We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suberb Hotel, Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Suberb Hotel, Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a few times now and will do so again the next time we visit Winnipeg. A designated National Historic Site, the hotel was built in 1913 by the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway in the Chateau style. It is located one block from VIA Rail's Union Station and has a lavish old world ambiance. Beautifully restored, the shining brass and marble interiors are a feast.

The rooms have high ceilings, are furnished in good taste, and have comfortable furniture and superb beds to sink in. Our Deluxe King bedroom had a large desk, sofa and two arm chairs. The washroom, though smallish, was adequate and well supplied with spa toiletries. There was a large closet. Internet access at $5 per day was was unresponsive and spotty and TV reception was not good. Both these services need to be improved.

The hotel is popular for weddings and during our stay, there were two. The walls of the rooms are not well insulted for sound. We could hear the wedding merrimentlate on the floors below, late into the night. As well, we were woken by a telephone conversationsearly in the morning, in the room next door. Better sound insulation is required to merit a perfect rating.

The hotel has an expansive longe. The breakfast room is high class with attentive and professional service. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is of a high quality with made to order eggs and a good buffet. If you stay overnight on a Saturday, the magnificient Sunday brunch ($55 per person) is included in the room rate. This is no run of the mill brunch. It is spread out over a large area and has numerous items. In addition, toast and eggs are made to order. It is a true feast.

A really great touch of this hotel is the complementary tea and coffee service available 24 hours. Whatever you order is delivered promptly to the room accompanied with cookies.

The spa deserves special mention for its creative hamaam experience, expert massage and pedicure.

Bottom Line: Despite the shortcomings described above, this is the place to stay in Winnipeg. It is good value for money and a memorable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brijesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    335
    136
    68
    42
See reviews for
160
353
81
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
379 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Fort Garry Hotel is one of the few remaining character-rich hotels with tall ceilings, wide hallways, tons of marble and miles of shiny brass. It is very comfortable, attractive, the staff is alert and professional and it is well located. Also, any time of day or night, a guest can have complimentary tea or coffee service. No charge. We stayed twice for a total of three nights, and the delivery was always right on the dot. Luggage service also was right on the money. When luggage was supposed to be put outside the door at 9 a.m., by 9:02, it was gone. Breakfast, included, also is quite good. Eggs are done to order, the Canadian bacon is delicious and the croissants are as good as they are in France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in room 202 twice in the past year. It is said to be haunted. I did have one experience the first time I stayed. At about 1:20 a.m., as I was getting ready for bed, I saw a menu fly off the desk onto the floor, out of the corner of my eye. A bit disappointed that this was all. My second stay was uneventful.

This 99 year old hotel has its charms. Staff are very friendly, and free coffee and tea room service is a plus, although I did not take advantage. The restaurant offers a good menu and room service is available until 11:00. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for room 202. The ghost is a non threatening entity (young lady who appar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus_Podgorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Fort Garry for 1 night for a business trip. The hotel is charming, oldish and very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean with some old features (electric outlets, mouldings...). The breakfast was included in the price and had a great spread with an omelet station. The only negative point that I noticed was a strong moldy smell in the lobby (probably that the carpet had been cleaned recently). I hard that Ten spa within the hotel is one of the best spas in Canada... did not have time to try...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerrMasli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Unfortunately we didn't get to spend much time at this hotel (our train was 4 hours late). To our advantage the hotel was across the road from the train station, which was ideal when we had to walk there late at night.
A beautiful building amongst modern architecture. The lobby is very grand, has a vintage feel to the place, very clean and very large. It may have had something to do with the time we checked in but the reception staff we quite abrupt, and we weren't offered help with our bags. A disappointing welcome.
The bedroom was large, spotless, with 'old school' decoration. The bed was a small double but comfortable, the room was warm and had wifi. Amazing shower. Annoyingly we didn't get to check out the spa due to a time shortage but I imagine it would be quite good.
The breakfast in the morning is well worth getting up for. The staff was lovely, and the chef would cook anything you wanted. A great selection, lovely surroundings and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you have the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my first trip to Winnipeg and we decided to stay at the Fort Garry Hotel based on it's location. We had a very good experience at the hotel. The service was great with a beautiful entrance and lobby, which also serves as the Sunday brunch buffet area - which was fantastic.
The room was a little dated but bed and furniture was quite comfortable. The bathroom was of a good size and actually had a window to the outside - very nice! With the hotel room we had access to a full service gym which was fantastic - more hotels should offer this service!
In the hotel room they also includede earplugs for their guests. I was wondering why until the second night where I was awoken by hotel guests in the hallway - as for most older hotels the rooms are not sound proof.
The location was great with less than a five minute walk to the Forks and the Legislature building.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here for a romantic treat and was very impressed by the service, room, and luxurious goosedown bed. Our room was in a fairly traditional style and didn't include things like a fridge or coffeemaker, which was perfectly fine by us. The fitness centre and pool are fairly small but adequate. Location is pretty good with access to the Forks Market. Far and away the best part of our visit was the Sunday morning buffet, though. There are simply too many options to try, so we just did our best to taste as many different and unique flavours as possible, and we weren't disappointed. Of course, the price for this isn't cheap, but as a way to break up the routine without having to get out of the city it worked pretty well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#2 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
The Fairmont Winnipeg
#8 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Property: Fort Garry Hotel
Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy 24-hr delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing