We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A solid southend stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Winnipeg South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Ranked #40 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A solid southend stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located at the junction of the perimeter highway and Permian highway. For those on a trans-Canada motor adventure this is an ideally located stop. Many other Winnipeg hotels take you well off of you path. It is also conveniently located relative to the University of Manitoba. Nearby food options are plentiful, consider going out for or ordering in Asian as there are a number of very good options in the neighborhood. Rooms are somewhat in need of renovation though the hotel is clean and very safe. Breakfast is included but standard, the breakfast room is small, consider bringing it back to you room. A well priced motor inn experience. If you are looking to go a little higher upscale there is a Four Points Sheraton just up the stret, but this property offers everything the weary traveller needs.

Room Tip: Request a room on the ends of the building, no elevator, so if mobility is a concern ensure that a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesonwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene K, General Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are patiently waiting for our new continental breakfast program to begin so please keep and eye out for our new breaKfast to start. At this time we unfor. do not have a time line on the arrival date for the new program. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Winnipeg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    14
    13
    6
See reviews for
27
29
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel. Love that my dogs are always welcome.

Room Tip: I like the ground floor when I have the dogs with me so I don't have to walk them through the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quest06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlene K, General Manager at Comfort Inn Winnipeg South, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor so that others can be assured of the level of service they will receive when they visit our hotel. We always appreciate when responsible pet owners such as you ensure the grounds remain clean to ensure all guests can enjoy the outdoor areas. Should your travels bring you back to our city we hope to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

A group of friends traveling to an event stayed here over Mother's Day weekend -- I think we had about 20 rooms, altogether. Our room, including the roll-away we had requested, was ready for us when we arrived a little early. The beds were clean, comfortable, good quality linens and blankets, excellent bathroom with enough towels for 4. There were several parties going on along our floor and we never heard a thing. The AC was a little difficult to adjust, making the first night a little chilly and the second a little too warm, but the quality of the room made up for it. We were disappointed to discover that, contrary to both the website and the person who took our reservations, this hotel does not do currency exchange -- we had been counting on that (as had others in our large group). The staff were friendly and polite, however, and had helpful suggestions. The breakfast was acceptable, the breakfast room rather small. All in all, though, well worth the cost and definitely staying on the list of places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Conveniently located if travelling the Trans Canada. We approached from South Dakota. Not near The Forks etc. but maps are available to help. Clean and comfortable, although a bit cramped. Most disappointing was the free internet access, but no computer available to use. We discovered that this is fairly common across the west but this was our first time encountering that problem. Travel with a laptop! We explored downtown and at The Forks. A bit complex turning in here from various directions.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The reviews for this hotel are spot on. The staff was friendly, and the rooms were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is traveling and needs to crash for the night. There are a few drawbacks to the pet policy such as the limited "business" area. It is a 3 foot (~1 meter) wide grass area adjacent to the highway. Still, not a bad place to crash for the night on a long trip even with dogs.

Room Tip: This hotel does aaa discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andratango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Warm front desk staff, efficient check in, extremely comfortable bed. Despite location close to road, there was no road noise. Short drive to University of Manitoba. Many restaurants nearby. Refrigerator and Microwave in Room. All this for just over $100/night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNotTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottburgh, South Africa
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

I've stayed here often as it is very convenient for my business trips. I was here for 2 weeks this time. The hotel is basic but comfortable, the staff are friendly, especially Gerald on night duty. Breakfast is fresh and the offerings are average as per all the hotels in this chain. Winnipeg is absolutely freezing this time of year, but the heating in the rooms is oppressively hot when on minimum, and then gets freezing cold when this is turned off! So the heating/cooling units dont have precise switches. This is about the only gripe I've ever had about the place.

Free Wi-Fi is great and was the prime reason for me staying here over and over again as connectivity is crucial to my business allowing me to stay in touch with my office 24/7. I simply refuse to stay in hotels that charge for a service like Internet, no matter what. It would be like charging to use a pillow!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
1.3 mi away
Queen Bee Hotel
Queen Bee Hotel
#44 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Winnipeg South
4.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
Econo Lodge Winnipeg South
#38 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pembina Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#36 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
3.1 mi away
Canad Inns Destination Centre Fort Garry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Winnipeg South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Winnipeg South

Property: Comfort Inn Winnipeg South
Address: 3109 Pembina Highway, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 4R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#23 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Winnipeg South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the 100 bypass, the 100% smoke free Comfort Inn has newly renovated the front desk and lobby area which now has a 24 hour business centre, fireplace and sitting area. Our completely renovated guest rooms offer free wireless high speed, a fridge, microwave, Truly Yours bedding and a 32" flat screen TV. Situated minutes from Investors Group Field-Home of the Blue Bombers, Winnipeg Convention Centre, The Forks and the Assiniboine Park Zoo. Dine in our spacious breakfast room & enjoy your free hot breakfast that includes eggs, saugage or bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, breads, yogurt, cereal and juice. We are pet friendly and offer ground floor rooms with a walk out patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Winnipeg South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South Hotel Winnipeg
Winnipeg Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Winnipeg South Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing