We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So sad...it was very bad!”

Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse
Ranked #416 of 1,641 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central St. Boniface
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So sad...it was very bad!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wanted to try this restaurant as we had read a great review about it but the entire experience was very disappointing. The food was way over priced for the quality. Our bill for 4 people came to $144.00 (we're talking almost cafeteria style with next to no service other than the food brought to your table). We ordered two glasses of wine and both glasses came dirty with lipstick marks on them. We had ordered the baby Back ribs and even though the server said they were BB's when she brought them, they looked and tasted like side ribs. In fact there was next to no meat on the ribs and they were extremely dry as if they had been heated 4 or 5 times. At $24.95 a slab, we should have sent them back but didn't. This was the same for the chicken wings...again overcooked, dry to the bone. Only thing good was the homemade mac and cheese...it was creamy and delicious, Overall a very disappointing dining experience. We don't mind paying for GOOD food but this poorly mediocre at best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    25
    13
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenora
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Texas style experience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great food tasted like home made. The cornbread melted in your mouth and there was good selection to choose from. I would recommend this unique restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IsabelleKenora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and tasty eats”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our hotel was close by while in the city and so strolled to Lovey's to check it out.
The BBQ chicken was moist and smoky and was laid out on a bed of garlic fries that were great. The cornbread almost literally melted in the mouth and I'm pretty sure I've not had better beans anywhere else.
It was a little chaotic when checking in with the waitress upon our arrival, but that was likely as a result of the multitudes of people clamouring to get in to enjoy a meal.
The three of us ladies ate for 60$ (including a cocktail each) and we were stuffed. There were lots of leftovers that would make a good lunch.
Will definitely be back and bring the kiddos (kids under 10 apparently eat for free on Sundays!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NWOWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I went here because it got great reviews on line, but boy was I ever disappointed! I was hoping that the funky minimalist ambience of the place (oilcloth checkered tablecloths, placing your order at the counter) would mean the more spartan the atmosphere, the better the food. But my meal was terrible! The ribs were dry and stringy, and the fries were greasy and overdone. I felt like I was eating yesterday's leftovers!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You gotta Eat here!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food is fantastic! Best ribs & sauce, burnt ends,deep fried pickles, brisket, garlic fries, chicken, beans, beef brisket I ever had! The brisket is so tender it melts in your mouth! Went there for my wife's 50th Bday, and everyone was more than satisfied with the food. It's not a fancy place, but doesn't need to be with food like this! We ordered the platter for four and there was more than we could eat for the six of us. Thanks Lovey's!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bogas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse also viewed

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Lovey's BBQ & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing