We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canad Inns Garden City
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Thompson, Canada
1 review
“Great Staff”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door, we felt welcomed. We tried out most areas of the hotel and don't have any complaints!~ Front desk was very friendly and efficient. The housekeeping team were very thorough and made sure we had everything we needed. The restaurant staff were also quick to help us. The server we had didn't come bug us every 2 minutes, but she was attentive enough that we never had to wait to get another glass of water or coffee. The Tavern was a good place to go with family and play pool, watch a little sports on tv. and have a drink or two. The management we did run in to made sure to ask us how our stay was. I can honestly say everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay, and will definately be back!

Room Tip: If you are looking for good service, this is the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
9
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Overcharged our room by $200 three phone calls to have it corrected, last one they transferred me and hung up. We did not use the amenities, just the room so review is strictly on front office staff and room quality.
Attempted to contact general manager left messages, no return.
Room was below average, dirty and beds rock hard. I expected much better from a Canad Inns. Very dissappointed in the lack of follow up with staff regarding the overcharge to my card! The forgot to refund the damage deposit, and now wont return my calls to correct thier mistake.

Room Tip: Dont go here! Pick the other Canad Inns!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridethathorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I would like to start by thanking you for choosing Canad Inns Garden City when you visited Winnipeg. It is obvious from your comments that we fell short in numerous areas during your stay.
I apologize for the slow response to your concerns. I will say that I was unaware of your concerns until i received a comment card expressing your frustration. Trust i will follow up on why we did not respond immediately.
We do a preauthorization upon check in for room charge and a $200 damage deposit. After checkout we only submit for the actual room charges. Unfortunatley some credit card companies can take up to 5 business days to adjust the pre authorization to match the actual charge we submitted. The credit card companies seem to be in no hurry to change their policy here.
We have exchanged voice messages and I look forward to discussing your concerns with your room quality so we can address those issues here at the property.
Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

First I want to say that we had fun in th pool and waterslide....it was great. And the room was cool, we were at the hotel for my daughter's 10th birthday ( we are a family of 4 and she brought her best friend) and we stayed in the space kids room (room 119) we stayed for the night of November 24th. Everything was fine until the room next to us started to party. The hotel has signs posted stating that quiet time starts at 11pm (standard, for everywhere) the sign also states no parties after 11pm. We called the front desk to report the party at 1 am and sercurity came and told them they had to quiet down ( after they spent 10 minutes knocking on the door saying security) This went on every 45 minutes until 6 am, at one time one of their guests got locked out of the room and proceeded to kick the door repeatedly. Out of all the people in the room only one person was removed from the room.

It was handled very poorly by staff, We paid just over $200 for the one night in the kids theme room, and we never got as much as an apology from any staff member.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I am very pleased you enjoyed the pool and the room. I am disappointed we did not do a better job maintaining an enviounment that you and your family could enjoy. I will be discussing your concerns with our Guest Services Manager and we will improve our procedures to ensure that our guests can get a good nights rest on each and every stay. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns direclty.

Thank you

Duane Borton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I am a regular guest at this hotel . The front desk staff are professonal and always have a friendly smile when you check in or just going through the lobby to the restaurant.The rooms are comfy and spacious ,not outdated as i read in another review.
The food selection at the buffy gets tiresome when you stay there five days a week,but they have a great menu to also choose from.If your into wings and beer they have a 1/2 price deal on Thursdays in the Tavern which is always great.
As for the local hotel management,they treat you more like family than hotel guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarwinD445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Twice on our trip out to Winnipeg we encountered exceptionly friendly people running the reception desk and it really means alot. Thanks to the lovely lady who checked us in to this hotel. She was one of the first Manitobans and Winnipegers we met. This is a great facility, with a nice atmosphere, well located if you need to be in the north end and plenty of dining options on site and close by. It clean and quiet...no noisey air conditioner but they need to get new beds. I have to agree with the other posters...beds are lumpy and it might be enough to turn us off staying here again. I chose this hotel because it was close to where my daughter was moving but I would ask to see the beds if we were to stay there when we come out to visit her.
The sports bar was good for our first evening meal...we just wanted something fun and easy...pub grub worked just fine. Breakfast was really reasonable and good served by the very helpful and friendly Alvin. We only stayed the one night but returned on another night for the buffet at cafe. It was a huge disappointment. The hot entrees were not hot... they ran out of gravy and promised more but it didn't come out until we were done our meal. It wasn't busy at all so I don't know what that was all about. Friendly waiters though and very pleasant people here who are trying hard.

Room Tip: Ask to see the beds...the ones we had were very worn and uncomfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during a family reunion, and while it was okay, it wasn't spectacular. The room itself was fine, clean, roomy enough for what we needed. But it felt fairly dated and the mattress was not very comfortable. I'm not a complete hotel snob, but I don't enjoy feeling the mattress springs on my back when I'm lying on the bed. For the most part the experience at the hotel was average, but for some reason the maid decided we had checked out before we actually had, and packed up a bunch of our belongings, including an iPod Touch, book, food, charger, and a few other things into a plastic bag and dropped them off at the lost and found. We did get a $10 food credit as an apology, but it was a little strange. We would choose another hotel if we were in the area, not for any specific complaint, but just because we felt like we could do better for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duane B, General Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. Feedback, although not always flattering, will help us to better understand our guest's needs and to improve on our service standards. I have discussed your room attendant concerns with our Room Services Manager and we will use this experience as a teaching tool for our staff. Thank you for choosing Canad Inns, we would welcome the opportunity to have you join us in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We reciently stayed over nite at the Canad Inn Garden City in Winnipeg because we were attending a function in the hotel. The room was very nice, King size bed, clean fresh smelling linen. Lovely duvet with great pillows, not those rock hard ones. The bathroom is lovely, large and they tub was unbelievable. Not a jet tub, i really don't like those, but a bid oval shaped tub that two people can comfortably sit in, have a glass of wine and unwind from a very long day. The halls were not noisy and the hotel staff were very accomodating.
i would recomend this hotel to anyone. Just ask to be on a floor away from kids. There are a lot of kids there as they hotel has a great water slide.

Room Tip: When you check in, make sure you have the room you want, not close to kids, or close to the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Canad Inns Garden City, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing Canad Inns Garden City for your recent visit to Winnipeg. I hope you had an opportunity to enjoy all the facilities here during your stay.

Our mission statement is " Professionals serving professionals, our community serving the community, our family serviing families.

From the positive comments of your review it is great to see we are acheiving our goals, one guest at a time.

Looking forward to fulfilling your future destination needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winnipeg hotels
Downtown Winnipeg
Canad Inns Destination Centre Health Sciences Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James Industrial
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#21 of 63 in Winnipeg
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canad Inns Garden City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canad Inns Garden City

Property: Canad Inns Garden City
Address: 2100 McPhillips Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba R2V 3T9, Canada
Location: Canada > Manitoba > Winnipeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Winnipeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Canad Inns Garden City 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canad Inns Garden City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canad Inns Garden City Hotel Winnipeg
Canad Inns Garden City Winnipeg, Manitoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing