We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Garry Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$171
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$107
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Victoria Inn(Winnipeg)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delta Hotels Winnipeg(Winnipeg)
$199
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$109
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,231 results
Traveler rating
577
388
150
70
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
388
150
70
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm roombiscottigrand old hotelfeather bedbroadway roomrailway hotelpiano playerhaunted roomsunday brunch isnatural habitatclassic hoteleggs benedictcoffee servicebeautiful hotelbreakfast buffet ismodern amenitieshotel guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
960 - 965 of 1,231 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent four nights here recently, to and from Churchill. We were first put in 314, facing the street. When asked to be moved higher up, we were moved to 514...a better choice because of lighting at the front of the hotel. When we returned, we were in 513, a much quieter choice with view towards the Forks.

This is a historic hotel, not a cookie-cutter modern hotel. So, yes, some things are not perfect. But, that is part of the charm. Yes, some of the sleeping rooms could do with some paint and attention...carpet that doesn't quite meet the wall, wallpaper beginning to peel a bit. But, we enjoyed our stay here very much...especially the constant activity of people coming and going for weddings, meetings, conferences, tours, etc. and the coffee/tea/cookies on call!

The breakfast included in our rate was wonderful, with individually cooked eggs, peameal, waffles, and fabulous wheat toast! Buffet of fruit, breads, muffins, cereals, oatmeal, etc. And, on Sunday morning, the brunch was incredible. Be sure to get the Saturday night room rate that includes the brunch...and ask for a table in the Palm Lounge. Go hungry...and linger. Old world elegance.

If feathers are a problem, be sure to specify a non-feather bed room. And read the instructions carefully for getting the room to a temperature you prefer. It was fine once we read the fine print!

Room Tip: Be sure to indicate if you do NOT want a featherbed room. And, we found the rooms higher up better for us.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmnt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently for a wedding, the room rate for the wedding guests was $169.00, but after it was all said and done it came to $220.75, not unreasonable for a typical upscale hotel........which this place was NOT. Paint peeling off the walls, rooms musty, dirty bed skirts, tv non functional, water that came out of both the taps and the shower-head was yellow and the staff were in no way accommodating.
I would not recommend this hotel, if you are looking for a nice place to stay try the Fairmont or Inn at the Forks or just anywhere but here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_Marichia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The custimer service here is very knowledgable about the history and very open and intriguing to talk to. The hotel itself is absolutly beautiful with the amount of antiques and attention to detail it was a real treat. However expected more bang for 300 a night then a less then desirable room I would still recomend it for one or two nights however if it ended up being longer may staryt to get uncomfortable

Room Tip: upgrade to the suite
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently stayed here for a wedding. Having lived in Winnipeg for the past 15 years, we have heard a lot about the Fort Garry but this is the first time we'd ever actually stepped foot in the hotel. The hotel is charming - we love the old architecture but the furnishings, carpets and fixtures are looking well worn. Carpets are threadbare in places (grand staircase and in the room), doors and walls need to be repainted, the wallpaper in our room was peeling at the seems and the shower needed to be re-grouted near the top as it was black with mold/mildew. In addition, we were surprised to still see an old school "big box" tv as the room itself wasn't very big. We were very pleased with the service - staff were friendly and courteous and we did enjoy fresh coffee being delivered to our room.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenny1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here either side of a trip up to Churchill to see polar bears and would definitely recommend. The lobby is impressive with large chandeliers and there's a nice bar which serves food (tasty & inexpensive) until midnight. The rooms are large and comfortable although decor is slightly dated. Service was impeccable, we left luggage for a few days, no trouble. But the highlight was the breakfast - chefs on hand to cater for every wish - waffles, pancakes, french toast, eggs benedict - fabulous. There is also a great gym - more of a members gym than a hotel gym with tons of equipment, a nice pool and whirlpool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs5311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews