We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I Expected..Very Good!!”

Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 1,641 Restaurants in Winnipeg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $70
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Winnipeg
Cross street: Portage & Main
Description: Hy’s Winnipeg is a local favorite since 1958 now located at the famous corner of Portage and Main. Hy’s offers 2 levels of dining for lunch and dinner in a modern warm atmosphere. So if it’s in the stunningly warm cocktail lounge or a quiet corner of the restaurant that you’re looking to enjoy “tender steaks and stiff drinks” Hy’s is the place to be.
WPG, MB
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What I Expected..Very Good!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was my first visit to Hy's since they moved so it's been a while. Everything was fantastic from the moment we got there till we left, prices were average for a higher end steak house, all the sides options, wine list, all good. I went with the Hy's special New York cut with a special BBQ sauce and I wasn't dissapointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winterpeg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    72
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had dinner with friends it was amazing I always see alot of friends here. I have meetins here with my Downtown Lawyers accountants and business Partners its easy for them and reat for me. They have Valet parking at niht and when I come in the afternoon Its easy I park At the door of the Fairmont slip my friend the doorman $20 and walk through to Hy``s its wonderful. I never et cold in the winter and don`t need boots. Service is wonderful food is always great I LOVE IT

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm..Prime Rib at it's best !!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Retirement is a Special Occasion , so we went to the best Steakhouse in Winnipeg !! Hadn't been to Hy's since they moved to Lombard Pl. and wasn't disappointed in the least. The service and attention to details was outstanding , We enjoyed a fantastic 3 hour dinner and never felt rushed to finish up and move us out the door, as some establishments do. The experience was well worth the higher costs. We shall return..............

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobandJan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I found the service to be very slow and because of that the food was cold when we finally received it

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Used to be nice when located on Edmonton Street, but food quality has gone down while prices are up. I wouldn't recommend and only go when it is someone else's invitation

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg also viewed

 
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba
 

Been to Hy's Steakhouse - Winnipeg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing