroom sink, crowded brunch, only two elevators.
The bad: ballroom music too loud, even on the upper floors, extra charge for wifi and for water bottle.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,301 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,024 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $134 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing