We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, extremely comfortable and convenient”
Review of Fort Garry Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fort Garry Hotel
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Elegant, extremely comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed November 13, 2007

The Fort Garry Hotel is an old railroad hotel, very elegant in style and substance. The Fort Garry Hotel is located a short easy walk from the ViaRail terminal, so if you're planning a rail trip out of Winnipeg, the Fort Garry is the place to be. The room we had was a tad worn, emphasis on "tad". Ours had a little ceiling stain here, a wallpaper corner peeling a bit there, but don't let that dissuade you. The bed was, bar none, the most comfortable bed my wife and I have ever slept in, in over 30 years of testing. Also, if you can plan to stay a Saturday night, please know the Sunday brunch is also another extreme superlative! The Fort Garry isn't cheap, but would you expect it to be? If I were to revisit Winnipeg, I'd be back at the Fort Garry again.

  • Liked — Incredibly comfortable bed, sumptuous Sunday buffet
  • Disliked — The room's wear and tear
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    354
    144
    68
    43
See reviews for
173
370
87
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

This is a nice hotel, clean but worn. Our bathroom had mouldy seals around the shower area, (sorry but this little detail is quite obvious and puts me of if bathrooms aren't clean in appearance), the paint work is in need of a good refresh, and it doesn't take much to make a room good.
We were part of a tour group & were told our bags would be bought to our rooms, it was late and we had been travelling for quite some time but it took them 3/4 hour to bring our bags up.
The reception staff answered our queries but then almost dismissed us and went on with another job almost as though we were in their way.
Impressed that as we were travelling on to Churchill for a few days before returning back to the hotel over night, we were able to leave a suitcase there until we returned.
Breakfast was very good, a varied choice of food and good service.
Unfortunately there is not much immediately close by, but the Forks is a good little area a 5 minute walk away.

  • Liked — ?
  • Disliked — Tied & worn rooms
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Universal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croughton, England
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We really enjoyed our two short stays at Fort Garry last month and wish we had had had longer there. The building is interesting, the public rooms have been fabulously restored and our bedrooms (two different ones) were well decorated and had fantastically comfortable beds. The breakfasts here are absolutely fantastic and the Sunday Brunch is wonderful, with a really relaxing ambience. We would visit again if in Winnipeg.

  • Liked — Wonderful building and fantastic breakfasts
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CafeJardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sask
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

I booked into the Fort Garry as a last minute decision to stay in Winnipeg for the night. The room I was given was very clean but obviously worn. Carpet was patched and frayed at the baseboards, draperies were dusty and threadbare in spots, the chair was old and needed replacing.Room service was fast and courteous but the fruit tray was very sparse and some of the grapes were inedible. The bed was clean but very high. The feather bed kept shifting. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The room was quiet.

  • Liked — Convenient and close to downtown and the forks
  • Disliked — Poor quality fruit in the fruit and nut tray I ordered.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotty88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

My colleagues and I have stayed at the Fort Garry hotel literally hundreds of nights. The staff, owners and ambience are beyond compare. I would highly recommend this as a safe, elegant yet homey place to stay. All my needs were always accomodated, any issues that I had were always dealt with immediately and appropriately. The spa is extraordinary...not to be missed. Sunday brunch is a gastronomic experience of the highest quality.

As a female business traveller, I could always count on the staff to make me feel safe. When I had an accident (my fault), I was driven to the hospital and then given a gift certificate for a massage.

When my luggage didn't arrive with me and it was -40 degress, I was loaned a warm coat.

Service above and beyond is an understatement. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Drink prices
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fedonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We were in Winnipeg for a wedding. In the past I have stayed with family, but will choose the Fort Garry for future visits.
-Breakfast was the highlight of our stay. We felt very pampered sitting at a window table with fresh flowers, white tablecloths and heavy cloth napkins. Service was also great, and the made to order omelettes or eggs Benedict were a treat, as well as the many other choices. The Sunday brunch exceeded expectations, and would be well worth the $35 price on its own. Instead, it is included in the Saturday night rate, which was slightly higher than the other nights we stayed.
-Coffee service with a fresh cookie whenver the mood struck was also a treat.
-Disappointed that the L'Occitane bath products advertised on the website turned out to be Neutrogena-not bad, but when you are expecting lovely French ones...Maybe that's for the more expensive rooms, but it doesn't say so online.
-Room was very clean, bathroom was fairly large, and the linens and towels were very nice. The bed was incredibly comfortable.
-When I phoned to reserve, I asked about views, and chose one with a view of the Forks, River, etc. Looked out onto Main and the Union Station. We were on the fourth floor, and it was very quiet, although the walls are not thick, as we learned one night.
-Staff were courteous and helpful. Room was cleaned well each day.
-Parking a problem on Saturday night when a wedding was being held. Valet offered to park our car for the night, but for $12 a night, I'd like to be guaranteed a spot, especially when a more reasonably priced hotel a few blocks away offered free parking for guests.
-Room did need a style update-mostly the wallpaper outdated and somewhat worn. I wouldn't like to see it changed drastically. The place seems busy enough to support the cost of a renovation. Did have character, though, and was large, high ceilinged and comfortable.
-Overall we loved our stay and will return. The hotel did meet expectations and my complaints were very minor. I don't know what some of the poor reviews were on about...

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank rjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

This is still my favourite place to stay in Winnipeg (my apologies to my in-laws). We’ve stayed here many times in the past 25 years, the first time being on our honeymoon. I’ve stayed here with young kids as well as teenagers and now my daughter also considers it a favourite. If you like a hotel with some history and a bit of character, you’ll love this place! The rooms are large, comfortable and clean. The lobby is grand with a piano lounge and high ceilings. We didn’t use the pool this time round but when the kids were younger we certainly did. There is a snack bar / magazine store on the lower level. It was almost 10:00 when we checked in so the gym was closed. We opted to walk up and down the stairs a few times and ended up in the lower level snack bar / magazine shop where we bought some popcorn and headed back to the room for some TV watching and then a great night’s sleep! The next morning, we went outside for a walk around the area and a few short blocks to the “Forks” where they have a bazaar-style market and restaurant area. As it is on the river, there is also some nice park area and boats that offer river tours. The room package we usually buy includes a very nice breakfast with omelette and waffle chefs as well as the usual other high quality breakfast fare. The Hotel Fort Gary is definitely worth checking out if you are in Winnipeg.

  • Liked — Good sleep / Good food
  • Disliked — Have to pay for parking
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Friesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Inn at the Forks
Inn at the Forks
#6 of 63 in Winnipeg
1,151 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
Fairmont Winnipeg
#7 of 63 in Winnipeg
915 reviews
Downtown Winnipeg
Mere Hotel
Mere Hotel
#4 of 63 in Winnipeg
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Winnipeg
Delta Hotels by Marriott Winnipeg
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Humphry Inn & Suites
Humphry Inn & Suites
#24 of 63 in Winnipeg
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Garry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Garry Hotel

Property: Fort Garry Hotel
Address: 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3C 0R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > Downtown Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Winnipeg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#9 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
#22 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Garry Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Garry Hotel, Spa and Conference Centre is a classic chateau-style hotel and national historic site situated in the heart of downtown Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada. This former Grand Trunk Railway hotel has been a Winnipeg icon since 1913 and is only minutes away from major downtown attractions including the Forks Market. Relax in one of our 246 guestrooms or suites featuring: our exquisite bed ensemble with feather mattress, down duvets and pillows, and fine Italian linens. All of our guests enjoy delivery of complimentary coffee/tea, cookies & newspapers from 6am- noon. Enjoy the Fort Garry’s award winning Grand Sunday Brunch or legendary daily breakfast. We will attend to your guests in luxurious elegance from an intimate dinner to a magnificent banquet of 600 with four grand historic ballrooms, 16 conference and meeting rooms, and Winnipeg’s only Glatt Kosher service. Experience the award winning, versatile culinary fare of The Fort Garry. Fully equipped fitness centre with indoor running track and indoor swimming pool. Winnipeg’s world-class Ten Spa with authentic co-ed Turkish hamam, dubbed “The hottest, steamiest, most exotic place in Canada” by the Ottawa Citizen. Yoga Public, Canada’s largest yoga playground & sanctuary for individuals looking for a source of physical and spiritual inspiration. Yoga Public offers a program of more than 100 classes per week and offers variety of yoga style and TRX classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fort Garry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Garry Winnipeg
Hotel Fort Garry
Fort Garry Hotel Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing