We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Fort Garry”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at the Fort Garry in January 2007 for a wedding. We loved the room, nice size. The bed was the best as it was the best sleep that we have had in a long time. We had the famous Sunday Brunch - food was awesome and the service was excellent. Great stay overall!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2007

We stayed at the Hotel Fort Garry in early December, and it is a very special place. The ambience, particularly in the public areas, is very elegant. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful, and professional. We felt welcome and well taken care of.

The breakfasts were delicious, particularly the Sunday Brunch. The dining area is set up with white table clothes and silverware at breakfast which gives it a refined atmosphere.

Though the hotel does not have a pool or gym, you are provided with access to a healthclub in the adjoining building which is quite adequate.

I have stayed at many hotels througout the world, and this is one of my favorites.

Stayed: December 2007
2  Thank TravellerDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We stayed here twice, at the start and end of a trip to Churchill, and had two different rooms. First impressions are good, as you enter a large and welcoming lobby. However, our first room, number 407, was poor. It was small, which was made worse by the amount of furniture crammed in; the views from the window were of other windows a few feet away; the décor was worn and tired looking and it was dark. Overnight, it was noisy, as guests from the large number of functions held at the hotel made their way up the stairs which bordered the room. The second room, 213, was slightly better, in that it was slightly bigger and had windows that actually had a view, albeit of the back of the hotel. However, the décor was similar and neither the main door nor the bathroom door shut properly - the main door had to be slammed from the outside, and held on the lock from the inside.
We ate in the bar one night - the food was good, and service quick and friendly. Breakfasts were mixed: they cook eggs and bacon to order, which is really nice, as long as you time your run to avoid the queues, but the waitress service for drinks and toast is variable - our toast on day 2 never arrived. And you sometimes have to wait ages for the lifts.
The best feature of this hotel is the free tea, coffee and biscuits on request, which we tested several times.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

The Fort Garry Hotel is an old railroad hotel, very elegant in style and substance. The Fort Garry Hotel is located a short easy walk from the ViaRail terminal, so if you're planning a rail trip out of Winnipeg, the Fort Garry is the place to be. The room we had was a tad worn, emphasis on "tad". Ours had a little ceiling stain here, a wallpaper corner peeling a bit there, but don't let that dissuade you. The bed was, bar none, the most comfortable bed my wife and I have ever slept in, in over 30 years of testing. Also, if you can plan to stay a Saturday night, please know the Sunday brunch is also another extreme superlative! The Fort Garry isn't cheap, but would you expect it to be? If I were to revisit Winnipeg, I'd be back at the Fort Garry again.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

This is a nice hotel, clean but worn. Our bathroom had mouldy seals around the shower area, (sorry but this little detail is quite obvious and puts me of if bathrooms aren't clean in appearance), the paint work is in need of a good refresh, and it doesn't take much to make a room good.
We were part of a tour group & were told our bags would be bought to our rooms, it was late and we had been travelling for quite some time but it took them 3/4 hour to bring our bags up.
The reception staff answered our queries but then almost dismissed us and went on with another job almost as though we were in their way.
Impressed that as we were travelling on to Churchill for a few days before returning back to the hotel over night, we were able to leave a suitcase there until we returned.
Breakfast was very good, a varied choice of food and good service.
Unfortunately there is not much immediately close by, but the Forks is a good little area a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Universal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We really enjoyed our two short stays at Fort Garry last month and wish we had had had longer there. The building is interesting, the public rooms have been fabulously restored and our bedrooms (two different ones) were well decorated and had fantastically comfortable beds. The breakfasts here are absolutely fantastic and the Sunday Brunch is wonderful, with a really relaxing ambience. We would visit again if in Winnipeg.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CafeJardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

I booked into the Fort Garry as a last minute decision to stay in Winnipeg for the night. The room I was given was very clean but obviously worn. Carpet was patched and frayed at the baseboards, draperies were dusty and threadbare in spots, the chair was old and needed replacing.Room service was fast and courteous but the fruit tray was very sparse and some of the grapes were inedible. The bed was clean but very high. The feather bed kept shifting. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The room was quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,238 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
992 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#5 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range: $147 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing