We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Inn
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Not sure if i was just unlucky but my room wasn't what I expected. I stayed here one night for the wedding I attended. The sink was cracked in half, the stopper for the same sink didn't work and was stuck in the down position. The air condition didn't work, our room had a lovely view of the garbage bin. The bathroom was very small. When you pay 150 dollars a night you expect more. I was quite shocked to hear they don't have complimentary breakfast. I have stayed at cheaper hotels and got so much more for my buck, I don't recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorian88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriainnmanager, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Hello "Expected More":
Thank you for your comments; you should expect more, we do to which is why we ask for our guest’s comments and ways to improve our business.
Since your stay, we have replaced that cracked sink, Moved the Garbage bin, Sorry it was temporary bin for clean out the basement, and we have completed another 12 rooms with new individual controlled heat and air-conditioning units.
We are so very sorry for your experience during this stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    121
    98
    36
    22
See reviews for
185
69
30
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our stay involved a combination of activities. We needed to meet a business client ahead of traveling out of the country the following morning. We met our client in the lounge and the atmosphere provided a relaxed and informal location that was conducive to conducting business. The following morning, we had a very early flight and the staff were wonderful in arranging the shuttle to the airport and in allowing us to park our vehicle in their locked up compound. Upon return, they were very efficient in pairing us up once again with our vehicle, so that we could start our journey home right away. From start to finish the staff is always helpful and courteous and they go the extra mile to ensure a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csnelgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriainnmanager, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Great to read your comments. Please come back and stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson House, Manitoba
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

A good but not amazing hotel. Helpful staff and pet friendly. The restaurant is decent but a bit over-priced. Good swimming pool. Internet connection is weak, but parking is abundent. Overall, a decent hotel near the airport and often near conferences. I would stay here again for business or for an over night trip. I'd book if you can get it at a decent rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac_rant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriainnmanager, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have been taking my grand children to the Victoria Inn for the last few years for that special treat. The kids theme room and Dino beach is always a hit with them.
Great hotel with fantastic and friendly room service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarsonMarielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriainnmanager, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for the comments, we are very proud of our pool area and the enjoyment that it brings. We hope yo hear from you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Likes: front desk staff were professional Dislikes: * Terrible value for a dated decor (Hotel.com rate was $106 for double queen, but walk-in equivalent was $155 plus taxes) * filter of air-conditioning / heater unit was filthy & plugged solid * temperature difficult to regulate * no complimentary breakfast - adds daily expense of $20 - $30 for family of four * "4" water slides over-rated - only one slide suitable for adults and larger children, which leads to crowding * pool rules not enforced; unsupervised children and irresponsible adults put others at risk by not clearing out of the way at bottom of water slide; pool overcrowded with guests of guests * Only one chair in the pool side room; would have appreciated a basic table and at least one other chair with the room furnishings * security risk with pool side room - could not be locked while in pool area * electrical outlet cover cracked and posed a safety risk for small children * room fridge ended up freezing our produce. CRT television contributes to dated appearance. If you insist on staying at the Victorian Inn, I recommend asking about concurrent events and vacancy rate i.e. flood evacuations, conferences. If we had known there would be so many unsupervised children in the pool area, we would have delayed our stay or changed our destination. Avoid room 186.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriainnmanager, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Underwhelming:
Thank you for your comments. We do take all comments very seriously and will be addressing with staff and Maintenance.
Our pool area does have rules that if followed help to provided respect and comfort for all guests enjoying the pool area. Our staff that attend to the pool do so primarily to maintain the area for guests, it is expect that parents are regulating their own children in the pool. Unfortunately this does not always happen.
As with most hotels we have one large slide for big kids and adults but also feature 3 smaller slides for younger families and kids.
We will be addressing your door lock concerns very shortly. This is not an issue that has ever been brought up before but is a good point. The door can be locked but your right you would have to leave the pool area and return to your room using the electronic key lock for the guest hallway.
We have completed converting about 2/3rds of the hotels TV’s over to 37” LCD’s and will have this project completed by the end of July.
Again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Stayed here for a convention for four days. Shuttle bus picked us up quickly and promptly. Hotel is less that 5 minutes away from the airport so very easy to get to and from your flights. Now it was a bit farther to get to a shopping mall or grocery store but when asking at the front desk they mentioned that the shuttle bus, if not busy, would be able to drive us there and pick us up when we were done. Very considerate and as far as I am concerned above and beyond what the hotel had to provide. Hats off to them.

Room was comfortable and clean although had a bit of a musty smell to it. I was going to mention it but asked my other associates and they had a similiar smell in their rooms. Nothing unbearable. Comfortable bed and free internet. Nice pool area and hot tub. Hotel lounge and restaurant had great food and very friendly staff.

I would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nscott6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriainnmanager, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for the great comments we appreciate you time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

After a long, terrible, bumpy bus ride into the city, only to discover that our rental car reservations had fallen through, we were discouraged & didn't know where else to go. Even though check-in wasn't for a few hours, we called the hotel & they were nice enough to pick us up with their shuttle service, and check us in early. Such a relief.
The room was clean, well-stocked, quiet. All of the staff - from the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the wait staff in the restaurant - were wonderful. The free paper every morning was a plus.
We've had a couple of great experiences with the Vic & will keep returning!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sipme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriainnmanager, Manager at Victoria Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you we appreciate your loyal business. We will be launching a new loyalty program soon and encourage you to sign up and receive the benefits of repeat visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
St. James Industrial
Hampton Inn by Hilton Winnipeg Airport/Polo Park
Downtown Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
Clarion Hotel Winnipeg
#19 of 63 in Winnipeg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Days Inn & Suites Winnipeg Airport, Manitoba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Inn

Property: Victoria Inn
Address: 1808 Wellington Ave, Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0G3, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg > St. James Industrial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Winnipeg
#19 Business Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Winnipeg
Victoria Inn Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing